We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in beautiful Firenze” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Guadagni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Florence
York, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our favorite hotel in beautiful Firenze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great hotel (with elevator), our favorite hotel in Firenze.
Fantastic, helpful, friendly staff. Great location away from the hubbub but close enough to get to anyplace in the city.
Right around the corner from Palazzo Pitti.
Great breakfast!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views, but if you want quiet, ask for a room off the piazza San Spirito.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
It's a pleasure for us to read your review and we would like to thank you for your choice as well. We look forward to welcoming you again when in Florence.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    194
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
131
462
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hello - we had an enjoyable stay but probably would not choose this hotel again. We were disappointed in our room (16) which was in the attic, very dark and dowdy. Saying that we did have a good nights sleep as it was very quiet. However the bathroom needs serious attention, the shower was over the bath and there was no showed screen which meant the floor became dangerously wet/slippy. It would be far better to remove the bath and fit a walk in shower as it is a very small room and the toilet is in a bad location too.

Saying that - the balcony made up for it and it was lovely to have pre dinner drinks and nibbles after a days sightseeing. The breakfast including fresh fruit which is always welcome. We wished we had booked a more superior room but didn't realise the difference at the time of booking. Also it was not pointed out to us on booking that the price quoted was for cash and there was a significant charge for paying by credit card.

The hotel was clean and we enjoyed our stay over all spending very little time in our room.

Room Tip: do not book a standard/classic room and pay in cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Florence for 2 nights. Wished we could have stayed longer! Our room was very clean and we were amazed at the height of the ceilings and the artistic ceiling deco. The continental breakfast was very good! Coffee, juice, water, milk, fruits, cereals, yogurt, pastries, etc all available every morning. There was a common terrace overlooking the piazza and beyond that was nice to hang out and drink a bottle of wine (they even let us borrow a wine bottle opener and glasses). The only constructive feedback to give is: our door did not lock from the inside because the doorway did not allow the key to turn and we did not get WIFI in the room - WIFI connection in the common room/terrace (our room was on the first floor and the common areas were on the top floor). We would stay here again if we can get back to Italy one day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your choice and for sending your review,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We'll improve the wi-fi signal
We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Staff Palazzo Guadagni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our stay at the Palazzo Guadigni couldn't have been better. The hotel is located on the quiet Piazza Santo Spirito, a few blocks from the Pitti Palace, across the river from the busier tourist attractions -- a welcome relief. The former palace of the Guadagni family has a wonderful loggia on two sides that with seating indoors our outside, as you prefer -- a wonderful space to rest and enjoy the views. Our room on the top floor had a wonderful view of the Duomo but all of the rooms appear to have their own special charm. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rates very reasonable, considering the spacious quarters, the luxurious public areas and the ideal location. Couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: All appear to be excellent. The views may be better on the top floor, but the rooms appear to be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Palazzo Guadagni. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to serve you in the near future.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved staying at the Palazzo Guadagni! I originally booked a week here for 5 family members because of the large porch and the location. The porch was perfect for eating breakfast and enjoying a few glasses of wine at the end of the day - it was our favorite part of the hotel.
The rooms were spacious, beautiful and quiet, and the breakfast was just what we needed to start the day. The staff was excellent - from recommending restaurants and making reservations, to making sure we had enough coffee in the mornings. The location was perfect. While we enjoyed going to the touristy areas during the day, coming back to our hotel and the Santo Spirito was such a nice change of pace. Thank you for a great place to stay, Palazzo Guadangi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. We really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you had some a good time with us.
The staff will be glad to welcome you again in Florence.
Kind Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We chose this hotel, which is located across the river from the main part of the city, because of the loggia. The hotel is tucked into a larger building and finding the reception desk (up several flights) was a bit of a challenge. However, upon arrival, we found the staff to be extremely nice, warm and helpful, and from what we saw of it, the hotel was comfortable, quiet and clean. Our room was behind the reception desk (Room 6?) and we never learned where the other rooms were. Our room was quite nice - the bedroom was large, high ceiling with a fresco, with a second bedroom area which we did not need. The bathroom had a great view of the Duomo. Breakfast was decent, with good cappuccino and as we had hoped, the loggia was a pleasant place to enjoy the sunset with a glass of wine. We were quite happy with the Hotel Palazzo Guadagni and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferdinando2, Responsabile reception at Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your choice and for sending your review.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best Regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here two nights in October. My traveling companion and I shared a deluxe room with two twin beds, located on the "first" floor.

I call this a "strange hotel" because it's comprised of a lot of separate spaces and the overall atmosphere is somewhat atypical. The upper loggia and breakfast room are first rate, and the breakfast was quite good.

Our room was a large, barrel-vaulted rectangular space with tall, painted ceilings. The room furnishings were adequate. To reach the room, you came in by the front doors and walked up two flights of stairs. I don't think there were any other hotel rooms on this level. Maybe the rest of the rooms are on the upper floors. There was very little noise at night from the Piazza Santa Spirito.

The piazza is actually dispiriting. Italy has become a huge ashtray, and people sit around on the sacred steps of Santa Spiritio drinking spirits, spitting and smoking. Ugh! The whole square is like that, and the old benches built right into the walls of the original Palazzo Guadagni are occupied daily by the dregs of the Mediterranean. Not a very nice welcome home to your hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guadagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guadagni

Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Guadagni 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Guadagni is located in the Oltrarno district, in a characteristic piazza in the historical centre of Florance, a nighbourhood full of antique shops andold artisans' workshop, just a few minutes walk from the Pitti palace and the Boboli Gardens.The rooms are spacious and rich in atmosphere, found in Palazza Guadagni designed by Simone del Pollaiolo in 1505,have ceilings with frescos, fire places and a wonderful views that looks out onto Florence and the most important buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guadagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.