We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in Florence, 15min walk from the main attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Guadagni to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good hotel in Florence, 15min walk from the main attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in low season, in winter, first week of January 2013 so the room price was much lower than in high season in summer. My review in "value for money" would have been lower if I paid the high season summer price.
I will make it short: its a good hotel in good location, staff were friendly and helpful. Some rooms on top floor will require you to drag your bags up the stairs (no lift in the top floor) but otherwise we were happy overall, considering the lower price.

Room Tip: in summer the Piazza St Spiroto can be noisy at night, so rooms at the top may be more quiet. Eat d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know about your experience with us.
As the hotel is located in a 16th century building we have not been allowed to install a second lift to reach the upstairs rooms in addition to the internal stairs, but we help always customers with their luggage.
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    219
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
140
509
43
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Palazzo Guadagni which is located right in the heart of Santo Spirito. The location is perfect - it is buzzy with lots of nice local restaurants and bars, whilst not being directly on the tourist trail. The centre is easily within walking distance from the hotel and you can take in the beautiful Arno on the way over. We were greeted by the charming Martina who was on hand to recommend local places to eat/drink etc.. The views from the hotel are exceptional and the rooms beautifully appointed with just the right balance of charm and authentic Italian decor. Great value for money also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Palazzo Guadagni on TripAdvisor.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. Big rooms, wonderful view and breakfast, and nice service. But the best is its location in a piazza full of life with good and cheap restaurants. At night you can watch projections on the church front wall making it more magical. A little far from the touristic center, you can find real florentines with their joy of living.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Palazzo Guadagni and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We hope we'lll have the opportunity to welcome your return.
Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.
Sincerely,
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agat, Guam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was on a trip to Tuscany to celebrate my 60th birthday with my husband, youngest daughter abd her boyfriend. The Palazzo has a perfect location on the Piazzo Spirito. Before I arrived I was worried about the possibility of the Piazzo being noisy. I heard this comment from other reviewers but our stay was perfectly lovely and quiet. We stayed in the two superior rooms on the uppermost floor. I had a paperback copy of "A Room with a View" with me abd the bookcover had the same view as I had from my bedroom window. I found the stair climbing to be just what I needed after a day filled with pasta. All the staff were vey helpful. My husband was particularly happy when they were able to do his laundry on short notice. My only regret was that we spent only three nightrs. Prior to our arrival the staff was able to make reservations to see the David which saved us from long lines and wasted time. It is almost i,possible to get a bad meal in Florence. We had exceptional meals at the nearby Trattoria Santo Bevitore and the Tarattoria Sant'Agostino. The front desk made these and other requested reservations. We had a worthwhile historical private walking tour with a company called Freya's Florence. The guide met us at the hotel's front door and we ended the tour at a great restaurant on the Arno (called the Golden....?) On the last day we headed for the small town of Radda and we used the private car service of Hills and Roads. Our charming driver was named Andrea and he stopped at some scenic sights that we had not thought of. If I ever return to Florence I will be sure to stay at the Palazzo Guadagni.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your review. We appreciate the time you spent to describe the experience you had at Palazzo Guadagni.
Many thanks from all of us,

We really hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Few weeks ago with a couple of friends we spent few days in this amazing hotel.
We arrived in Florence from Rome with the train, it takes just 5 min with taxi to reach the hotel.
In the square in the morning there is a nice and characteristic market,
Our room was really nice and well decorated, with a nice window facing Pitti Palace!
The staff was great, they help us a lot with restaurants and museums reservations. We really liked Bardini museum and garden (thanks for the advise!)
The loggia in terrific, you can have a glass of wine looking the square and the fiorentini colline!
I will come back soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure for us to welcome your review and we would like to thank you for your choice. The whole staff is glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us
We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I could not have been happier with my stay at this hotel on the quiet side of the Arno. A very friendly staff and a room that made my jaw drop. The room faced a charming square (piazza santo spirito). On some mornings a food market was set up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Gaudagni for 3 days and it was an incredibly memorable stay. The place is 'old school' and the rooms are nice and spacious ( Of course it depends on the type of room you choose as well). The staff is very very very courteous and helpful which is always nice ! It's close to the famous jewellery markets (The Ponte Vecchio) that adorn the bridge and public transport is available everywhere which is the case in almost any major city in Europe. So grab a map from the hotel and start walking around. It's a lot of fun. The breakfast was very nice and the rooms were neat and clean. We had a nice view of the city and the Duomo from our window. There are flea markets right outside that sell all kinds of stuff that can be interesting at times.

Overall I must say I would stay at the Palazzo again if I had the chance !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review , we much appreciate it, and indeed are so pleased that you chose Hotel Palazzo Guadagni for your time in Florence.
We hope to meet your request again in the future.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.