We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 458 Hotels in Florence
1 review
“Like a 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's in a very convenient location. The bed and room were large and spacious; the bathroom had a beautiful luxurious bathtub. Attentive service and welcomed with a lovely gift on our arrival. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    172
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
157
446
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good location on square, 5 min walk from train station. not super friendly welcome by front desk. Room nicely decorated but small. Small but nice bathroom - not enough counter space. No robes, no evening turndown, no conditioner. Good breakfast, but coffee not as good as our other hotels in Italy. Expected more for 500E/night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, which is always welcome We are glad you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and the breakfast and take this opportunity to remember our guests that our coffee is selected from the best quality 100% Arabic.
Anyway we would like to ask you more details about your stay to investigate and found what happened in order to make improvements for guests comfort and satisfaction expecailly when we know our staff at the desk is well known to be very emphatic and focused on details. We do always provide a turndown service unless our guests leave the "do not disturb" sign outisde the door or the eletronic one (a red light outside the door).
We very much hope to see you again in Florence and in the meantime, would like to thank you again for sharing your comments with us.
Yours sincerely,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located...it is within walking distance to Florence's great sights and shopping.The hotel is very clean and beautifully appointed.When making a reservation asked for the sunny side of the hotel, as the backside has a lot of shade from the next door building. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind words about L'Orologio. We are very glad you enjoyed our great location and services and we will share your comments with all the staff. About rooms, for a great view, we suggest to reserve our Deluxe, Duplex room with their breathtaking views over either Santa Maria Novella square and church, the Duomo or the historical centre.
Looking forward to welcoming back to L'Orologio,
Kind regards

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a very good Hotel, the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The breakfast is spot on with good variation. Hotel location is as good as it gets, two minutes from Duomo and the same from the bus and train stations. Hard to fault, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at L'Orologio. My team and I are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to thank also the breakfast staff for their great service. Please do visit us again in the future, we very much hope to welcome you back. With best regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is a magnificent luxury hotel close to the train station, as well as a few walking blocks (5-10 min) from the center of Florence (Duomo) and the Arno River. The room is fit for royalty--expensive dark hardwood and marble throughout, with a lovely arched window and spacious bathroom. The breakfast and hotel staff are first class, but the best feature of the hotel is that it is in charming, beautiful Florence (Firenze). There are nice restaurants and gelaterie close to the hotel. Wow!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are proud to read your review, We graciously thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed being with us and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in the next future.
Warm regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed only one night at this hotel and wished our schedule had allowed for more. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were very nice--excellent linens and a very nice bathroom. We couldn't have asked for a better location --just steps from the square. The breakfast was excellent with a very good mix of hot and cold items--including eggs which you will not always find at breakfasts in Italy. The staff in the breakfast room were extremely attentive and the staff at the front desk were very helpful. When we find ourselves in Florence again, we will definitely plan a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read such a great review from one of our valued guests. It is such a joy to read how our team delighted from the breakfast staff to receptionists, housekeepers. I will share your special review with the entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to L'Orologio.
Best wishes

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I spent 4 nights here with my other half in October 2013 and would definitely recommend Hotel L'orologio to anyone planning a weekend in Florence. The hotel itself is in a prime spot within minutes of the city's most famous sites and easy access to shops and restaurants. The decor is stunning, the rooms are spotless and our room boasted the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in. The only possible downside is that the rooms are quite dark, which is further accentuated by the dark wooden floors and furniture. Our room overlooked a private enclosed courtyard so there wasn't a lot of natural sunlight either - but we spent most of the day out and about anyway.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast room is just lovely; with plenty of choice for food. I would also recommend drinks at the hotel bar where you can sit outside on the typically narrow cobbled street and "people watch" - our drinks came with complementary nibbles, which was a nice bonus!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orologiofirenze, Resident Manager at Hotel L'Orologio, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at L'Orologio Florence!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the service, the location and our breakfast served in the panoramic hall. We are also glad you enjoed our lounge "Bar de L'O" where our Barman Lorenzo always has something special for our guests. Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at L'Orologio
Kindest regards,

Pierluigi Sassano
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.