We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carraia 2

La Carraia 2
Via dei Benci 24r, Florence, Italy
+39 329 363 0069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Creston, Ohio
1 review
“Great value for Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My son and i have been getting gelato twice a day while in Italy. We've done four in Firenze and this is clearly the best value. For ?2 you get a cone with two generous scoops & the quality rivals Venchi for aboit half the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST GELATO IN FLORENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We made the mistake of visiting the same gelato shop by the Ponte Vecchio twice during our stay and then discovered this gem on our last day. This gelato was decidedly more creamy and the pistachio/cheesecake options to die for! Make sure you walk the extra distance to enjoy this gem!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The best & most inventive gelato in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My flavors? Chocolate ganache, and Pecorino & Wine. Heaven! Location right on the river is perfect for strolling & slurping your dessert.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“One of the Best Gelaterias in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

If you’re in Florence for any length of time then you have to try La Carraia 2 in the Santa Croce area. Why? Because they have some of the best gelato in Florence. We’ve been here a month now and have tried 13 gelaterias including Neri, Grom, Perche No, Il Procopio, Vivoli, Riva Reno, Vestri, L'Angolo del Gelato, Festival del Gelato, Carabé, and Gelateria Santa Trinita. While some of these others are good (Neri especially), the gelato at La Carraia 2 offers wonderful flavors and is less expensive.

They have a “Schiacciata alla Fiorentina con Crema di Limone” which is a Florentine cake with lemon cream which is unique and totally amazing. Their Black Cherry and Crem Caramel are creamy, rich, and better than the same flavors served in other gelaterias. And if you like Coconut theirs will knock you over it’s so good. I’ve included a few photos.

Best of all, you can get cups starting at €1,30. We usually get 2 flavors in their €1,50 or €2,00 size. If you get two #2 size cups (€1,50 each at La Carraia 2) at Neri it’s going to cost you €5 and if you get the same at Grom it’s going to be €7. They even have a little seating area outside the store so you can sit, relax, and enjoy the gelato. We’ve been back 3 times already.

If you want to cross the Arno to go to their original location (La Carraia) you’ll get twice an many flavor options (La Carraia 2 has 22 flavors) but you don’t get the amazing “Schiacciata alla Fiorentina con Crema di Limone”.

Hope this review was helpful. Give them a try (or two).

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I lived in Italy for two months and this is the best gelato I had. I went there all the time.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carraia 2 also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Carraia 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Carraia 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.