We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, affordable... and delicious...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Accademia

Ristorante Accademia
P.zza San Marco, 7/r, 50121 Florence, Italy
+39 055 217343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Restaurant Accademia is a family-run restaurant. Food and art are our passions. Our clients are a glorious mix of locals (lots of professors from the Art Academy around the corner) and new friends from around the globe. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable dining experience, whilst having fun, meeting people, and perhaps learning something that we are happy to share regards food and wine. An unforgettable experience.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Friendly, affordable... and delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

On a recent Thursday evening I made an early exit from a conference to decompress and have a bit of dinner, and fortunately my hotel recommended Accademia. It is a busy, but friendly and attentive, place on Piazza San Marco, drawing a crowd of both tourists and locals. A largeish bus-tour group occupied a portion of the place when I arrived, but the management had set up some partitions that allowed the group to have a fine boisterous time while the rest of us dined in comfort -- and, the group's presence did not noticeably affect service. The very professional server who handled the section where I sat cheerfully put up with my broken Italian; the menu had a number of classics (grilled meats and seafood presenting a pleasantly difficult range of choices), and the well-pleased diners who shared the space made pleasant company. I had insalata caprese, followed by lombatina di vitello -- both personal favorites -- and also enjoyed a half-carafe of good and very reasonably-priced wine. There are higher-priced wine offerings too, at several levels of refinement; menus are available in English and Italian (and perhaps in other languages, but I like to try doing the Italian version). I didn't try a dessert but others in my area seemed to find that part of the menu very much to their liking. Pretty much all the major credit cards seemed to be accepted, and overall the people at Accademia left the impression of being highly accomplished and committed to serving fine and enjoyable cuisine.

I would recommend stopping by early (opening, on this particular evening, was at 7PM) to book a table, because even in early May the place filled up quickly -- as indeed it should. Next time I'm lucky enough to visit Firenze, I'm heading right back to Rist. Accademia --

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Booking is always a good idea - we really dislike having to turn anyone away. And we are delighted that you enjoyed the company of your fellow diners - that is almost a must in Italy. We very much look forward to your next conference - and visit to Ristorante Accademia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    263
    77
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for dinner in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had an extraordinary dining experience at this lovely, neighborhood place in San Lorenzo. Superb food, service and reasonably priced wine. Everything was just as it should be for a perfect causal Florentine dinner. Also reasonably priced higher end wine- we had a amazing 2005 Barolo for E40. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
A good Barolo is worth its weight in gold! Thank you for stopping by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything on the menu is "a la cart" and pricey. Food is good, but not great. They charge you for utensils!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
"À la carte (pron.: /ælæˈkɑrt/)[1] is a French language loan phrase meaning "according to the menu", "

Yep, we have a menu, with prices, and your order from it!

Ahem - we do not charge anyone for "utensils"! We do have a "cover charge" per person of €2.00. We note that you are from the US. We do not have a service charge, and we expect no tips! When in Rome (or Florence) ...........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We love it, the best you can get for what you pay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I were on vacations, we come from Mexico and we were looking for some traditional home-style Italian restaurant. This restaurant was recommended at the front desk of our Hotel, the Due Fontane. They told us that many locals use to eat there, and that we were going to pay exactly for what we ask for. So we decided to give it a try.
We were so delighted by the flavors that we decided to go there each and every day. The cook was great, the service, the restaurant, I love every single detail. Something I find really incredible is that almost all the staff spoke English or even Spanish.
If you are planning to go to Florence, you don’t have that amount of money to pay for an expensive restaurant, I really recommend you to try this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are delighted that it worked out for you! Our staff are fantastic - within our team we can cover about 12 languages! We know that real Mexican is good cuisine, so we take it as a compliment that you enjoyed our food so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLINGHAM
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just average for us - surprised at the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our hotel sent us here on day one for lunch. We ordered an antipasti plate which was fine but not particularly special. We then waited almost 45 min for our pasta entrees. During this time many other people came in ordered main courses and were served. We are not sure why it took so long to get our meals out to us.

My husband ordered linguini with clams - half of the clams were empty, with no loose clams in the pasta. I ordered a "seafood pasta" and was expecting some identifiable seafood. Instead it seemed to be all chopped up, in red sauce, and not particularly tasty - just OK.

We would not return, just average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteAccademia, Proprietario at Ristorante Accademia, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are devastated. This is not what we are about at all. We note your comments, and thank you for making them. Everyone can have a "bad day" and maybe this was one of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Accademia also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Accademia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.