We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Guadagni to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Lincs UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at this lovely little hotel in mid February, for 4 nights. We were on the top floor (essentially the garret) and the weather was cold. I was concerned that with traditional and authentic terracotta tiles and bare walls, the room would be cold and unwelcoming. Quite the opposite- it was idyllic! Lots of space, a wonderful rooftop view over to the Pitti. Palace, a feeling of peace and tranquility that I have seldom felt in such a city centre location.
This hotel is perfect for those of us who want an authentic experience at a very reasonable price. The staff were friendly but not overbearing, most spoke English well and we were made to feel very welcome but left very much to our own devices which is what we prefer. The loggia is stunning, and the major rooms equally impressive. The bar directly across the square is ideal for pre dinner drinks, while the trattorias round and about are equally accommodating and very well priced.
I found the breakfast rather dull and repetitive as there was little variety on offer. All in all however, I would return tomorrow if time and funds allowed!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for sending your review. We're really glad that you spent such a wonderful time at Palazzo Guadagni.
About breakfast, we'll try to change it.
we really hope to see you soon again
Best Regards,
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    207
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
136
491
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel Palazzo Guidagni is located within the walls of an ancient building which has been beautifully maintained. The rooms are all different, and each is special. We stayed in the family suite, which has two bedrooms seperated by huge, very old wood double doors. The ceilings were high and coved, and the floors were beautiful mosaic stone - obviously very old, but very beautiful. The bathroom was small and older, but everything worked perfectly, with plenty of hot water and water pressure. Breakfast was good - boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and juices. Be advised that there are many stairs. There is an elevator, but it is very small and does not go to the very top. Parking is off site and expensive - nearest is a 5-10 minute walk - and cost us 21 euro per day for a tiny car. The hotel shares the building with a school (you will never hear them), and rooms are located on different floors, with the reception and breakfast room at the top of the building. Don't miss the gorgeous balcony on the top floor! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Family room is really two rooms and is huge, but no view. Be sure to request information about park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure for us to welcome your review and we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Me and my niece enjoyed 3 wonderful days here, in spite of rainy weather and arctic cold! In our two huge rooms it was warm, clean and cosy, the view from roof terrace to the snow-covered surrounding was unique. The trained staff, specially Rita and Atish, was really friendly and cordial and had an open ear for special wishes! For breakfast we had always fresh fruit salad, yoghourt and a nice brown bread. Maybe it would be nice also for other guests, to have some real cheese for breakfast in the country of peccorino? But for us the only minus point we recognized only at departure: We arrived at 8pm on wednesday and left on 9am on saturday and we payed for parking in the car park 85 euro! That we found really a lot, maybe it would have been better to come to Florence by train, but we enjoyed it to go by car to a short trip to Siena.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for choosing our Hotel for your visit.
It is always wonderful to hear that a guest has found the service so warm and accommodations exceptional.
Thank you for your suggestion for breakfast.
We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Florence.
Kind regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just a quick to note to highly recommend Palazzo Guadagni. From the discreet entrance off a bustling square, you ascend several floors either via a grand staircase (100+ steps!) or elevator to the top of this beautiful old building. We really did feel like Italian aristocracy with the high ceilings and wonderful views of Florence! The rooms were more about period features than mod cons, our room 5 was just off the reception, but this wasn't a problem at all out of season. We sampled several restaurants around the hotel and each one was superb. Staff were all great, breakfast fresh...all in all hard to imagine how our stay could have been any better. Great location too, minutes from the station, Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sending your evaluation and for letting us know about your experience with us.
The whole staff is glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, We really hope you will be able to join us again in Florence.
Best Wishes
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in low season, in winter, first week of January 2013 so the room price was much lower than in high season in summer. My review in "value for money" would have been lower if I paid the high season summer price.
I will make it short: its a good hotel in good location, staff were friendly and helpful. Some rooms on top floor will require you to drag your bags up the stairs (no lift in the top floor) but otherwise we were happy overall, considering the lower price.

Room Tip: in summer the Piazza St Spiroto can be noisy at night, so rooms at the top may be more quiet. Eat d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know about your experience with us.
As the hotel is located in a 16th century building we have not been allowed to install a second lift to reach the upstairs rooms in addition to the internal stairs, but we help always customers with their luggage.
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Palazzo Guadagni which is located right in the heart of Santo Spirito. The location is perfect - it is buzzy with lots of nice local restaurants and bars, whilst not being directly on the tourist trail. The centre is easily within walking distance from the hotel and you can take in the beautiful Arno on the way over. We were greeted by the charming Martina who was on hand to recommend local places to eat/drink etc.. The views from the hotel are exceptional and the rooms beautifully appointed with just the right balance of charm and authentic Italian decor. Great value for money also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Palazzo Guadagni on TripAdvisor.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. Big rooms, wonderful view and breakfast, and nice service. But the best is its location in a piazza full of life with good and cheap restaurants. At night you can watch projections on the church front wall making it more magical. A little far from the touristic center, you can find real florentines with their joy of living.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Palazzo Guadagni and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We hope we'lll have the opportunity to welcome your return.
Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.
Sincerely,
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.