We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good ice cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria La Carraia

Gelateria La Carraia
Piazza Nazario Sauro, 25, 50124 Florence, Italy
+039 055 280695
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,992 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Extremely good ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

All the flavours, all the taste! Get down there. It is one bridge away from ponte vecchio on the south side (downstream). We've tried lots of ice cream - this was magnificent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    161
    42
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Crowded Ice-cream shop near Ponte vecchio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cherry and chocolate cookies flavour in cone for just 1.50 euros (not bad) for a creamy and smooth texture gelato. Too much cream means too much fats.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The best ice cream in the right value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Maybe the best ice cream we had during our vacations in Florence and Venice. Not only it was fresh and with a big variety of flavors, it was in the best price as well. And not only that, it was served in generous portions unlike many other gelaterias in Florence & Venice. It is highly recommended, although it is 10-15 minutes walk from Piazza La Repubblica and might has a queue (the service was fast we had to wait only 5 minutes) it is really good & worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Gelato in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

While it might be out of the way, it is definitely worth it. It is some of the most inexpensive gelato we had, but also the best gelato we had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Among the top 3 gelaterias we went to in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having been to some really great gelaterias on our trip, naming Botega in Pisa and Dondoli in San Gimignano, we were looking for something special in Florence. Our hotel receptionist recommended Carraya as being not only great tasting but generous with portions. She was right! We also loved Perche No in Florence as well. There are so many to choose from. The old standby, Vivoli, was not my favorite. You can't go wrong with Carraya or Perche No in Florence. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria La Carraia also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria La Carraia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria La Carraia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.