We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So magical!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Florence
Laval, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So magical!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days in Florence at this absolutely fantastic boutique hotel. The staff was so helpful and friendly. It's very well situated, walking distance to all the important places to be seen in Florence. Their breakfast was very good and we really enjoyed their bar area. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    153
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
138
405
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Get off the train in Florence and in 5 minutes you are at the hotel located on the Santa Maria Novella Square. This was a huge plus for us and our overstuffed suitcases. The location was perfect for us - near the Central Market, shopping, museums, etc. We walked everywhere. The room and bathroom were gorgeous and large, especially by European standards. There was snafu about getting 2 twins beds, which our travel agent blamed on the hotel and vice versa, and we didn't have a view, and it was sometimes very noisy right out our window, but the location and size of the room made up for those mishaps. The hotel staff, while very helpful, sometimes needed more than one person behind the desk. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was for the business center - it was just a computer on a desk and I couldn't access my Comcast email account and another guest couldn't get into their gmail account. My friend's AOL worked just fine, but that was upsetting to me. The gym was small, but gorgeous - as with everything else at this hotel, it looked brand new. They could have used a water cooler in there, though. Breakfast, with a magnificent view of the city, was delicious, although they needed to replenish more often. Everything has the hotel monogram on it - very elegant.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you unpack - we didn't. They offered to change our room when we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Without any doubt, my wife and I hit gold when we decided upon Hotel L'Orologio for our 5 night stay in Florence just earlier this month (5/7 - 5/11). From the moment from check-in to check-out, nothing in this hotel is short of spectacular. Room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel space; breakfast offering is nothing like we have seen anywhere. The staff is cordial, professional, respectful and always friendly and willing to lend a helping hand. Our room (305) was roomy, clean and the bath area was very large. The location of the hotel is just off of Piazza Santa Maria Novella which is walking distance to everything including the Termini and all the best neighborhood attractions in Florence.

If you stay here, you will not be disappointed in any way. Will return at any time; but just book in advance to be sure of a reservation.

FIVE STARS IS WELL DERSERVED

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A perfect to stay when in Florence. The location is perfect. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station. ( we waited 25 minutes in a taxi queue for a 3 minute ride) the hotel is a total refurb with very large modern room. Excellent bathroom !!! Very helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here in February and saw weather from all four seasons in four days from strong sun to snow. The hotel is really well located (although not very well signposted) and within easy walking distance of the main sights. Breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room had great views on to the Piazza Santa Maria Novella below. The whole hotel is really well appointed blending modern comfort and older style. The staff were very helpful when we wanted to organise a trip to Siena and San Gimigniano. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We walked past the hotel the first time but because we've previously seen some photos, we were able to find it fairly quickly (note: the hotel signage at street level is rather small). Located close to the train station and across from the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, it is in a convenient location and an easy walk to tourist attractions and shopping!! If you are after some alternatives to Italian fare, there is a great japanese ramen shop (Banki/Banchi Ramen) nearby. Our hotel room didn't have much of a view and it was a bit cumbersome to get to with a short flight of stairs up and down leading to the room, particularly if you have baggage. That's why it doesn't get the 5 stars in our rating. But would we stay here again? FOR SURE.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our trip to Florence was the gateway for our family trip to Italy. My husband and I adore Italy and we wanted our children to feel the same. We hope to make this regular pilgrimage for the entire family going forward.

After 20 hours of travel, their introduction had to be perfect and the Hotel L'Orologio was the ideal destination. It is situated in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, facing an open air market and adjacent to one of the most significant churches and fresco collections in Florence. We checked into the hotel with ease and walked into some of the loveliest rooms I have ever had the pleasure to collapse in. They were large and luxurious, and the bathrooms were even better.

Breakfast the next morning was an absolute vision. My family had a hard time getting me out of the gorgeous rooftop loggia and away from the huge and varied breakfast. The view alone makes the reservation here a must.

The hotel staff had been extremely helpful in assisting us in making a variety of reservations without charge and with great knowledge and enthusiasm before we arrived. The best was the Teatro del Sale, a must-see experience. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Florence after this. The value for the setting, staff, and location is unbeatable. I am soooo looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Every room is great. I would stay off the Piazza in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.