We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dei Macchiaioli to your Saves list
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
8% OFF !!!!!!!!
Ranked #28 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a great value for our money. Clean, comfortable, central location and the staff is just amazing - so genuinely nice and accomodating, from making dinner reservations at wonderful local trattorias to Paolo fixing me warm milk with honey to ease my cold at night! Only complaint was the caffe machine at breakfast - ask them for fresh from the bar instead! Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    160
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
104
301
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Dei Macchioli and found it completely enjoyable — a great location for all the sites in Florence; a clean, comfortable room and bathroom that was surprisingly quiet; and the incomparable beauty of the fresco's to go along with an ample breakfast. But the best part of this quaint hotel was all of the the staff, especially Paulo and Marco. One of the highlights of our entire Italy trip was a day with Marco in Tuscany. We hired Marco who drove us to Siena, took us to an amazing winery as well as San Gimeano and many stops for photos in the picturesque Tuscany countryside. All the while, Marco told us great stories about the history and current life in the area. We can't say enough about that day! We highly recommend the Hotel Dei Macchiaioli and a tour with Marco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review !!

Oh yes, Marco is a very good licensed driver , our clients are happy when they have a tour with him :)

We hope to welcome you again.

May I remind you that if you book using our OFFICIAL WEBPAGE you will have a 5% discount forever. Just click on "Hotel website"

This discount will not be applied if you book using an online Bookig-Agency !!


Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Perfect hotel for our trip to Florence. The staff was very helpful recommending restaurants and arranging transportation, the rooms are good-sized and the breakfast was excellent. We highly recommend this hotel. Easy access to the train station, the Duomo and Accademia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello,

thank you for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users :)

We thank you for beeing so kind with us, we really loved your company.

May I remind you that if you book using our OFFICIAL WEBPAGE you will have a 5% discount forever. Just click on "Hotel website"

This discount will not be applied if you book using an online Bookig-Agency !!

Have a happy life !!

Warm regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is a small (15 rooms?), intimate hotel right in the heart of Florence. While the rooms and hotel was very modern, you could still feel a bit of history in the hotel (our room had a fresco on the ceiling). Roomy, comfortable rooms with nice bathrooms. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Also had free breakfast, which was nice.

Best part of the hotel was the location. Very close to the Duomo, which is a very central location. Easy walk to everything in Florence. We walked with ease to Pitti Palace, Piazza Michelangelo, Uffizi, Accademia, etc.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel :)

May I remind you that if you book using our OFFICIAL WEBPAGE you will have a 5% discount forever. Just click on "Hotel website"

This discount will not be applied if you book using an online Bookig-Agency !!


Best

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights in mid-October and when we are lucky enough to return to Florence, we will stay here again. Great location with all important attractions within walking distance. Clean, well-appointed rooms with modern conveniences amongst historical architectural elements. Appreciated the satellite TV stations and strong wifi that allowed us to keep up on the Presidential debates and baseball play-offs happening in the states while we we gone. Breakfast was great and put together with care by Marco. Lots of choices offered in a truly beautiful room adorned with 19th century ceiling frescos. While all of these amenities made for a comfortable stay, it is the staff that will bring us back. From Paolo #2 (there are 2 Paolos!) who ran down the stairs to grab our bags as he heard us approach, to the owner who let us choose between rooms and encouraged us to take our time, and finally to Paolo #1 and Marco who were the highlights of our entire European vacation. Paolo is a licensed tour guide and we took his walking tour of Florence as well as tours of the Accademia and Uffizi. His knowledge and enthusiasm are to be commended. We thoroughly enjoyed his company and he went above and beyond to help us with places to shop, restaurants and even helped us find our rental car company that had moved locations. Marco, who works the front desk through the night, is a licensed driver and shared extensive knowledge on how to navigate through Tuscany. My husband even watched an old spaghetti western with him one night he couldn't sleep! Absolute 5 star hospitality that made us feel like we now have friends in Florence.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello dear friends !!!!!

Thank you so much for your incredible words :)

We are so happy that you liked your stay with us so much. Thank you

You are right Paolo and Marco are doing a great job with their tours.
City tours with Paolo and Tuscany tours with Marco
Thank you for mention that in your review !

May I remind you that if you book using our OFFICIAL WEBPAGE you will have a 5% discount forever. Just click on "Hotel website"

This discount will not be applied if you book using an online Bookig-Agency !!

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. We arrived in Florence via the train and the walking directions provided by the hotel were very easy to follow. It took maybe 10 minutes to walk pulling luggage. As we approached the staircase to go up to the lobby, Paolo came down and helped carry our bags up the stairs. The rooms were very clean. The beds are firm. The breakfast was sufficient. The area was very quiet at night. You can walk everywhere as the Academia, Duomo, and leather market are only a couple blocks away. The Uffizi is a little further walk. The staff was very helpful with directions and dining recommendations. They offer 5% discount if paying by cash. There is a nice little friendly bar on the street next door (Barbeque Rest. and Bar--they don't have BBQ though) where you can sit outside at the street level and have a late night drink if you like.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review and thank you for sharing your experience.

Yes, as soon as we see guests coming up the stairs we help with the luggage, of course.

You are absolutely right about the 5% discount :)

Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent two nights in Hotel Dei Macchiaoli last week. Very nice hotel, wonderful staff. Only downfall no lift/elevator. Lobby on 2nd floor. Be prepared to lug those heavy suitecases up two flights of stairs to the lobby!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macchia_fi, booking at Hotel dei Macchiaioli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Friends,

thank you for your review.

We are sorry about the stairs (32) the you have to came up but we might not put an elevator :(

We hope that , despite this, you have had a nice stay :)

May I remind you that if you book using our OFFICIAL WEBPAGE you will have a 5% discount forever. Just click on "Hotel website"

This discount will not be applied if you book using an online Bookig-Agency !!


Kind regards

Hotel dei Macchiaioli (Florence)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dei Macchiaioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Macchiaioli

Address: Via Cavour 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Macchiaioli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Macchiaioli is a brand new 3 star hotel located in Florence's beautiful historical centre, the perfect choice for those looking to spend a holiday in the very heart of the city known as the cradle of the Renaissance. The hotel is situated in the historic Palazzo Morrocchi, centrally located on via Cavour, one of the city's most prestigious streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel dei Macchiaioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Macchiaioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.