We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location, Front Desk, Accomadations and Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best Location, Front Desk, Accomadations and Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in several throughout Italy and this was by far the jewel. It's a 2 minute walk from the train station, so if you are arriving by train, you're almost there. The front desk is wonderfully helpful and friendly, they got us private tours and even had a restaurant stay open late for us when we arrive very late from a tour - not only making us the reservation but walking us there so we wouldn't get lost. The location is a simple walk to anywhere you want to be in Florence. Did I forget to mention that the rooms are spacious, very modern and lux or that the breakfast is very good with a wonderful view. Shame on me for not mentioning it sooner. This is the only place in Florence I will stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    163
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
146
430
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's in a very convenient location. The bed and room were large and spacious; the bathroom had a beautiful luxurious bathtub. Attentive service and welcomed with a lovely gift on our arrival. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good location on square, 5 min walk from train station. not super friendly welcome by front desk. Room nicely decorated but small. Small but nice bathroom - not enough counter space. No robes, no evening turndown, no conditioner. Good breakfast, but coffee not as good as our other hotels in Italy. Expected more for 500E/night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, which is always welcome We are glad you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the breakfast and take this opportunity to remember our guests that our coffee is selected from the best quality 100% Arabic.
Anyway we would like to ask you more details about your stay to investigate and found what happened in order to make improvements for guests comfort and satisfaction expecailly when we know our staff at the desk is well known to be very emphatic and focused on details. We do always provide a turndown service unless our guests leave the "do not disturb" sign outisde the door or the eletronic one (a red light outside the door).
We very much hope to see you again in Florence and in the meantime, would like to thank you again for sharing your comments with us.
Yours sincerely,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located...it is within walking distance to Florence's great sights and shopping.The hotel is very clean and beautifully appointed.When making a reservation asked for the sunny side of the hotel, as the backside has a lot of shade from the next door building. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind words about L'Orologio. We are very glad you enjoyed our great location and services and we will share your comments with all the staff. About rooms, for a great view, we suggest to reserve our Deluxe, Duplex room with their breathtaking views over either Santa Maria Novella square and church, the Duomo or the historical centre.
Looking forward to welcoming back to L'Orologio,
Kind regards

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a very good Hotel, the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The breakfast is spot on with good variation. Hotel location is as good as it gets, two minutes from Duomo and the same from the bus and train stations. Hard to fault, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at L'Orologio. My team and I are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to thank also the breakfast staff for their great service. Please do visit us again in the future, we very much hope to welcome you back. With best regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is a magnificent luxury hotel close to the train station, as well as a few walking blocks (5-10 min) from the center of Florence (Duomo) and the Arno River. The room is fit for royalty--expensive dark hardwood and marble throughout, with a lovely arched window and spacious bathroom. The breakfast and hotel staff are first class, but the best feature of the hotel is that it is in charming, beautiful Florence (Firenze). There are nice restaurants and gelaterie close to the hotel. Wow!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are proud to read your review, We graciously thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed being with us and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the next future.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed only one night at this hotel and wished our schedule had allowed for more. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were very nice--excellent linens and a very nice bathroom. We couldn't have asked for a better location --just steps from the square. The breakfast was excellent with a very good mix of hot and cold items--including eggs which you will not always find at breakfasts in Italy. The staff in the breakfast room were extremely attentive and the staff at the front desk were very helpful. When we find ourselves in Florence again, we will definitely plan a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read such a great review from one of our valued guests. It is such a joy to read how our team delighted from the breakfast staff to receptionists, housekeepers. I will share your special review with the entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to L'Orologio.
Best wishes

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.