We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 461 Hotels in Florence
long island
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasently surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There seem to be as many hotels in Florence as their are places to buy gelato. With so many choices, it can become a bit overwhelming. In choosing a hotel, we used the following criteria. Location, air conditioning, free wifi and breakfast. Hotel L'Orologio is in a great location, you can walk almost everywhere from here. In addition, it is a short walk to the train station, yet you don't get the feeling the train is nearby. The air conditioning worked perfectly. The breakfast, which is located on the top floor and has a nice view of the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, was a typical European breakfast. Lets face it, if you've come to Italy for a big American breakfast, you are wasting your time. So many delicious things to eat, why waste calories on breakfast? The wifi was a bit temperamental, but overall worked fine. The rooms are modern and very clean. The marble bathrooms are quite large and well appointed and have showers. The king size bed was fine and the linens are very nice quality. If I had one suggestion it would be to invest in some new pillows. Ours were hard as a rock.
The staff are very nice and willing to help in any way they can.
On that note, we left more then a few items of clothing in our room after checking out. We didn't realize until a week later. I emailed the hotel on the chance that maybe they found the clothing but was not counting on ever seeing the stuff again. The hotel responded within an hour (this was on a friday) and all my clothes were at my door on Monday afternoon!
Another reviewer mentioned that the rooms can be dark which I agree, but you dont go to Florence to stay in your room. Get out and see all there is to see! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    168
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
152
443
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here and loved it. By far the nicest most modern hotel we stayed in during our 9 night trip around Italy. The breakfast room had a great view if Florence. The rooms were clean and very comfortable although a bit dark. The checkin staff were helpful and doubled as concuerge. The only complaint we have is the bartender who obviously had no idea how to make a margarita (even though it was on the menu and not cheap!) When my wife asked him to make it sweeter he acted like it was perfect the way it was, even though she could barely choke it down. Other than this it was a perfect hotel within easy walking distance from the Santa Maria Novella station. Hope to stay here again someday!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A great find! In a crowded city the hotel is located on a quiet piazza close to the train. We stayed 3 nights and found the room spotless and comfortable. Two levels in our room the first night were strange as the bathroom and bedroom were many stairs apart. The hotel happily switched us for night 2 and 3. The owner is a watch collector (as name of hotel suggests) and the vintage watch theme is carried out with taste and whimsy throughout the hotel, including the dishes! Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Easy walking to all sites in Florence, very good breakfast, cafes across the street, friendly staff! If in your price range, look no more - book the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "square" and suggest avoiding the one room with bathroom and TV on f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently and will definitely return to this hotel again. We stayed in a triple room and the size of the room was good by European standards with high ceilings. The best part was the bathroom. Modern, clean, marble, rainshower, spacious. The breakfast on the top level provided a lovely view of Piazza Santa Maria Novella. It was plentiful with cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese, meats, fruit and drinks etc - certainly enough to fill you up for a day of sightseeing. The only negative is that the room was very dark. All in all, this was an excellent stay and we will certainly return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The L'orologico is really a wonderful property. The location is superb, especially if you arrive by train as we did; it's just about 2 blocks from the SMN station and directly on the SMN Basilica piazza. It's in a heritage building that has been gutted and completely updated with all the modern conveniences. Breakfast is served in a marvelous fourth-floor room overlooking the piazza. The staff is friendly and super helpful. What I really loved about this place was our room. As far as I could determine, it is one of only two with a terrace and ours had a breathtaking view of the Duomo! The architecture of the room is unusual: bedroom up a long flight of stairs from the entry which contains a small sitting room with the only TV and an adjoining bathroom with a wonderful skylight. Thus, this space might not be to everyone's liking, but having my coffee at sunrise on that terrace or lying on the bed gazing at the Cathedral are memories I'll never forget!

Room Tip: Room 403 is where we stayed and I loved it! The regular rooms on the 4th floor looked lovely as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here three nights during our honeymoon. They upgraded us to a beautiful room because it was our honeymoon. The room was two levels, and the largest hotel room I've ever seen in Europe. This is a beautiful hotel, the Lonely Planet guidebook describes this hotel as James Bond style, which is very accurate. The location is also great. You can walk to all the attractions. The breakfast has everything you could want. The staff is very friendly and made reservations for us for dinner each night. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights this week and couldn't have been happier with our accommodation. Wonderful suite, huge bathroom, comfy bed and ideal location from which to explore beautiful Florence. The last time we visited Florence was on our honeymoon 33 years ago - it didn't disappoint then and didn't this time...wow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.