We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Guadagni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 461 hotels in Florence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Perfect stay in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Loved this hotel overlooking the square. The staff were pleasant, polite and helpful. Our room was huge with a lovely ceiling and window with shutters to keep out the noise at night. The terrace is charming and you can relax and enjoy the view. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. We dined in the square several times and enjoyed Osteria Santo Spirito's pasta. Highly recommended. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you maybe not a room over the piazza but we had a room near reception and enjoyed l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    194
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
134
463
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I recently remembered I wanted to review this hotel that we visited last Fall. I would actually rate this hotel as a 3.5, but since there isn't that option, I'm giving it a 3. On the plus side, we liked the friendly staff, the breakfast was good, the rooftop patio was amazing, the rooms were clean, and the neighbourhood was exceptional (lively, but not too touristy). It was also quite reasonably priced for the area. I loved the neighbourhood where we watched live music from the rooftop at night time while drinking our wine. The lovely front desk host kindly opened our bottle and gave us glasses. She was the best part of our stay and we really enjoyed her hospitality.

My main complaint was that our room was dark, sparse, and dreary. The bed wasn't very comfortable. Also, the wifi didn't work in our room as we were promised. This was a romantic trip for us, but one where I had to keep in touch with my work and needed wifi and a nice room for the times when I had to stay inside to get a deadline done. All of this I specified when considering booking. We booked well in advance and were told the room we'd have would be better than it actually was, so I'm wondering if they bumped us to a lower grade room after they started to fill up with other reservations. Other reviews have been raving about their rooms, but there was nothing to rave about regarding our room.

Overall, the pluses of our experience outweighed the minuses so don't be afraid to book this place if the overall aesthetic of the room doesn't bother you (most people only need a place to sleep), but I will probably look for something else next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was the first few days of our honeymoon, so I expected top quality and wasn't disappointed. On top of the stunning rooftops views on Florence, the service was 5 stars: the staff was always ready to help and go the extra mile even, breakfasts were very tasty and rooms beautifully decorated and private. A peaceful oasis in the sometimes overcrowded Florence. Location was also spot on with great osterias around the corner

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor for complete privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is a must if you visit Florence. All staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too hard or an issue for any staff member. The terrace is absolutely wonderful, we had drinks & snacks in this area every afternoon of our visit - very peaceful and relaxing. Rooms are large and very clean. Location was great - able to walk. Food & restaurants in the area are first class. Will be back to stay again on our next visit to Florence

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the square - you can feel the culture of the area from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your thoughts and opinions. Every review is greatly appreciated.
We hope to meet your request again in the future.
Best regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freienbach
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We've had the most wonderful stay in Hotel Palazzo Guadagni. The room was great, very big and spaceous, nice and quiet, just perfect. The terrace is most wonderful if you are a smoker or just wanting to have some relaxing hours with the nice view over the roofs of Florence.
The receptionists were always very helpful and friendly with making reservations for restaurants, taxi booking and so on. The breakfast was good too. We loved the atmospere of this beautiful old palazzo, especially on the terrace.
The location of the holtel is most fantastic and could not be better. by foot ervything of interest is reachable within a couple of minutes, great restaurants are around the hotel, and it is great for having some drinks in the evening in the bars arround, but also not too loud as not too much is arround and the windows are good. could not be better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a detailed review.
It is always wonderful to hear that a guest has found the service so warm and accommodations exceptional.
Thank you very much for sharing with me and my staff these beautiful words.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had such a great time in Florence and in the Palazzo Guadagni. The location is perfect, the service is so welcoming, the rooms are very comfortable, and the loggia... just magnificent. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to welcome your review
We thank you for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
göteborg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Why not experience a 14th centure Florentine palace when visiting Florence?
This is our third visit to this recently renovated hotel. Beautiful and comfortable rooms. You will enjoy a unique environvent with splendid views of the city, especially from the spacios loggia. Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
The whole staff is glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back very soon to our hotel,
Kind regards,
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.