We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent quirky Tuscan water mill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mulino di Firenze to your Saves list
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Villamagna 119, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An excellent quirky Tuscan water mill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This venue on the river just outside Florence combines genuine history with modern service. The water wheel still turns in the pool. Great original building with modern features. The bar features glass panels to the old cellars below. Restaurant offers original wooden ceiling or outdoor terrace overlooking the river.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    140
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
102
464
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is absolutely stunning and we will definitely be returning. The setting is absolutely beautiful, the hotel itself beautiful and the staff simply can not do enough for you. It was an absolute oasis which made our stay in Florence so special. We intended to eat in Florence itself but ended up dining in the hotel which was exquisite. Almost don't want to recommend it too much because we want to keep it all to ourselves. Fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Unbelievable - the staff, scenery, food, etc... - I will NEVER stay in another hotel while visiting Florence! The distance from Florence and the tourist attractions, Duomo, etc... make this hotel a great choice for both enjoying Tuscany and Florence. Although, we stayed at several 5 star hoteld during our 5 country visit to Europe - our favorite hotel was Mulino di Firenze without a doubt...ready for next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a beauty - situated outside of Florence, it takes you away from the hustle and bustle of the city whilst remaining within reach via the Shuttle Bus. The shuttle bus can be booked from reception, and it drops you off at a hotel just outside the main city centre of florence (5min walk to the Uffizi). If you're crazy enough to walk, it can be done along a road running along the south of the river, and takes about 1hr 15mins from the centre of town. Bring plenty of water, as there are not many cafes along the way.

The hotel itself is situated on a quiet country road adjacent to the River Arno, and overlooks the river, countryside, and the hills beyond. Staff service was outstanding - they were all very accommodating and full of useful information without being too in your face. The food in the restaurant was divine! We didn't expect to eat in the restaurant every night, but we ended up doing exactly that...their fresh pasta in particular was too good to resist, and the fresh bread (particularly the focaccia) was far, far too good, especially when the staff replace your bread basket when you're finished!

The pool area was aesthetically pleasing, a mixture of Tuscan Villa and poolside amenities. The pool is a little cold but you get used to it soon enough.

The room we stayed in was nice, with good air conditioning and a room safe. The beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms lavish with marble and a very efficient shower. Our room I think was on the small side for a river view room, so just because the website says you get a large room for a river view doesn't necessarily mean you get a large room! But the size was perfectly adequate.

We did however have a few downsides - our room door did not lock properly, and we always had to check if it was locked. More than a few times we came back to our room and it was unlocked, due to the cleaner not checking. We raised this with the hotel who said they would fix it but this didn't happen. However, they did ask the cleaner to check the door was locked and this in part solved our problem.

We also had an unpleasant experience with the taxi service the hotel use - we asked the hotel to book us a taxi, which they did, but the taxi driver was horrible and extremely rude, angry and aggressive. This arose because we asked the price to the train station, and he told us there was a fixed price of 23 euros, plus the time he had to wait for us at the hotel, even though there was only a 1 minute wait! We queried this as he was blatantly trying to get an extra 10 euros out of us when there was no reason to. So beware, ask the taxi driver before putting your luggage in how much it is going to cost you to get to where you want to go, or check with the hotel about how much your taxi should be. The hotel are aware of this incident, and as far as we know were going to contact the taxi company to complain. It was a shame to have a sour taste at the end of our otherwise wonderful stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as a treat at the end of our Tuscan vacation. Staff were very friendly and attentive, especially Emilio on the bar. Rooms were very comfortable and the inclusive breakfast was excellent. We didn't eat in the evening at the Hotel as we discovered a fabulous Seafood restaurant 400m away! The Pool was very nice, and the shuttle into Florence was handy.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have river view. There are no singles, but small doubles for single occupancy which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I booked five nights at this hotel as a Christmas present for my wife and requested a river view room. Quite frankly she loved the whole experience. Whilst it is outside Florence the shuttle bus is more than adequate and if you're outside of the times that it runs then it is only 15 mins in a taxi at a cost of €17. The ability to relax by the pool and eat al fresco overlooking the river (the foods good and reasonably priced) and the Tuscan countryside, more than compensates for the 15 min journey into the City. The staff were faultless (other than when we asked that our bed be made up as a double rather than the two singles they did insist on checking whether it was their mistake or mine - of course it was mine but did they really need to point that out - why not just do it!). The barman was fun and only too ready to please - including bringing a bottle of Prosecco to our pool side loungers with nibbles! I couldn't recommend more if you want an intimate, romantic stay near Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, T4B, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mulino di Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.