We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tuscan food, in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante il Pennello

Ristorante il Pennello
Dante Alighieri 4/r, 50123 Florence, Italy
003955294848
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Ristorante il Pennello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #446 of 1,876 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pennello is located in the very center of the cities and it is known by lawyers, business man and bankers, wich are used to meet there for a fast lunch.The “Osteria Pennello” was founded in the 16th century by the painter Mariotto Albertinelli. Since 1969 the members of two tuscan families (Brogi & Nenciolini) runs the restaurant continuing the tradition of one of the most historic restaurants in Florence. Menù in english, french, deutsche, russian.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great tuscan food, in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The owner is present almost always during dinner time, and the atmosphere is typically italian: one feels like home in here.
Great authentic food, very good Tagliata di manzo.
We go back here once every few months.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    173
    61
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great meat with good service and a very nice house wine. The bisteca alla fiorentina was excellent!!! If it wouldn't be for the price it would be 5/5. By far the best meal we had in firenze. Can only recommend going there!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should not be recommended...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Recommended by a traveling guide book, we went there since it was late and very close to our hotel. We ordered very simple dishes (pasta and salad), but still it was far from being good and tasty. Food arrived in a few seconds and it was cold. Bread was probably a few days old. Wine was good but expensive.
Service was not too bad with rather friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vercorin
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Simple but delicious Tuscan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I usually select unknown restaurants by gut feeling and with help from the Universe (hardly ever wrong). This one I hadn't chosen simply because a close Fiorentino friend invited us there and he's patronized the place for decades. Service was efficient and speedy though the restaurant was full (Sunday lunch) with locals and tourists. We ordered the customary jug of Chianti (pay only what you drink), mineral water, antipasti were melanzane alla parmigiana (my wife absolutely relished them) and bruschetta (one olio, one pomodori, one fagioli). For main course we ordered porcini alla griglia that almost melted on the tongue, with herbs and oil, so good in fact that the memory still makes my mouth water (and I've just had dinner!). Dessert was profiterolles for my wife and tiramisú for me. My wife enjoyed her dessert and so did I (although no one tops, IMHO, my wife's recipe: she adds real espresso and crème de café). We ordered two espressi which were among the best I've had in Firenze and I had a limoncello at the end of our meal and was starting to feel real mellow. In summary, it was a delightful experience and as regular visitors to Firenze, we're certain to return to Il Pennello.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Found by chance, then saw trip advisor reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at hotel Grand Cavour, just around the corner from this delightful restaurant. The food, atmosphere, authenticity, and prices are hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante il Pennello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante il Pennello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante il Pennello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.