We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Residenza dell'Orafo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Residenza dell'Orafo to your Saves list
La Residenza dell'Orafo
Largo Fratelli Alinari 11, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect hide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went there for a quick stop in our honeymoon. This place is a gem. Great location, really friendly staff, cozy rooms, and you get value for money.

Even though we had a tiny room, they made us feel that we owned the place.

Would definitely go back again :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Monzique,

thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our service during your stay . We always try to provide and improve our services for our guests to make their holiday memorable.

Hooping to welcome you again,

Kindest regards

Marta and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    74
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
108
228
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for five nights in the Ametista Room and I couldn't believe how big it was compared to some of the other places we had stayed in Italy for a similar price. The room was nicely decorated and had a balcony looking over the street, and the bathroom was very modern. The complimentary snacks, fruit and water were great each day and very appreciated and the free wifi worked really well. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and the location is fantastic and within walking distance to all of the main sights in Florence. It's also very handy that it is so close to the train station as well. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and the bottle of Chianti the staff gave us when we checked out was a very nice touch!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear jessw188,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our service during your stay . We always try to provide and improve our services for our guests to make their holiday memorable.

Hooping to welcome you again,

Kindest regards

Marta and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights there at the Silver Room which is of adequate size and very nicely decorated. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is just a stone throw away from the train station. The underpass from the train station to the hotel street is gppd for rainy days when you are pulling your luggage along. The bathroom is warm and cozy. the heated towel rack is excellent for drying handwashed small garments. the staff is friendly and helpful in providing xcellent recommendations for good restaurants in Florence such as the Pepo restaurant. the free WiFi is free and very stable. The breakfast provided was served at a nearby cafe and the selection is good. But like most places in Italy, the walls are thin and you can hear footsteps in coridoor outside or doors opening and closing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear WTChong,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at La Residenza Dell'Orafo.
Your great comments have made us happy!

We are very glad you spent a wonderful time with us and really hope to have the opportunity to welcome back very soon.

Best Regards.

Marta and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This B&B didn't really match our impressions from the website. The staff are wonderful and probably the best aspect of this accommodation. We had a triple room, it was an average size, quiet even though it faced the street, bathroom tiny, but small touches like fruit and water are appreciated generous touches.

Close and easy walk from the train station, the rooms are comfortable, however the breakfast in the cafe down the road was pretty dismal. A tiny bread roll, a fruit juice (or second tiny roll) and coffee. Not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Foreignshores,

thank you so much for your review and for your kind words about our staff.

Your opinion is very important for our work. We will do our best to improve our services.

It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guest and we hope that we can see you again .

Warmest regards

Marta and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

great location only 5 mins walk from train station and super market is just next door to B&B
the rooms are very clean and tidy.
view from the room is very nice too, i have little balcony to go outside to get some fresh air.
will definitely go back again soon :)

Room Tip: room for 3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Bowling1919,

thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy to know that you appreciated our service during your stay . We always try to provide and improve our services for our guests to make their holiday memorable.

Hooping to welcome you again,

Kindest regards

Marta and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Easy to find, as it's just next to the SMN train station with 2 mins walk.
Nice staff, explain and recommend to us about florence's famous place to visit and eat with patience.
Good location, 8 mins walk to the central of florence (the catholic church) and museums. 5 mins walk to leather market and wet market.
Nice room, clean ... tidy... new... excellent service....
I can't find any bad point to say about this B&B, will definitely recommend to friends and families!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Apo L,

I am glad that you appreciate our B&B . We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.

It was a great pleasure for me to have you as our guest and I hope that we can see you again .

Warmest regards

Marta and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

big & spacious room, not a problem to fit it 4 adults and still have space to move around.
Friendly reception and person on duty. she even came downstairs to help us carrying our heavy luggage. train station is just around the corner and easy walking to central market and others major tourist sites. free wifi, fruits,bread, coffee in the room. big bathroom.
Excellent stay and will definitely stay here again if we visit Florence again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laresidenzadellorafo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Residenza dell'Orafo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Tprado3,

I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the observations you wrote in your review.

I am glad that you appreciate our B&B . We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.

It was a great pleasure for me to have you as our guest and I hope that we can see you again .

Warmest regards

Marta and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Residenza dell'Orafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza dell'Orafo

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Florence, one of the most romantic and magical cities of the world, right at the exit of the train Station Santa Maria Novella, a step away from the Palace of Congresses (Conferences Palace) and from the historical center a Bed and Breakfast has recently been opened: “La Residenza dell'Orafo” with cozy and comfortable rooms, great service and an excellent quality price ratio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Residenza dell'Orafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Dell`Orafo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residenza dell'Orafo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.