We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mulino di Firenze to your Saves list
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Villamagna 119, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning in march.
Wow
It is a beautifully restored mill right on the Arno river.
No hustle bustle here, awesome and friendly service from check in to check out, the bar and restaurant, you feel welcome here.
All staff was great, but Aldo in the restaurant was exceptional, we learned about the history of the property, florence and the surrounding area. Also got some great wine tips from him as well.
Thanks Aldo for all you did.
I can not say enough about this place, the breakfast was great but the dinners topped even that, a great dining experience in a charming environment , we loved everything we had.
Cucina Toscana at its finest.
Can't wait to return, already looking at a return trip, don't pass this place up, it is worth it to be outside the city

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    127
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
94
419
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Mulino di Firenze. I can honestly say it was one of our best overall hotel experiences. The location, just outside of Florence, was perfectly situated on the river (advice: book a room with a river view!) At the time of booking, we were nervous to not book a hotel in the city center, but we quickly realized what a blessing in disguise this was. Florence is a quick cab or bus trip away. The cabs can get pricey, but the savings at Mulino di Firenze make up for the fares many times over.

Additionally, the staff is unbelievably warm and welcome! We absolutely loved our experience at Hotel Mulino di Firenze.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Campania, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay here. The hotel is beautiful inside and out with spectacular views of the Arno river from the terrace. The staff was pleasant and helpful in all things. We borrowed the bikes from the hotel and rode along the river into Florence, they even had a baby seat for us to use on the bikes. The restaurant food was delicious. The breakfast (included in cost) was expansive and also delicious. I cannot say enough about this hotel, we had an absolutely wonderful time. I highly recommend staying here... I plan to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed there for three nights in February and really loved it. The room was spacious with charming furnitures. The bathroom was equipped with a jacuzzi tub, bidet, toilette, big sink, towel warmer. The breakfast offered a good choice of self-baked cakes, paistries, breads, cheese, fruits and fruit salad etc. The breakfast room has a big window wall which can be opened in the summer time and leads onto a deck. Otherwise you can enjoy the view over the river. At night the breakfast room is used by the restaurant.
We visited the restaurant once. The food was good, I had the Ribolita (tuscan bread soup) and my partner the grilled veggies and the home-made pasta. Everything was good.
The hotel offers a shuttle service which leaves at 9am and 10am and at 5pm and 6pm to go downtown, which takes about 10min, 30min later it goes back from downtown to the hotel. That is a very nice service, which we used every day.
The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. They all speak english well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mulinofirenze, Direttore at Hotel Mulino di Firenze, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for the nice words spended and for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Hotel.

We really appreciate the beautiful words and are happy to know that you enjoyed the time in the Hotel. Thank you from the whole staff and hope to have you here again in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a superlative hotel, even without considering that the rooms are a bargain around $140+. It is a gorgeous mill redux, with the ubiquitous glimmer of water creating a magical atmosphere all around. In fact, its not hyperbole to use the word magical to describe the effect of the thoughtful details and utterly unique decor; kind of an elegant, modern cloister-deluxe villa. My best friend said she felt like she was living someone else's (better) life, and that's a good way to put it. I have a very critical streak, but every where I looked, things here were just as you might wish them to be. The rooms are delightful; clean and fresh, the service is unmatched - and if you know Italy, you may know that attentive service is a special find. I heard nothing but raves about this place before I finally decided to book here, and I must say my high expectations were not disappointed . The fabulously priced rooms -( Seriously, I mean, when you see them!)are already a treat, and then the level of service you receive is a real surprise. We had only hoped to get a room where we could save some extra money to splurge around Italy, but we got a hotel stay we will always remember. I do recommend Hotel Mulino.

If you are also hoping to wrestle some savings out of your Italian vacation, here are our little strategies, some of them we don't think many people other than ourselves know about:

I'll start with one that you probably know: as is the case traveling anywhere, the first thing to remember is to avoid the high season.Off-season Italy promises the biggest cuts in airfare, the beauty of popping up at small hotels (more discounted rates) without needing a reservation confirmed 3 months in advance, enjoying the wonderful absence of lines at the museums, and finding the local people less harried and more accommodating.

High season on most airlines' routes to Italy usually stretches from June to the end of September plus Christmas/New Year's week. This is the most expensive and most crowded time to travel. Shoulder season is from the Easter season (usually late Mar or Apr) to May, late September to October, and December 15 to December 24. Low season is generally January 6 to mid-March, November 1 to December 14, and December 25 to March 31.

I always try to shop for the best airfare deals myself. When calling the airlines directly, always ask for the lowest possible fare. Be flexible in your schedule -- flying on weekdays versus weekends, or even at a different time of day, can make a substantial difference. Find out the exact dates of the seasonal rates; these differ from airline to airline even though the destination stays the same. Some flights into or out of Rome versus Milan may differ in price. Don't forget to ask about discounts for seniors, students, or children.

Check your newspaper for consolidators or wholesalers, once more frequently known as "bucket shops." These companies operate by alleviating blocks of unsold tickets from the major international airlines. It's still not a bad idea to check their records first with the Better Business Bureau, but most operate firmly aboveboard and offer substantial savings, particularly off season.


Map out your strategy before you leave to see if a rail pass will save you or cost you money (you can find a list of the various Italian ones offered, as well as purchase them, at www.raileurope.com). On long international stretches of train travel, the former is usually true. Within Italy, buying second-class point-to-point tickets as you go may save you money. Most rail passes are cheapest when purchased at home before you leave. Also before you leave, because airport parking is expensive and a real hassle, you can use stay123.com to set up a park and fly package ( stay the night at an airport hotel and parking for the length of your vacation is included, as is a ride to the terminal, and back on your return trip.) The cost of the whole package was about half of what airport parking alone used to cost me.

Once you are in Italy, domestic or one-way flights can be killers. The most distant flights within Italy (Venice to Palermo, for example) might be contenders for air travel, but opt for the train at a fraction of the cost, breaking up your travel times with overnight stops planned along the way. There is never a shortage of sights between any two points.Train travel in Italy has improved immeasurably since the 1970s and 1980s. The newer Intercity trains are clean and efficient enough to make second-class travel a near first-class experience.

Use public transportation in cities rather than taxis. It offers a peek into the daily lifestyles of the local residents. Most concentrated historical districts make sightseeing most enjoyable when done on foot; in the large cities like Rome or Milan, consider daily or weekly passes for unlimited travel on buses or subways.

For general information in your home country, try your local branch of the Italian Government Tourist Board (ENIT) or the ENIT-sponsored website www.enit.it. Each city and town lists its own websites for visitor information, and you can find plenty of other official links at the Italian Government Tourist Board's site, www.italiantourism.com.

Good general websites include In Italy On-line (www.initaly.com), with details on accommodations, tours, festivals, shopping, and more; the Italian Tourist Web Guide (www.itwg.com), with online hotel reservations and information on art and history; and Italy in a Flash (www.italyflash.com), offering hotel information, railway and airline schedules, the latest exchange rates, weather, and current news.

Here's my favorite tip:

To get the most out of always-increasing museum admissions, see if you can buy tickets in advance to eliminate waiting in line. Always ask about senior and student discounts. Extended hours for summer months are often confirmed at the last minute (and, therefore, are not reflected in guidebooks) and are not widely publicized: If you're in the know, you might have Florence's Uffizi Galleries to yourself at 10 in the evening --( put a price on that!) Speaking of which, many museums are often open for free 1 day a month (it'll be crowded but, well, free). You can find this info and more like it at www.europeforfree.com.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were very impressed with the hotel Mulino di Firenze. I was very sad that we were only in Firenze for 1 night. I want to go back in the summer and enjoy the pool and spa. The rooms were great, the staff excellent, the restaurant delicious. Highly recommend. It is right outside of town. It was a 15 euro cab ride to the duomo. In nice weather you might be able to walk along the river into town. Which would be just lovely. THere is a shuttle to and from the hotel at designated times. Just ask for the time for the next day as they seemed to change depending on the season.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. Even if it is a partial view it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at the Mulino one week ago, and the experience was excellent. Not only because of the wonderful location, close to the Arno river in Firenze, but because of the nice facilities, and mainly, because of the wonderful people who work at the hotel, especially Aldo and Ray. These guys are great. We were 6, two families with kids, and we know how the things can be when travelling with children, they want to play all around, and never are quite. And besides, they have a very nice Enoteca and bar. The restaurant is great as well (I would make a review especially for the restaurant, if possible).
Ray, Aldo, uno abrazo, grazie!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mulino di Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.