We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Canberra
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed just the two nights, Great location & handy to the train station which was great for us Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Nice amenities & rooms a good size. Very clean. Good quality 4 * hotel had a small gym, but it is a 4* property. Hotel theme of clocks/watches was interesting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    168
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
152
443
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a very nice welcome and our room was more than satisfactory. It is a very good place to be, very central for most of Florence's attractions. The lounge and bar areas are splendid, with a nice water feature in the bar. The staff are charming and helpful. The buffet breakfast has a good choice and the breakfast room has a nice view over Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The name of the hotel means, "The clock" and the is a clock and watch theme running throughout the hotel. There is no evening restaurant in the hotel but there are many good restaurants and cafes nearby. Definitely recommended.

We chose this hotel because it was very near the central railway stain at Santa Maria Novella. However, the high speed train from Verona took us to different station in Florence and we had to get a taxi. Be aware of this potential problem and make sure you get off. The high speed train doesn't stop at Santa Maria Novella and the next stop is Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We found this hotel on-line and had never been to Italy. It was a little scary picking a hotel just be reading reviews. We were absolutely thrilled with this hotel. Our room was well-appointed; the bed was most comfortable. And the bathroom was beautiful- marble counters and a large soaking tub as well as shower. The front desk staff was stellar; always available for help. They all spoke English. It was on a quiet corner; we were never disturbed by street noise except for those few times when an ambulance or police siren was heard. The breakfast was stellar every morning; more than we expected. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk to the Duomo or to the train station. It was about a 10 minute walk to the car rental area. We were here for 4 nights and would stay again without hesitancy.

Room Tip: There are working elevators- every room is easily accessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just a short walk to everything, and really close to the train station. Had a wonderful room, which was lovely, and had great views of the plaza. Celebrated my 60th. birthday, and was treated like family by the hotel staff. The breakfast was great with a magnificant view of Santa Maria Novella.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for four nights on holiday. Our first visit to Florence and we found this hotel by relying on Tripadvisor reviews and we got more than we expected. Although the lack of external signposting did have us worried momentarily when we first walked up to look for the place, once we found it we were very pleased to see the superb facilities. Our room was very large, had extra seating space and enough space for our suitcases. The room was luxuriously appointed and the bathroom was huge with a shower over the lovely bathtub. The bed was very big and firm which mad for a good nights sleep every night and although we had no views, the room was very quiet and relaxing. Like most of the Italian accommodation we have recently lived in - the room was a bit dark. Mood lighting perhaps?
The Hotel is themed on watches so don't be surprised to find watches or their image everywhere...even in the bathroom.
The Hotel itself provides great service. Our room had breakfast included which was served in the 4th floor breakfast room - with its lovely view over the Piazza.
The downstairs bar has amazing ambience and is also worth a visit.

This is certainly a fine establishment that is brilliantly located (close to the train station and on a piazza with many restaurants). It is also close to everything in Florence. Definitely a place to choose for your next visit to Florence. Pure luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only 1 night and it was an excellent stay all around. From the friendly and helpful front desk staff, great location, close the the train station, duormo, restaurants, shops, nice room and wonderful breakfast. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location: perfect, near station and town center.
Hotel and staff : perfect.
Rooms: clean, comfortable bed,spacious and large bathroom.
Breakfast: very good
Everything is walking distance from this hotel, Duomo, museums etc....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.