We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mulino di Firenze to your Saves list
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Villamagna 119, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in may and were reslly impressed with the hotel. The staff were fantastic and it felt like very personal service, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The food atthe restaurant was excellent- probably the best meal we had in florence and we wished we had eaten there before our last night. Having a garage meant it was easy to use our rental car and explore. We would definilty stay again whether to visit florence again or tuscany in general.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

we thank you very much for your really kind review, we really appreciate that our Hotel can give such a good feeling to our guests and that this make their stay an unforgetable one.

Thank you for making us proud of our work with such kind words and wait for you next time trying to make your future stay even better than the last one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    122
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
93
409
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for the final two nights in a grand tour of Italy. It was certainly the little piece of luxury we needed. Located just outside Florence on the river, it was a peaceful stay but easy to get into the city with the free shuttle bus provided. Good facilities included free undercover parking, a nice bar and restaurant and very helpful staff. The room was lovely, we went for a River view upgrade and had a patio to relax on in the evening. The bathroom was very well appointed with a jacuzzi bath, marble finish and good shower. The bed was big and extremely comfortable. Satellite TV and free wi-fi complete the experience. The only disappointment was the spa which entails just a steam room and sauna. There is an outside pool but only during the summer.
I would certainly recommend using the restaurant as the food was excellent and there is a good choice. The staff in there are superb. Breakfast is by buffet but very hearty and sets you up perfectly for a hard day walking around Florence.
If you're going to Florence, I would stay here just outside the city and enjoy some relaxation.

Room Tip: Go for a river view room and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and i stayed in hotel Mulino for 5 days as part of our honeymoon, it was the best part of the trip! Away from the fact that Florence is one of the most gorgeous parts in Italy, Mulino was an amazing place, service was amazing, we got the chance to meet the hotel owner when we were checking out and apparently its a culture in the place. Food was perfect, rooms were impeccable. I am recommending the hotel to everyone i know, weather young or old couples. The hotel is a bit outcasted yet they have free shuttle serve to downtown on multiples times during the day in which u reserve.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with view, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to learn you had a great honeymoon at the Mulino.

We do our best to have our clients to feel and experience the life in a special place and I am always very glad when I learn we have success.

An honeymoon is made to be remembered.

Thanks again

Giancarlo Carniani
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem just off the beaten path. They provide a shuttle service to downtown, so no problem there. It offers you the luxury of the countryside views and relaxation without the big city hassels. The service on every level is the best I've had. The food at the resturant was exceptional!! We will be back!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for considering our Hotel an hidden gem, we really appreciate.

It is important for us that our guests have good feelings with the hotel atmosphere and this is the reason why the whole staff try every day to work hard so that review like yours can make us proud.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at hotel Mulino for 3 nights, in early April. we really enjoyed our stay. the room was spacious and very nice decorated with lovely art and furniture. the lovely staff was the best part of the hotel. they extremely welcoming and informed us on arrival that they upgraded our room to the river view(the view was wonderful).

I would like to specially thanks Mrs. Antonia, who was at the reception all the time and kindly answered all my questions with a big smile on her face :D

The hotel location is around 20 minute far from city center by bus number 23. also we took taxi from hotel to train station for 12 euro. hotel got a shuttle bus for every hour in the morning and evening pickup from the same drop location.

I highly recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildenrath, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just spent a week in this beautiful part of Tuscany and have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

This hotel was a very special find. Situated by the river, outside the city provided the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. The hotels free shuttle bus service, however, meant that all the sights were within easy reach.

The staff were very welcoming and very friendly, they could not do too much and looked after us exceptionally well. They were always on hand to answer questions, of which we asked a lot, and their ability to speak a range of languages fluently was obvious.

The hotel itself is a renovated mill, that has been maintained to a high standard, keeping all itsTuscan charm at the same as providing the accommodation expected of a 4 star hotel. The only downside we could find was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, however this did nothing to spoil our holiday.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the peace of the Tuscan countryside, as well as easy access to the many sights of Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this lovely hotel last weekend (5-8 April). From stepping out of the taxi and entering the lovely courtyard we knew we had booked a good hotel. We arrived on a rainy afternoon but even taking that into account the hotel was extremely welcoming. A lovely seating area outside the reception was prettily decorated with fresh plants on each table and soft chairs which make a perfect area to sit and wait for the shuttle bus or taxi if you need shade from rain or sun. The hotel is beautifully decorated with lovely artwork and furniture. The staff were all very good and they couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome and comfortable, answering any questions we had but also happy to talk about the history of the building and how it became a lovely hotel. It's not cheap but it is certainly worth the money. We chose to eat in the restaurant each evening - the only possible downside to this is that the menu isn't huge so you may run out of choices after four or five days if you were staying that long. The waiters were very knowledgeabout about the wine that was on offer and the food was described perfectly.The shuttle bus service was easy enough to use and the taxis weren' t too expensive - about 20 euros each way if you did want to stay later in the evening after the shuttle service had finished. You get a small ticket from the reception when you book the time of the shuttle you want to use and then you give the ticket to the driver when he arrives. The shuttle drops you off just outside a hotel very near to the large Library which gives easy access to walk into the main area. The view of the river with the weir is wonderful - we were lucky enough to be there while the orchard across the road was in full bloom with white and pink flowers. The river was running very fast as it had rained heavily the day before so was very exciting to stand and watch. I can't rate this hotel highly enough for cleanliness, friendliness and service from all of the staff. Well done!!

Room Tip: A river view room is worth the money. The sauna is quite well hidden and we did take a while to fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Otel, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mulino di Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.