We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in Disguise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #26 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jewel in Disguise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I searched through endless pages of hotels before I chose Hotel L'Orologio for our stay in Firenze. I am delighted to say that I was not disappointed in the slightest in our stay!

We were in Firenze (Florence) for one day on our way down to Rome, and I wanted to stay in a location that was easy to get to and easy to leave from. The hotel is located in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is approximately a 5 minute walk from the main train station of Santa Maria Novella in Firenze. We walked with our luggage (a little tricky crossing the street, but doable) directly from the train station to the hotel.

If I hadn't looked it up to find pictures of the exterior of the hotel beforehand, I might not have been able to find it easily without asking someone. There is a small plaque on the outside of the entryway but if I didn't know what I was looking for I would have taken it for a private residence or city building. Except for the 3 stairs on the outside of the building that led up and into the lobby everything else in the hotel was modern and easily accessible.

Breakfast in the morning was located on the top floor of the hotel, with a bright and lovely dining room with a view overlooking the piazza. More usual Italian staples of breakfast, such as cheese and ham, salami, bread and croissants, were augmented with "American" breakfast items such as scrambled eggs and sausage and dry cereals.

The room itself was comfortable and modern, with enormous, heavy, puffy curtains which gave the area an elegant and homelike feel. The area was extremely quiet, and we slept very well in that room. The decorations of the hotel, with large and bright couches combined with dark and shiny woods and cream-coloured window treatments made it feel not only comfortable but like we were in a classic environment, welcoming and serene.

It was about a ten minute walk from there to the river, and another 5 to 7 minutes to the Ponte Vecchio - all of the major tourist areas were well within easy distance. But do get directions, because the streets of Firenze can be a little confusing to navigate if you have never been there before. Lorenzo at the front desk was very helpful, suggesting places to eat and things to do and see, and we had a great time during our short stay in Firenze.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    212
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
195
507
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, elegant and clean hotel. The room was spacious, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Best night's sleep on our 3 week tour through Europe. They have a nice fitness center, and sauna, which was great after a day of touring. The breakfast was very nice. The hotel is near the train station, right on the Piazza Santa Maria Novella and an easy 10-minute walk to the Piazza Duomo and the museums. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a great hotel that was extremely close to the Santa Maria Novella train station, and to the Duomo. My husband and I had an amazing four night stay at this clean hotel. My husband even arranged with the front desk for flowers to be delivered to the room for our anniversary, and the front desk was extremely accommodating. Great stay at a 5 star hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at L'Orologio.
We are so glad you loved your stay here giving us the "5th star"!
I will share your review with our Housekeeper and the coincierge staff.
Please do let me know in advance so that we can prepare a warm welcome back for you.
Warm Regards

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice hotel - felt small in a good way. Good car parking service for those who are driving, which was brilliant. Good location. Stylish decor. Would thoroughly recommend. Only possible negative was the sometimes reception was not staffed and the staff member had to come from the office behind, but rarely took very long.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind words following your stay at L'Orologio. It is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a very nice hotel that is perfectly located near the train station, but still in a lovely square of the city. Quick walk to many restaurants and all landmarks of Florence. We splurged for a duplex room since we have two kids - it was nice with a loft and two separate beds for the kids. The room is small, but we found it just fine. Hotel staff was very helpful and nice. The only negative is the shower - we found the configuration of the bath tub/shower to be very strange and it was impossible to take a shower without the shower curtain attacking you and literally clinging to your body. We found ways to keep it down with shampoo bottles, but this caused major flooding in the bathroom every time someone showered. Maybe we were missing something... I don't know, but it was kind of a pain. Breakfast was in a beautiful room and had many good options.

Room Tip: Duplex rooms are great if you need extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

What a gem of a hotel!!! The L'Orologio is a boutique hotel with the most pretty interiors.. Loved every knook and corner of this hotel. It is ideally situated, a short walk from the SMN station and within minutes you can reach anywhere on foot in this gorgeous city. The hotel is in the corner of the pretty Piazza Santa Maria Novella .The rooms and bathrooms are luxurious in every way. The beds were super comfy and the free wifi was a blessing! The breakfast rooftop restaurant had a gorgeous view of the square below... With a wonderful mix of eaties that were served to us each morning.. Loved their cappuccino! We were ready to start each day fresh and happy. Special thanks to the wonderful hospitality: our room AC was not working one night and the hotel staff promptly shifted us to the adjacent room. The service is spectacular and we cannot wait to once again stay at this hotel.. Its perfect in each n every way! Just loved loved loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our rooms, service and the "Cappuccino" so much.
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Kind regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

GREAT Hotel, Great Location.We arrived in florence by train, Walking distance (5 MINS) to Hotel from Train Terminal and thats carrying 2 suit cases and 2 carry on's.The reception was very helpfull and answered all our questions. The rooms were decent size and bathroom was decent size considering we stayed in a standard room.wifi worked great. Didnt have any problems loading up videos online or social networks.Breakfast was also nice.You are walking distance from everything even mini market's. Highly recommend Hotel Orologio.would stay here again on next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad to read your splendid review.
Be assured that I will pass on your compliments to our team.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed being with us and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the next future.
Kind regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#34 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#15 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.