We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Save Saved
You added Hotel dei Macchiaioli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
*** HERE 8% OFF ***
Ranked #25 of 460 Hotels in Florence
bretigny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked this hotel with the idea of a small room and old style but in the hotel it was a very good hotel. Our room was wide and looked new.
The clerks were very helpful.
The breakfast was very good (tomatoes, mozarella, fruits, self service drinks, salami, cheese, cakes, ...).
Only the sausages and scrambled eggs were missing , too bad...hahaha.

In the end, very good hotel. I will definitly come back if I go back to florence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    149
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
99
279
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel del Macchialoli and it was brilliant. Fantastic location, right in the centre of all the attractions. Fantastic staff, cannot fault them at all. Helpful for places to eat, nothing was too much trouble, genuinely nice people. Fantastically clean hotel and comfortable, very welcoming. Fantastic breakfast. Overall, we'd certainly go back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is in an perfect location for those wanting to explore Florence on foot & be close to everything. We arrived here by car, but parked the car & went everywhere on foot. At most it was a 15 minute walk from Ponte Vecchio & a 5 minute walk to the Statue of Davide & the leather markets. The rooms are modern, clean & very comfortable. (Fairly spacious in comparison to other Italian hotel rooms). The hospitality and help in this hotel was also amazing. The happy reception staff were full of information & advice on where to go and how to get there. Not to mention that they also carried all of our bags upstairs on arrival (& we weren't travelling light!). I would recommend this hotel to all friends and family planning on visiting Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Let me start out by saying that this hotel is truly unique; it was a palace from the 1800's that has been converted into a hotel, with a different hotel and cafe occupying different spaces in the same building. The architecture is still the original, and I find this to be so special and fascinating. Where else can you stay in a real palace?!

Positives:
1. The staff is accommodating in every way possible. When checking in, the receptionist gave us a map and marked where we are and where all the attractions are and what is definitely not to be missed. She explained all the details like when and where breakfast is served (which is automatically included in the room price), and she personally walked us to our room. Paolo was also incredibly wonderful. He was always there to help with a smile on his face. He is also the tour guide that you can book through reception, and I have no doubt that he knows the city inside and out. Also met the hotel owner and her daughter, and both ladies were sweet as well and working hard every morning.

2. Breakfast had a lovely assortment of items. Pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, deli meat and cheeses, breads, juices, a machine that prepares espresso, cappucino, hot chocolate, coffee, hot water for Twinings teas, etc. There is really something for everybody, and the breakfast room is like dining in a muesuem- the painted ceiling is magnificent!

3. Despite the building's history, the entire place has been renovated so it is actually a very lovely and comfortable place to stay. The rooms are spacious, especially compared to European standards, and the bathroom is very nice quality as well. Everything was extremely clean, which is one of my most important deciding factors when booking a hotel. The towels and bed linens were very nice quality, and there are even slippers provided for you!

4. Location was as good as it gets. The hotel is literally minutes away (by foot) to the Duomo, Uffizi, Academia, Cathedral, Gucci Museum, and Santa Maria Novella train station (where you can take a bus, which departs every 30 minutes, to and from the airport for €6 one way or €10 return trip). We never had to spend any money on public transportation within Florence because everything was within walking distance, and it was very convenient for us to stop by the hotel to rest, escape from the rain, or drop off our shopping bags.

5. An added bonus was the customer service we received. I already described the wonderful staff, but I was surprised to receive a personal email thanking us for our stay. It's rare to find such wonderful personalized service nowadays. We were even offered a 5% discount for all of our future bookings, and this is even offered to any friends of ours who would like to visit too!

6. Price. What a bargain! We paid about €70 per night for a double room, and that includes breakfast. This hotel is worth double that amount for such a great location and staff.

Negatives: NONE!

We'll definitely be returning, and I highly suggest you give this place a try. You won't be disappointed! This is a great spot for couples, families, singles, or groups!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay here and would definitely stay again. The location is central, very near everything in Florence, the staff are all friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were great, and the room we had was large and very comfortable...the nicest sleeps I have had on our trip! Stay here when you are in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I had stayed in this hotel for 3 nights since January 31. When we arrived, the reception lady attended us in a very friendly and helpful manner. We were given a room with the ceiling painting which (as told by the Manager) is the only one unique room in the hotel. The room is spacious in comparison with other hotel rooms we stayed in Rome, Venice during this trip. It impressed us that the room is equipped with many electrical sockets that are very convenient for us in charging of our mobile phones, camera battery and ipad at the same time. The breakfast room as well as other areas are nicely decorated with many beautiful wall and ceiling paintings. Breakfast is good! The only shortcoming is the wrong shower position which I consider if being installed at the other side would make it much better and spacious. In addition, the door was not tightly closed with water seeping outside. There is no elevator that you have to carry your luggage up to about 20 steps which however is acceptable to us. The location is excellent to tourist spots as well as train station. Overall, a good hotel to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here last year in July and had the most wonderful time. It is quite central, near the Duomo and good shopping at the markets and streets nearby. Breakfast was help-yourself and we enjoyed it, coffee good, with enough to keep you going for the morning and in such a lovely room. The greeting was very welcoming and we were helped to find a lovely restaurant for dinner just around the corner and it was so good we went back the next night (not expensive).
The dining room and lounge rooms are beautifully painted and decorated; had a nice feel, balconies out the front were lovely (off the dining room) to watch the day begin. We found our room great, bed comfortable, with a nice bathroom, the air conditioning was a relief and a must have in summer. Would definitely like to stay here again next time in Florence. There was a heat wave while we were there so we spent a bit of time recovering in our nice cool room from the overwhelming heat outside in the middle of the day. Very relaxing and quiet but a short walk away to attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Macchiaioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.