We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational, best ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Accademia

Ristorante Accademia
P.zza San Marco, 7/r, 50121 Florence, Italy
+39 055 217343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,970 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Restaurant Accademia is a family-run restaurant. Food and art are our passions. Our clients are a glorious mix of locals (lots of professors from the Art Academy around the corner) and new friends from around the globe. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable dining experience, whilst having fun, meeting people, and perhaps learning something that we are happy to share regards food and wine. An unforgettable experience.
Currumbin, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sensational, best ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Brilliant food....we have eaten all over Italy and on many occasions and this has to be one of the best restaurants ever!!! Sensationally tasty...recommended by locals. You will never regret this in fact when given several other equally good recommendations, we decided to return there!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
High praise indeed - thank you. It makes us feel good when a meal out becomes a memorable experience. That is just what we try to achieve every time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    265
    78
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moultrie, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Travel memories are stitched together from nights like these...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of dining at Ristorante Academia in December 2012 after a recommendation from an Italian friend of mine who had eaten there previously. We had a limited amount of time as we had reservations for the Uffizi Gallery but was able to savor the Bistecca Alla Fiorentina. Imagine my delight when arriving in Florence last week and on the cab ride to our apartment we passed Piazza San Marco! I immediately knew I wanted to return for a meal!

I was delighted to enter the restaurant and find Kush working that night (he waited on me back in December). I actually think he is clairvoyant. There was never one point in the meal when we waited longer than a millisecond with an empty water glass or no bread. The staff there is really spectacular. I can think of a handful of places that would do well to hire them to teach their own employees what it means to be a really good wait staff.

This night we took part in the "wine and dine menu", where each course is paired with a wine. It's something fun and easy and which I highly recommend. Each course on its own is lovely -- but when eaten with a wine suited perfectly to each dish -- it adds just that extra special kiss and makes each dish phenomenal. I could eat their "Strudel di funghi in salsa di parmigiano" (mushroom strudel in parmesan sauce) every night! The second course was buckwheat pasta al ragu lamb, perfectly al dente, and the sauce, while basic and dead simple, was quite good. Last was the filet of beef. It came with a rich flavorful sauce of juniper berries with Brachetto and glazed shallots. The whole dish had me exclaiming “wow” with nearly every bite. Proof that if you know what you’re doing, you can work wonders with simple, fresh ingredients.

Everything served at Accademia is more than good and interesting; it touches a chord so that you begin to think you must have been Tuscan in a previous life. And every recipe seems to have a story. Whether it was primarily the chef's skill, or the wine, or the meat, I do not know, but the pure, intense flavor made this one of the best meals of its kind I have ever tasted!
Surprisingly, the delicious food was not the best part of the meal. Our table was waited on by Kush on both nights and he could not have been better. Kush knows Italian wine and watching him open a bottle of Rosso di Montalcino was a performance of its own! I have fallen in love with Ristorante Accademia because of its delectable food and wonderful people who work there. I cannot wait to return.

For me, great travel memories are stitched together from nights like these.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Wow. Where on earth to start? How earth to reply? It makes us (the owners, our team, everyone) immensely proud. Not every single experience can be a perfect one, we know that it is just impossible, but experiences like this make it all worthwhile. Thank you and we will make sure that Kush gets to read this (a little secret - the kid from Kosovo who had never even drunk wine three years ago! - we are extra proud of him!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We enjoyed this restaurant a lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had read good reviews on Trip Advisor and we emailed the restaurant to make a reservation as we only had one night in Florence and we were going to be very jet lagged. We also had teen agers who could not wait to eat late and they were very accomodating. Johnny the owner was wonderful and our waiter was very efficient and professional. I had one of the best meals of my trip in Florence and we would highly recommend this restaurant. My brother also really enjoyed his pasta and thought it was one of the highlights of our trip. Prices are very reasonable and it is located very centrally. It was a very nice evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Loved reading this and we have shared it with our team! Glad it worked for you! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“We enjoyed this restaurant the most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

While in Florence, my wife and I had a wonderful and memorable dinner at Ristorante Academmia, located just off the Piazza di San Marco. The efficient and friendly staff handled the crowd at this popular restaurant quite well. The mixed fish pasta was excellent, seasoned well, and with enough bits of fish to satisfy. Our experience was heightened by our entertaining, “cool” young waiter who had an attitude and spoke English like a mix of 60’s America and the slang dialect of New York or Chicago. Middle-aged female guests were literally asking if they could kiss his cheek. Turns out he was from Kosovo, so go figure. Florence is such a mix of international cultures!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
"Florence is such a mix of international cultures!"

We love that phrase. We are! We are really becoming a very cosmopolitan bunch, mix that with our international visitors and Florence is the new New York! (architecture is a bit different though!).

Thanks for taking the time to write this - it was fun to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Wonderful supper here. The staff were so much fun and really helpful too.

Everything was just so tasty and full of Italians enjoying the national holiday. It was a just wonderful evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Owner at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
And that was just a lovely review! We are not always perfect - but when we are it feels so good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Accademia also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Accademia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.