We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic 16th Century Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Guadagni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magic 16th Century Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights in October 2013 at this exciting and different hotel. From the moment you open the old wooden doors you step into another world and you know the experience will be unique.
We had a top floor room which had a view of the Duomo and of the Palazzo Vecchio with its famous tower. These were lit up at night. Being a corner room we also had a view of the Palazzo Pitti from our en suite bathroom.
The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast room had plenty of choice and afternoon teas or drinks on the large loggia terrace balcony overlooking the Piazza Santo Spirito felt very civilised.
The location managed to avoid the worst of the tourist areas while still being a convenient short walk from them. Less than a 10 minute walk and you could be crossing the Ponte Vecchio. The Piazza below was lively with the impressive Basilica di Santo Spirito at one end and bordered with bars, cafes and restaurants.
The staff was friendly and helpful; there was good free Wi-Fi and plenty of storage (wardrobe and drawers) in the room. No elevator above the second floor so be prepared for some climbing of 16th century stairs.
We loved our time there and would willingly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was high (top floor) and faced North East towards the Duomo so was quiet being away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    196
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
134
470
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I am so glad I read tripadvisor before I booked a hotel.Everyone's reviews on this hotel are true! This place is perfect! The staff so friendly like you are a guest in their own home and the balconies and outdoor terrace have amazing views! Our room was huge and the location was perfect! In the piazza with true Florentine flavor and plenty of great places to eat and to have drinks.A market outside the doors every morning.You can't ask for a better hotel or location. We loved it for our 25th anniversary...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience in Palazzo Guadagni.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel has it all: Historical significance (just google guadagni), beautiful rooms, expansive breakfast selections, a sprawling veranda where you can enjoy an evening cocktail, very helpful and friendly staff, and a great location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor .
We are very glad you appreciated our hotel.
When you come back in Florence we shall be very pleased to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night only, our last night in Florence.
The hotel is stunning! It is in the Piazza, in a beautiful, but less tourist-bustling part of the city, wonderful.
The immense doors swing wide to usher you in an exquisite building, to which the hotel is situated on the upper floors. The rooms are HUGE, quiet, and well kept. The big win for this hotel is the free breakfasts that are served in the dining room or out on the rooftop terrace taking in a beautiful view.
It's on the other side of the Arno, so a little further walk to the major sight seeing attractions, but still doable. It's a pretty part of the city, that is mercifully less full of camera-clicking-tour-groups. Perfect for the end of a trip. Great restaurants in this part of the city, serving mostly locals, so very authentic Firenze cuisine. Stay away for the restaurants in the Palazzo proper, mostly cater to tourist crowds, venture down any of the streets heading out of the square for a better dining experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here on my first trip to Florence and it was everything I could hope for - loggia, frescoes, comfortable room and friendly staff. Oltrarno is a great district to stay in, Piazza San Spirito has great bars and cafés - couldn't have asked for more. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure for us to welcome your review and we would like to thank you for your choice as well.
We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the grandeur of the Hotel Palazzo Guadagni. Although it is only less than a 10 minute walk to the centre of the city the hotel is in a lovely neighbourhood with cafes, bars and restaurants all of a high standard. The room in our hotel was very comfortable with a view of the city. Wooden beams on the ceiling and comfortable antique furniture.

The staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a quiet and tranquil atmosphere which offsets the buzz of the city. We enjoyed having an aperitivi on the loggia before dinner watching the sunset. We would certainly book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your choice and for sending your evaluation: we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for three nights for our honeymoon and had a great time!!
The room was excellent with a lovely balcony in a busy and fun neighborhood, we stayed in the Gold Room. Excellent location in Piazza Santo Sprito that was outside of thebustling downtown but an easy walk to everything. The dining surrounding the hotel was not "touristy" and therefore food was more about quality versus quantity. We loved Osteria Santo Sprito (across from hotel) and Osteria Gusto (one block to the left).

Service at the hotel was top notch with knowledgeable staff who were able to assist with anything we needed. We felt quite at home and had no complaints. Breakfast was all we needed and food was well made and always available. We cannot wait to come again and stay at this hotel. We loved Florence and our experience here, enhanced by the wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Gold Room was beautiful with a lovely ceiling, lots of space and a balcony overlooking the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinando B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to write a review about Palazzo Guadagni on Tripadvisor.
We're glad that you enjoyed the pleasure of staying in a special place, for its architecture and its location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Guadagni.
Kind Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.