We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Florence!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dei Macchiaioli to your Saves list
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
8% OFF !!!!!!!!
Ranked #36 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
“Perfect location in Florence!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hotel dei Macchiaioli is perfectly situated in Florence, and within walking distance to everything! The hotel was clean and fresh, and our room was spacious, comfortable and very quiet. The staff were extremely accommodating in helping us find our way around Florence. The breakfast, which was quite substantial, was served in a comfortable room with a beautiful fresco'd ceiling. We arranged for Paolo to guide us through the Duomo, Baptistery and Accademia and were amazed by his knowledge! Without him, we would have floundered (especially at the Accademia which can be overwhelming). Instead he kept us moving, making sure we saw everything we wanted to see while telling us some incredible stories and history. We highly recommend utilizing his tour guide services!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    176
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
116
326
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here during 1st week of May 2015. We were a family of three and booked a triple- bed room. If you are looking for a clean place with good service, helpful staff at the heart of Florence, very near to most of the attraction and at a reasonable price...this place suits most of the above criteria. Though it's very near to the Railway station, however I reccomend you take a taxi to the hotel if you have heavy luggage. There are a few stairs till the reception...however Paolo came rushing down and helped my wife and daughter with the luggage. Thanks Paolo for the gesture. Breakfast is just ok to start your day. In our long Italian vacation when we got a bit tired with Italian food we found a few good variation of alternate food near the hotel...Berbeque is a nice place just near the hotel entrance with good American food and there is also a good Asian option called the Fusion Bar serving Chinese, Thai and Korean food. House keeping works well and on time. Wifi was fast and efficient. The room also had a safety locker and AC worked well.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel May 1& 2nd and had a deluxe room facing the front of the hotel on street side. Very large room with painted fresco on the ceiling, thick floor length red drapes with a small bistro table, and a sofa too! really high ceilings and a rather large bathroom. Air conditioner worked well and was operated with a remote control. The room door was double wood doors with an old fashioned metal skeleton key. What makes this hotel unique is the feeling of stepping back in time and being in a hotel so different from any other you may stay in. Location is a couple of blocks from the Academia and down the street from the Doumo. Breakfast was ok not special but, adequate. The dining room also has a frescoed ceiling and they have an art book displayed showing the various paintings featured on the ceiling. Just a unique experience that enhances your stay in Florence. There is not a front entrance off the street to the hotel, you must enter by the da Vinci museum and there is no elevator for this hotel. You have to climb two flights of stairs with your luggage so make sure you are able to do so.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in the heart of Florence, wonderful staff extremely helpful, thank you Francesca and all for answering so many of our inquiries. Charming fresco ceiling breakfast area. A solid 3 star Hotel and a good value once you navigate the stairs..
Had a fantastic tour guide from the Hotel ...Paolo Russo...a must if visiting....

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights in Florence. We stayed at the Hotel dei Macchiaioli. Paulo greeted us and helped us with our time in Florence. He gladly made reservations for us at both the Academia an the Ufizzi. We avoided lines and meandered the streets. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is in a great part of the city for seeing the sights. The room was very comfortable. We opened the french doors and were greeted by the bells of Florence. We shopped at the Leather School, listened to music on the Square and watched the sunset over the Ponte Vecchio Bridge. What an amazing time in Florence and we would definitely stay at the Hotel dei Macchiaioli again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great stay we had in Florence. The staff is friendly and helpful. Masimo, Paulo, Cosmos, and Aurianna ( my apologies if I misspelled the names) were gracious hosts. The breakfast room is decorated with mid 1800s paintings on the ceiling. The location is close to the main tourist sites. The exterior of the hotel currently is hidden by scaffolding but this is irrelevant. My family had a great stay and we would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed just one night, but this was a pleasant surprise. 5 minutes to the city center, 10 minutes from the train station, nice available staff. The room was confortable and perfectly clean, the bathroom large and complete with everything. Breakfast is included. I wouldn't ask more.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Macchiaioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.