We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, awesome hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect location, awesome hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel L'Orologio during mid January 2011. The location and proximity to the SMN train station cannot be beat, as well as the proximity to the Duomo and shopping. The breakfast is adequate, and the hotel staff are polite and obliging. The free wifi worked well in the room. If I have the good fortune of visiting Florence again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    192
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
168
472
30
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Absolutely loved this hotel for the price! It is a short walk to the train station (don't take a cab--it's not worth it) & within 10 minutes of premium shopping and a zillion restaurants. The piazza gets a little noisy at night, so I'd request a room facing a quieter street if you are there on a weekend.

The room & bathroom were lovely! Nice linens although the bed is firm (and I like soft mattresses). Really liked the Rolex theme throughout the hotel. Bathroom was quite spacious and came with toiletries with the hotel's signature scent (sandalwood, perhaps?).

Got a room rate around $150/night....which is an INCREDIBLE value for this caliber of hotel. Breakfast buffet was outstanding!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Pros : Great location, walk to main rail station and easy walk to the classic Florence tourist sites. Beautiful decor in the hotel common areas, nicely furnished rooms. Nice breakfast bar but only until 10:30am
Cons : Dust and the heat. The temperature of the rooms is controlled at the front desk. This is just plain weird. The heat blew in our room non-stop. Even when we switched it off, it kept running. we tried 4 rooms hoping to find one with some kind of heat control. They finally put us in a two story suite to keep us quiet.
The suite was so dusty that you could scoop up big "dust bunnies" with your hands, like those tumbleweeds you see in Western movies. It took a call to the hotel owner to get the room cleaned properly. They then cleaned the stairs with furniture polish which made them so slick that my feet slipped out from under me and I fell flat on my back. The light bulbs in the rooms are such low wattage that when the sun goes down it's impossible to see anything. They are take energy control to extremes here. Looking for a fireworks display on New Years, the girl at the front desk said we should go down to the river for the "best view". Only thing is there are no public fireworks displays in Florence on New Years Eve. They do it on June 2nd (Republic Day, like our 4th of July) Lastly, the hotel bar was the only place in Florence I saw people smoking inside a building. Normally every bar and restaurant has crowds of people smoking outside.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We loved this cozy boutique hotel in the center of Florence, although we only spent 2 nights there we loved every minute of it. The staff were really helpfull, breakfast was lovely and the bed was THE BEST we have ever slept in. We even asked for the name of the company to buy the same! They do not have parking in the hotel but they took to a parking slot nearby.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Elegant hotel in a central location. Just 5 minute walk from train station!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at this wonderful hotel during our Thanksgiving trip to Toscana that started in Florence. We could not have picked a better hotel in Florence. The staff is incredible, the hotel exceeded our expectations above and beyond. After having walked all over Florence by foot, we realized that the choice of the hotel (location and quality wise) could not be better. As a side note, we normally stay at the Westins, that are usually very nice hotels, but can be quiet pricey in Europe (400 Euros +).

The hotel also had a wonderful buffet breakfast with great coffee and amazing views of Piazza Santa Maria Novella. Nothing beats that to start your morning in Florence.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

You can believe in all reviews! Great location, hotel in perfect shape, cozy rooms, and great bathrooms.
Overall it was a great experience and very good value for your money.
Nice bar to have drinks before dinner

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.