We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dei Macchiaioli to your Saves list
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
8% OFF !!!!!!!!
Ranked #28 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Good position, nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and we were met by an very friendly and helpful woman who offered to show us the rooms with us even asking to see and she gave us a map and showed us all the places we should see. The room was nice and clean with a good bathroom. The only Down side was the breakfast, it was ok the first day but the second morning the buffet ran out of some of the food and wasn't re-filled. Also the capuchino was terrible. But all in all it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    160
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
104
302
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Service was very friendly and helpful. We received some good suggestions on restaurants (which compared to places such as Venice and Rome are not very good). We found it to be expensive given that it was only a 3 star hotel and the room wasn't very big. The room was clean and quiet with a decent bed. Location is good IF you want to stay near all the tourist spots in Florence. In highsight we would have rather stayed just outside downtown Florence e.g. in the hills south of the Arno river. Downtown is packed with tourists, with little trees and get's unbearably hot in Summer. Breakfast was nice with a typical selection of meats, cheeses, breads etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and were extremely happy with our choice!
The rooms were charming, clean, comfortable and quiet.
The staff were friendly and helpful and Paolo helped us with places to eat which were absolutely delicious, sights to see and as helped us book a day tour to Sienna and surroundings which we enjoyed very much!
I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is in a great location and affordable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Perfect location, charming, clean and comfortable, as well as affordable! The staff was friendly, helpful, and all spoke English (and were very patient with our attempts at speaking Italian). They responded to our every request promptly and with a smile. When we return to Florence, this is definitely where we will stay. It felt like home away from home to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We would highly recommend this friendly family hotel. We stayed seven nights, and found the staff very helpful, the room clean and comfortable, no particular view but we loved the dining location which is decorated in gorgeous 'Medici style' ! We had a room away from the street side which was quiet. Altogether we were pretty happy, and it was reasonably priced.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was very happy with my stay here. It was within perfect walking distance from the centre and offered a very decent price. The hotel was easy to find from the train station and about a 10 minute walk. The room was clean and comfortable. No view, but I was only there to sleep!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We "3 Sisters from California" highly recommend this hotel! We had the pleasure of staying at this location for 5 wonderful nights. We felt at home the moment we arrived! We were given a tour of the hotel, shown the breakfast and seating areas; if you need WiFi it is free and worked great. They show a GENUINE INTEREST in making sure you have a WONDERFUL time in Florence! The room and bathroom were very comfortable for 3 women sharing a space.The hotel is in the perfect location!!!! You can walk to everything. The staff is warm, friendly, and professional; always available to answer questions. I made arrangements for a private city tour with Paolo on our first night. The tour was excellent Paolo is very knowledgeable in the history of the city as well as the arts. The tour was worth every euro! Be sure to have a Tuscan Steak before you leave the city; the staff can give you a recommendation on where. Enjoy a cooking class and a wine tour is a must!

We would like to THANK all our friends at the "Hotel dei Macchiaioli" for helping to make our time in Florence very special!

We will be back!

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel. If you have questions include them in the comments, they do reply. Mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Macchiaioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.