We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Italian touch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Florence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First Italian touch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent a couple weeks in Italy moving to the main cities, but for first we decided to stay in the city of art, Firenze where we enjoyed completely the time because the cultural atmosphere among friendly people who help any tourist moving through the city giving very important notices about where to spend our time. For the hotel we loved this one, we chosen looking on the other users recommendations, and we definitively had a very nice vacation. Funny funny funny people!! What a nice language they use!! Very surprising. Good experience for the first time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    150
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
131
393
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business. I would have given it five stars however they had an awful bartender who was very rude. He spent more time talking to his friend than serving us. Then a woman fell walking through the bar area and he laughed at her.
Other than that everything was wonderful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked a Junior Suite which provided us with a very large, well-appointed bedroom and the largest hotel bathroom I've ever seen. Fantastic shower. The famous Duemo is just a ten minute walk away and the other sights are equally accessible by foot. Extremely clean and modern throughout, with the exception of the cranky TV in the otherwise magnificent suite.. The breakfast choice was somewhat limited but the quality of food was excellent. The bed and pillows were luxurious but our sleep was impaired by the airlessness of the room - with the air conditioning unresponsive to all our attempts to rectify this. Due to the formality of the staff on the desk, we elected not to seek their advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We got a family suite that overlooked the plaza and the Santa Maria Novella. Rooms are spacious clean, and room is turned down every night. The breakfast is one of the best with a great select of food choices with also beautiful views of the square. This hotel is a great location in Florence and walking distance to the train station as well. We really liked the heated floor in the bathrooms!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay here for two nights in May, 2012. This was definitely the pick of the hotels of our European trip (which included Rome, Paris, London and Amsterdam). The room was spacious and comfortable, with a fantastic bathroom. We had a double superior room.

The hotel is very centrally located and the staff very helpful. They made some very good dinner suggestions; one of which - Osteria Il Mostrino - served the best gnochhi I've ever had (and it singularly wants me to return to Florence).

The breakfast was probably the best of any hotel in our trip, situated in a lovely room with a view, and plenty of hot and cold choices.

My only complaint would be the wi-fi was a bit flaky, but my partner would be very unhappy if I gave the hotel less than 5 stars!

Definitely glad we spent the extra money to stay here and would come back to this hotel if we ever do get to return to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Large, well appointed room. Great location and wonderful staff. The common rooms were spacious and interesting. Loved the bar. Staff was very helpful and the hotel was in wonderful shape. Breakfast room was beautiful and overlooked a square. Food plentiful and delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked a four day mini-break in Florence and stumbled across this hotel via TripAdvisor. We did not regret our gut instinct to book it. The hotel is beautiful, immaculately clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is in a lovely room on the fourth floor with views over the city. The clock theme is fascinating and impressive, the clocks are everywhere and worth taking the time to explore properly. We are already recommending this hotel to a friend who is travelling in the spring, and we are looking forward to our next trip when we will definitely stay here. One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Quaint, Charmin...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#26 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#21 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
The Style Florence
The Style Florence
#29 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 461 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.