We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed at!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mulino di Firenze to your Saves list
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Villamagna 119, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel I have ever stayed at!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Romantic, gorgeous, perfect getaway. Beautifully set outside of the city but close enough to the city to spend the whole day. From the moment we arrived at Mulino di Firenze we were greeted by a great staff (who were all English-speaking) who were willing and able to accomodate every request. We were led through a courtyard to our room. We were pleasantly surprised by the high ceilings and the size of the room. The bathroom felt luxurious with with marble floors and we immediately felt incredible comfortable in our room and throughout the whole hotel. It overlooks the Arno River and every inch of the hotel is gorgeous. We reserved the shuttle into the city every day which was convenient since by 630, we were exhausted from walking around and were ready to go back to the hotel. The shuttle left the hotel at 9 and 10 every morning and then departed the National Library at 530 and 630 (you reserve the time slots the night before). After spending the day in the city, we would come back to the hotel and spend some time in the private sauna and turkish bath (you also reserve this area for an hour so that you and your partner can have the spa to yourselves). We would then eat dinner at the hotel every night since the food was so delicious! The staff was wonderful and remembered us night after night. After dinner, we typically shared more wine and spent time outside basking in the amazing atmosphere this hotel exudes. One night we also scheduled massages which were the best massages we ever received (thanks Sabrina!). The staff was more than willing to provide wine glasses and wine wherever we were, whether it be in our room or outside overlooking the river. Every accomodation we were looking for was met by this hotel and the staff of the hotel. We would 100% stay at this hotel again - it was perfect for romance and for sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    122
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
91
395
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

refreshments offered by hotels, different, relaxing and very enjoyable. All words of praise and honest recommendation

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

The Mulino is a great hotel! Clean and super nice!!! soft sheets, comfortable bed, beatuiful bathroom with jetted tub. I felt like I was at a 5 star resort. Few down sides to the hotel: the distance from the city center (train station) we paid 36 euros from the train station to get to the hotel with our luggage. They provide a shuttle at 9 and 10 am and return to hotel at 5:30 or 6:30 pm. Times were kind of awkard. Especially if you want to eat dinner in the city center. Once you get over the inconvience of the shuttle and the times it is was totally worth staying there. After the first night we were happy to had to get back to catch the shuttle we were exhausted from all the walking. The drop off/pick up was the biblioteca National Library. I would recommend the hotel provide a paper at check in of the amenitities that they provide. For example up until the last day did we find out that the water bottles on the desk in the sleeping room were actually free. They have a sauna and turkish bath that you can reserve. They never mentioned it to us. We just found out by exploring. The breakfast is worth staying there too. great food and servers. Beautifully restored smelled and looked clean. Really a great place. Highly recommend it was worth the few more dollars to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

very nice hotel, you are made to feel at home! the staff are all very nice.
thank you Emilio.
Paulo from gozo!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The hotel is on the outskirts of the City connected by the local bus system, nearest stop about 400m away. There is also free shuttle service, 2 trips in the morning and 2 late afternoon. Good parking at the hotel. Yes the satnav tries taking you the wrong way down one way lanes but the hotel is not really that difficult to find.
The restaurant meat was excellent and as a coeliac I was very pleased to be informed that the restaurant stocks gluten free bread and pasta; a first.
Only Italian tv channels available at the time of my visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

This hotel was truly beautiful! It was converted from an old watering mill and has so much charm and character. It is definitely not like a traditional hotel and that's what we really enjoyed about it. It is right on the river and has beautiful views. It is difficult to find if you are driving yourself and navagation does not help! We had to stop 2 times and get directions.

The rooms were really clean and pretty spacious. The bathrooms are quite large and very clean. The view from our room was of the entrance of the hotel and it was really quiet and peaceful. It has a lot of old world charm. We were there during their slow time and it was really nice and peaceful.

The hotel is not that far from the city center (10 to 15 minutes). We had a car and it was not difficult to get to the city center and back. I believe they said they have a shuttle but it drops you off in the city center at 9 am and picks you up at 5 pm.

They did offer free wifi but it was awful in our room. I am not sure if they were having trouble that day or if that is how it always is. It works perfectly in the lobby but does not work in the restaurant. You do have to type in a password each time you want to use the internet and you have to get a separate password for each device you have. We had iphones and a laptop and each had to have its own password.

The breakfast was not that great. They didnt have many hot food options and the cold options were not very good. They do offer fruit, cereal, pastries and breads. I wasn't impressed with the food. We didnt get a chance to have dinner at the hotel. The hours were very short...from 7 to 930 only. I think this was because it is their slow time. They do not offer room service either. And when we went to the bar at about 10 they said that the kitchen was closed and we could only get drinks.

Overall, this is great little spot to stay at. It is away from all the craziness of the city and you get to relax and enjoy a peaceful night. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends! They have a great deal going on right now but it ends in March. I am sure the prices will go up significantly after March.. so try to go soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010 via mobile

I stayed at Mulino di Firenze for three nights in Nov 2010 with my wife & 6mth old daughter. The location is a little out of the way but excellent if you have a car, the hotel also provides complimentary return shuttle bus service into the heart of Florence everyday. The hotel itself is amazing, the rooms are excellent, the bathrooms spacious and well laid out. The grounds were lovely with picturesque views of the Arno (you couldn't get much better), and very well maintained. The restaurant in the hotel is nice and the service staff friendly. Two things to note for future travellers: the restaurant is closed on Sun night but the bar is still open and does serve food, the other is that the hotel has an opening special at the moment for greatly reduced prices for booking before Mar 2011 - check their website for details.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mulino di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulino di Firenze

Address: Via di Villamagna 119, 50126 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mulino di Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Escapio, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mulino di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mulino di Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.