We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely abode with museum of masterpieces,great sleep and accommodating tariff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Schlatter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Schlatter to your Saves list
Casa Schlatter
Viale dei Mille, 14, 50131 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,705 reviews 1,705 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 826 cities Reviews in 826 cities
1,794 helpful votes 1,794 helpful votes
“Lovely abode with museum of masterpieces,great sleep and accommodating tariff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This three suite retreat is like an antique filled museum dedicated to the artist Adolfo Schlatter,a 19th century Swiss painter. His granddaughter is the owner who greets you at the door and will, with great pride, take you on a tour of his masterpieces. Its location is close to downtown Florence but far enough to to have space for a garden. Lovely place,genial and hospitable,not lest,effable hostess. Great night sleep in lovely surroundings at an accommodating tariff. Bravo Signora. Gracias.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
42
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at Casa Schlatter for one week in April 2014.The location of this property is a short bus ride to central Florence. The bus stop is a very close walk (less than a block). Casa Schlatter is a impeccably kept home that Alessandra inherited from her great-grandfather, an artist. Many of his artistic works adorn the walls, lending an elegant look. The furnishings are an attractive blend of antique and modern. This B & B is in a quiet residential area, but close to restaurants, bakeries, a grocery store, and a gelato establishment. Our room looked out onto the back yard area, which was private & peaceful. Alessandra is a wonderful hostess who has a wealth of information about anything you need to see & do in Florence. This tiny person has extraordinary energy, including maintaining all the housekeeping on her own impeccably!!! She always has a smile, and works very hard to meet requests or assist with a traveler's proble (she speaks English fluently). We found the bus ride to Florence's center easy and affordable. We appreciated the calmness of Casa Schlatter after a busy day sight-seeing. We had a lovey room, with a large bathroom. The large central room, with its comfortable sofas, is an additional plus. We would highly recommend a stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were a group of six, who had the great preasure to spend 5 nights in Casa Schlatter in November 2013, when we attended a Travel Seminar in Nelson Mandela Forum (5 min walk) - perfect distance...

Alessandra did everything for us, took us by car to find good restaurants - she called and checked on us, and made sure we were ok! We felt welcome in her home - like family!

The house is fantastic, we felt like living in a museum! So genuin, beautyfully decorated - and with lovely atmoshere! All we needed was there - kitchen utensils, everything! And the bank, supermarket, bus stop - max 100 meters away...

Next time in Florence - we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I am from New York and my family and I stayed at Casa Schlatter in August of 2013. We were extremely pleased with our accomodations. Alessandra Schlatter was a wonderful hostess. As foreigners, she was especially helpful giving us directions, helping us with computer needs, and recommending a wonderful restaurant and gelateria. The house is beautiful with several bedrooms which are situated in the house to give a good degree of privacy. The main living area is spacious and well appointed--we spend many hours here recovering from our daily adventures, sharing stories and eating the delicious food we prepared in the kitchen. The house has old world charm mixed with a modern sensibility--just what we were looking for. It was so nice to come back to Casa Schlatter after exploring Firenze. The artwork on the walls, painted by one of Alessandra Schlatter's relatives, was an added beautiful bonus. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Alessandra is an amazing host & the property is quaint & spotless. We really enjoyed our stay & Alessandra was a great help with our lost luggage, no thanks to Air France. It is a little outside the city center - but quick bus ride. You will not be disappointed at Casa Schlatter!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Florence was our favourite destination in Italy, and it was because of Casa Schlatter and our hostess Alessandra. It was so beautifully decorated; it was a real treat for us to stay in such a special, unique B&B surrounded by art and antiques. it was also spotlessly clean and very carefully organized. Alessandra is a very careful, particular proprietress. Her standards are the very highest.
The real treat for us was the tips she provided on where to sightsee and where to eat. Alessandra is a sophisticated, warm person who knows the City as a local. We did exactly what she said (seriously!) and had beautiful, magical adventures and many unforgettable meals.
I am celiac and Alessandra prepared a gluten-free breakfast for me every morning. These were delicious. She would make savoury things to suit her North American guests and would also provide a variety of pastries (gluten free for me!). I still remember her fruit salad with exotic fruits like fresh figs and pomegranate seeds. She took so much care to make each breakfast special and suitable for her guests.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Florence. I hope to visit again.
Thank you Alessandra!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Casa Schlatter in late August - in the midst of a Florentine heat wave - and we were totally comfortable and beyond happy with our decision to stay at Casa Schlatter. AC in the bedrooms was a surprise (somehow I missed it in the description).

The house is amazing. It really puts you in the mood of Florence - with the wonderful art and perfect decor.

Our group included my immediate family (husband and two small children), mother in law, sister in law and nephew. We rented the whole place and it was more room than we could have ever needed. My family took the master suite in the front, and even with it facing the main street out front, it was quiet and comfortable.

The kitchen is small, but that meant I got it to myself - which was easier in the end. We ate out for lunch and dinner (Palazzio Vino? - as recommended by Allesandra - was THE best meal we had throughout our stay), but the kitchen was perfect for breakfast or snack, etc.

Loved the outside green space for the little girls. Lovely Italian woman upstairs cooing over our 2 year old just added to the charm!

It is a bit of a hike to the main locations, which only was an issue because my mo.-in-law has some issues with her back and legs. But we ended up taking cabs frequently, and it wasn't that expensive.

Also... we borrowed a big, fat van to get the 7 of us to the place from our temp residence in Switzerland. I've gotten used to European driving, but even with the massive van, the drive to the place was easy and parking was a breeze.

Allesandra was so kind to us throughout - she welcomed us when we arrived, recommended dinner options, didn't seem squeamish about leaving her lovely home in the hands of people with a toddler and a 4 year old, and even texted to make sure all was well and tell us about the mosquito repellant.

Only negative was the mosquito bites... but that was our fault alone. If you come in late summer months, no matter where you are staying, bring mosquito repellant and use it liberally. There is a pharmacy nearby that sells an Italian Calamine lotion equivalent... but better to not get them in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Schlatter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Schlatter

Address: Viale dei Mille, 14, 50131 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Schlatter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Schlatter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.