We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the center, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of i' Grullo

i' Grullo
Via Dei Servi 51R, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 280802
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #812 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: By sitting at the outdoor tables of i' Grullo you are on one side with a view of the Duomo and the other with a view of the beautiful church of the Santissima Annunziata Inside , in an elegant and painted place, there is the whole spirit of the restaurant with simple dishes inspired by the Tuscan cuisine. From pappa al pomodoro to Ribollita , from t-bone steak to filet and grilled meats accompanied by a good glass of red wine And the pizza is not lacking, as the joy
Florence, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Close to the center, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have lived in florence for 6 months now, and this is still one of my favorites. It's really close to the dome, but still really affordable (even as a student). Also the food great- as authentic as I've found yet. The staff is friendly and luckily speaks great english. All around fave.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

It all began with the service, I don't know if our waiter was the owner or not, but he was excellent. Very attentive and fun but not intrusive.
The food was just amazing. Good, simple but flavoursome pizza and pasta with the best Parmesan I have come across.
It ended with the free limoncello that seems common in Italy, but with a much cheaper bill than expected!
We went back for lunch the next day and it was just as good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine in a warm and welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After the mediocre fare and false warmth we received at the restaurants we visited earlier in our stay we opted to eat in for a couple days, but after finding this place we wish we had come across it first! It's in a great spot with a view of the famous Duomo and the food is refreshingly authentic and well priced (and not just for Florence). The owner is wonderful and from our first visit made great suggestions that we were so happy we followed (down to the hangover remedy that was their amazing vegetable soup). He's very entertaining and personable and definitely in the right business because we were only too happy to return. We couldn't wait to review it because we can't say enough good things - but word to the wise the spelling on Trip Advisor is wrong! It's I'Grullo!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Refreshing value and food in expensive Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

No complaints here - cheap good food and no nonsense simple menu - food just as good as the priciest places at a fraction of the cost!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is a great little restaurant about 2 blocks from the Duomo. The owner is always there and he is very welcoming. The menu is great and the food even better. After you have dinner here you will want to go back for more. Its affordable and you can't beat it. A definite must visit.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed i' Grullo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to i' Grullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage i' Grullo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.