We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you tripadvisor reviewers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Save Saved
You added Hotel dei Macchiaioli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
*** HERE 8% OFF ***
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Florence
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Thank you tripadvisor reviewers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel dei macchiaioli is undoubtly a great place to stay in Florence. We book a lot of hotels now based on reviews and again it's come up trumps. From the moment we were greated by Paulo everything was just as we hoped for. The whole team here are warm and friendly, the rooms are exactly as you see on the website clean, good storage, comfortable beds and we found the shower and bathroom space (had room 105) very good. Our room looking onto a small courtyard not the road so very quiet, ideal after a day of sightseeing for a good nights sleep. The breakfast spread was cold buffet but a very good selection of cereals, meats, cheese, croissant etc. Finally the location is ideal 5 min walk to the Duomo etc.
What made it for us the staff. Nothing was to much bother. From the day we booked 6 months ago The hotel were able to answer any query we had. The responses were always within 24 hours and straight to the point. One of the main reasons also was the tours the hotel offers. We booked a city tour with Paolo and Day trip with Marco to Cinque Terre. The guys were great! Their knowledge and passion for the region is infectious and what the best thing is they are flexible. They want you as a customer to see what you want to see so and do and then they will use their knowledge and expertise to suggest the itinerary.
We therefore thank all the staff at Hotel Dei Macchiaioli for making our stay in Florence a very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    142
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
93
269
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We arrived on the 27th April and we struggled to find the actual hotel, it was very badly signed and when we did find it there was 2 flights of stairs to climb with our bags. On arrival the woman was very prompt and very informative. She showed us to our room, she was very nice.
Room was a little small but to be expected as most top European cities are like this. Room was clean but a little dated and could do with some new furniture. The sky TV channels did not work all weekend, we asked reception and he said it was the weather 25C of sun !!!!!! I don't think so ..The hairdryer never worked, the bed was very hard, only 1 flat pillow very hard to sleep on , the and bathroom was quite small and hard to manouvre in, the mini bar temperature was around 10C all the time ....The breakfast was very average, not hot breakfast at all, some bruised fruit, stale bread and cereal were the options. Definitely would not rate it 4 star maybe 2-3 max, not a terrible experience but for 150 euros a night you expect a little more...I wouldn't stay here again. You pay for location nothing else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear guest,

we thank you for your review.

We are sorry that something was not as you expected.

Yes, it may be that the Hotel is not well signed but once you find the address Via Cavour 21 , the sign is not so difficult to see, we think.

Unfortunately we have no elevator and there are 32 steps to climb, we know it, but when we see that someone is coming up we came downstairs and help. The woman at the desk didn't see you arriving.
You write that she was very nice and informative, thank you for writting this. She just didn't see you arriving.

Room small and dated:
The room that we held for you is a almost 193 square feet room with 2 big windows.
The hotel's 1st opening was July 2010, less than 3 years ago. It can be that you don't like the furniture that we have choosen for our hotel but we don't think that they can be considered old :)

Sky:
we have asked all our employees to know who told you that the hot weather was the cause of the bad operation of Sky. You know, to make sure that something like that never happens again but sorry we were not able to know who he was .
Of course bad operation of electric equipment can happen but it is normally very easy to repair it, this is the reason why it seams very strange that one of our employee could invent such an incredible answer.
Could you please let us know who you spoke with? Thank you

We are sorry for the hairdryer , we would have easily changed it if we knew it was broken.

All our beds are new (3 years) , this could be a reason why you found it hard ?

We are very sorry for the minibar !!!!

Breakfast:
for every of us the breakfast is very important because it is the link between the night and the day and each of us would like to find the things he is use to find at home.
We thing that we have found a good balance between sweet and salty things to offer.
Ham, salami, cheese, bread, toast, jam, tomatoes, chocolate, honey, biscuits, coffee, cappuccino, milk, tea, fruit, cakes, croissants, fruit juices etc.
The bread and the croissant arrive fresh every morning !

You write that would definitely not rate us a 4 star hotel, well we are NOT a 4 star hotel but a 3 star. Maybe you got in confusion reading some other revies that say that our hotel could easily be a 4 star hotel instead of a 3 star.

The last thing that you write is really not nice . It is not through that our guest pay only for the location. Since 3 years all of us is doing his best to offer a good service to our guest and we think that we have much more to offer than only the location.

Thank you again for your review :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a great choice for central Florence. All the sites are easily reached and the staff is wonderful. The rooms are small by American standards, but that's to be expected. We also recommend Paolo as a private guide--he is extremely knowledgeable and quite charming. He guided us through the Academia and Ufizzi and we wish we had taken his city tour as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in April. It was very easy to walk to from the train station. From the moment we arrived Paulo was so helpful, he met us at the bottom of the stairs and carried up our luggage...he gave us a great recommendation for dinner, Giglio Rosso, it was great:) The room was small but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and had a very nice selection. Everything we wanted to see was close enough to walk to..... It was a great place to use as a home base while in Florence. Should we be so lucky to make it back to Italy we would definitely stay here again:)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel amazing. Yes, it is not inexpensive, but to be fair Florence is not inexpensive, especially if you want to be in the city centre.

I was travelling with my parents and needed a comfortable, central location and found this lovely hotel fit for my purposes. We could reach all main points of interest on foot, within minutes.

The staff is amazing: attentive, courteous, extremely friendly. I would like to thank Paolo for his excellent commitment to his customers and efficiency: you just need to ask and he'll try his best to accomodate your needs. He also is multilingual (fluent in German too) which in Italy is certainly not to be taken for granted. We had booked a single and a double room, but their family room became available and he kindly made us aware of it: we had a lovely stay in it! These are two fairly big rooms facing via Cavour, pleasantly isolated from the rest of the rooms and adjacent to the breakfast room. A sort of independent "flat", perfect if travelling in a group of three or four, whether family or friends: the smaller bedroom has its bathroom on the little private corridor, while the bigger one has its own private bathroom en suite. Some may think these rooms are a bit loud being on via Cavour, but all you need is a pair of ear plugs if you are not a deep sleeper and you'll be ok.

The bathroom(s): blow dryer available, shower gel/shampoo provided (if not great quality, perhaps you may want to bring your own if you are picky with that) and two good quality soap bars. The furnishing is smooth, clean, brand new.

The rooms are nice: the bed is comfortable; yes, the pillows are pretty flat, but that's just how pillows in Italy look like! I thought they were just fine.

Breakfast is very good; great choice of food, sweet and savoury, enough to please any taste and cultural custom! Two different juices, several kinds of bread, cold cuts, cheese, hot drinks, several kinds of cereals, croissants, fruit, eggs and another few more bits and bobs...so much variety that I can't even remember.

What else can I say? I am not a very-easy-to-please traveller and rarely go for hotels that have less than four stars, but would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to stay here again if I was to be fortunate enough to visit this gorgeous city again.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Very good value for money. Rooms are clean and new. Staff were very helpful. Location was great - near the central station and Duomo. If we find ourselves in Florence again, will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here in March for a week with a friend and it was the perfect hotel to make as a base for exploring Florence and the rest of Tuscany. The rooms were clean and warm (which was welcome as it was a particularly cold week) and the staff were extremely helpful (even helping us make reservations at the museums and providing us with restaurant recommendations). Slight downside (and it's by no means a big complaint) but the bathroom in our room was slightly on the narrow side. The breakfasts were simple but delicious and there was a wide selection of cheese, ham, fruit, breads and pastries. Great value for money and a good recommendation for anyone looking for a hotel that has a bit of character in a brilliant location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Macchiaioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.