We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, served super fast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante il Pennello

Ristorante il Pennello
Dante Alighieri 4/r, 50123 Florence, Italy
003955294848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #455 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $31 - $62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pennello is located in the very center of the cities and it is known by lawyers, business man and bankers, wich are used to meet there for a fast lunch.The “Osteria Pennello” was founded in the 16th century by the painter Mariotto Albertinelli. Since 1969 the members of two tuscan families (Brogi & Nenciolini) runs the restaurant continuing the tradition of one of the most historic restaurants in Florence. Menù in english, french, deutsche, russian.
Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent food, served super fast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I liked the octopus stew, found the osso bucco a little plain, but they were clearly intent on turning every table just as quick as possible. Pleasant service, just way too frenetic for authentic Italian dining -- might be a good choice if you had to catch a train or something, but not for an enjoyable dinner.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    158
    55
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We went there twice ! Food is so good and mouth-watering. We strongly suggest you take the 20 euro menu. The scallopini a la limone is superb. Tiramisu is sweet and nice. Staff is kind and welcoming. A real Tuscany treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommend! One of my favorites!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I can't remember how I found this restaurant, but it was FANTASTIC. My entire family thoroughly enjoyed this evening. The restaurant was inviting and easy to find. In fact, my family had split up that day and when my parents arrived they weren't sure if it was the correct restaurant. The waiter invited them in with open arms. We had a lovely table for 7 people and I believe our waiters name was Marco (although I can't fully remember). He was fabulous! The menu had a wide variety of food and everything was very reasonably priced. Our waiter even gave us a bowl of ice when we asked for it! This was the first and only time that we had cold tap water at a restaurant in Italy. It's small things like that that really make a place shine for us. We were all dehydrated and wanted cold water that wasn't going to cost us 4€ a bottle. It was a real treat to have ice. Everyone loved their appetizers and meals. We couldn't decide on what wine to get so our waiter brought us two bottles and said that we would only be charged for what we drank. The wine was delicious and we ended up finishing a bottle and a half. I think the total price for it was like 12€ or something like that. We skipped dessert because we wanted gelato from the "best gelateria in Florence." Instead of convincing us to stay for dessert, our waiter pointed out the gelateria on the map for us! The entire staff was attentive, hospitable, and caring. It was one of the best dining experiences that we had in Italy. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone passing through Florence!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were in Florence for 4 days and ate here twice. The lampredotto and carciofi were fabulous! And the panda cotta was out of this world! The staff were very friendly and efficient. This is a solid restaurant and I would come back again on my next trip to Florence.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great selection of food, very well presented by friendly happy staff, I especially recommend the pepeto beef . Good wine selection had an excellent Valpolicella here at €24

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante il Pennello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante il Pennello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante il Pennello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.