We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dei Macchiaioli to your Saves list
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
8% OFF !!!!!!!!
Ranked #28 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place is tucked away and a little difficult to find- we drove by at least twice without seeing it. Once you get inside you take your things up a beautiful marble staircase to stay in lovely rooms… breakfast was great, served in a room with beautiful murals and paintings. Easy to walk to restaurants, bars, the big outdoor market, attractions, historical sites, etc. Parking is tricky. I loved staying here, though. It makes you feel like you really live in the city. Great staff.

Room Tip: I had a corner suite and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    163
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
107
306
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed in this hotel with my wife for one night. The hotel is clean with large and confortable room. It's located next to the center; the cathedral is 5 minute by foot and the downtown 10 minutes.
The breackfast could be improved ... it's a little easy for an italian hotel.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I knew this place was close to the train station, but I didn't realize how unbelievably close to the Duomo it would be. This puts it smack dab in the middle of Florence, with tourism and shopping south a mere minutes walk, and all the food options you want by the Mercato Central again only five minutes away.

Combine that with a large room, generous continental breakfast, actually fast WiFi, and friendly 24 hour staff, and I can only highly recommend this location for anyone looking to explore Florence.

Seriously, we went on after-dinner walks around the Duomo and past the Uffifi Gallery, dropped by the Ponte Vecchio, all in about 15 minutes. Unbelievable!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I start by mentioning the only possible drawback of this hotel. It is on the first floor and one has to come up a few stairs. But given that in Florence we were prepared to walk a lot anyway, this was not really an issue for us.
After going through a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to book this hotel for our 4 nights stay in Florence as part of our Tuscany trip earlier this month. And I must say I possibly could not have made a better choice.
During booking, I wrote several emails to clarify a few things and always got prompt and useful response.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a smile by Paolo. The hotel is mentioned to be brand new and it did not disappoint. Our room was really spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom also spacious, and more importantly very clean and well maintained and well equipped. The breakfast area looks charming and elegant. The hotel building is quite old, it was an old palace, and they have tried to maintain the old world charm. The breakfast room has frescoes in the ceiling and there is art all around. The breakfast buffet itself was not exceptional, but there was enough variety and the food was good. There is a bar which is open all day and we got coffee there which was good.
Paolo and all the hotel staff were always very helpful. There was a problem with the WiFi on the first day. They worked promptly to fix it. The WiFi connection was very good thereafter. We wanted to book a guided tour to Siena and Chianti as we had limited time. They helped us a lot with the booking.
Finally, about the location of the hotel. It is situated on Via Cavour which is one of the important streets in Florence and the location is really excellent. It is just a few steps walk from the Duomo but also just far enough which makes it possible to get a good night's sleep. The Galleria dell'Accademia is just round the corner. San Lorenzo is close and the Palazzo Medici Riccardi is on the same street. Everything is close. Can't really ask for a better location in the Florence city centre.
On a side note, there is a great eatery just outside the hotel, the 'Barbecue Restaurant & Bar' which has a menu with wide choice and good food at a good price.
Overall, I would definitely choose this hotel again and I highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay in Florence.

Room Tip: Room 101 is really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The location was very good, just blocks from the Galleria dell'Accademia as well as the Piazza del Duomo; yet it was very quiet. The staff were friendly and eager to please, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast area was a delight with painted panels on the ceiling. The only negative was that the hotel is on the second floor without an elevator, so you need to be able to handle stairs and luggage. The entrance is also off the ground floor hallway of a building, so it is not easily visible from the street. If the stairs are not an issue for you, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This was not only the perfect location but also the perfect staff. Paolo and Arianna took wonderful care of us. We highly recommend taking the guided walking tour of Florence and The Accademia Gallery that the hotel offers! Paolo made Florence come to life! The hotel was spotless! The location perfect! Literally, 5 minutes from the Duamo.....and everything else there is to see. Staying here is a must!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

This hotel has both charm and comfort and its location is wonderful! It is in the same block as the Medici-Riccardi Palace, close to San Lorenzo and just far enough from the Duomo for quiet sleep, yet within easy walking distance of it. I stayed for nine nights, with two friends there for some of this time, and we all found our rooms clean and comfortable. One was thrilled to find that her room (room 109) had a frescoed ceiling. The breakfast buffet is very good and served in an elegant room with a gorgeous painted ceiling and a balcony overlooking the street. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and gave us useful local information and restaurant recommendations. The hotel is on the first floor and there is no lift, but that really wasn't a problem and the staff helped with our luggage. The hotel is excellent value for money and I warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, Direttore at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Thank you Maureen :)

It was very very nice to meet you and your freinds !!
Yes, Carmel had the room with the frescoed ceiling :)

Thank you also for mention that we helped with your luggage :)

Have a happy life.

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Macchiaioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.