We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #26 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Large, well appointed room. Great location and wonderful staff. The common rooms were spacious and interesting. Loved the bar. Staff was very helpful and the hotel was in wonderful shape. Breakfast room was beautiful and overlooked a square. Food plentiful and delicious. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    212
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
195
507
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked a four day mini-break in Florence and stumbled across this hotel via TripAdvisor. We did not regret our gut instinct to book it. The hotel is beautiful, immaculately clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is in a lovely room on the fourth floor with views over the city. The clock theme is fascinating and impressive, the clocks are everywhere and worth taking the time to explore properly. We are already recommending this hotel to a friend who is travelling in the spring, and we are looking forward to our next trip when we will definitely stay here. One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my 2nd time in Florence and I couldn't have dreamt of a better accomodation than Hotel L'Orologio. It is 5 min walk from the central railway station and 5 min walk from the Duomo and 3 min walk from via Tornabuoini - just to meet every taste and expectations. The interiors are very cosy and at the same time chic, the room was spacious and beds were comfortable. The breakfast is served on the 4th floor on a very light terrace with a view of Santa Maria Novella church and square. It is a wonderful place to start your day with :-) Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel L'Orologio! It was within walking distance of the train station which was extremely convenient, but in a quieter area than near the Duomo, etc. We were shocked when we unlocked our Double Superior Room and found what appeared to be a split level apartment (especially in Europe)! You walk into the seating/TV area, with a private bath to the left and on the other side of the couch was stairs that led to the Bedroom. We almost missed a private terrace just outside of our bedroom, but I discovered it when I happened to open up one of the drawn curtains in the bedroom. WOW. Rooftop view of Florence. The room was very quiet with no street noise and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel does not disappoint! The front desk was very helpful with maps and recommendations, and they spoke perfect english (even though we tried speaking Italian with them). We would absolutely stay here again if visiting Florence.

Room Tip: The Double Superior Room was very quiet and quite large, with stairs that led to the bedroom, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for shops,restaurants the sights and the station.
The rooms are very spacious....stick to the upper floors though.
Breakfast is great and the view from the dining room is truly florentine.
Very little traffic noise too.
Why don't these hotels at least try and employ friendly staff.
Reception slow and disinterested and breakfast staff truly appalling I am afraid in a quiet season.
Really really let's a great hotel down and would seriously review it guys.
Nel Italian quest e motto importance nel un recessione.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuluota, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After spending a week in Rome, we decided to travel to Florence and enjoy the art there. We stayed at the Hotel L'Orologio for 3 days and 2 nights. The hotel was beyond our expectations. Not only was it within walking distance from the train terminal (we traveled by train) but was situated in a lovely plaza, quiet and close to everything in Florence.

The hotel was luxurious without the cost. The room was large and well appointed. The room was kept clean and we even had turn down service which is unusual. The decor is, as the name says, clocks and the theme was seen everywhere but tastefully done. The hotel is built around a courtyard so all rooms overlook the city.

The staff was fantastic, going out of their way to accommodate our requests. There is a bar off the lobby and the drinks and food server are excellent. Breakfast was served on the 4th floor and was very good with a lot of choices.

All in all this is a high quality hotel that we would gladly stay in for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've used that headline because when we're next planning a visit to Florence, Hotel l'Orologio will be top of the list. Having visited the city twice before and had less than satisfactory results in our choice of hotels, it was with a degree of temerity that I booked this one. Well, what a delight!
We arrived from Venice on the Freccia Argento express train (what a treat and only €45 each for the 2 hour journey travelling at speeds up to 270kph). The plan was to surprise my sister whose 60th birthday it was and whose husband had booked a surprise trip to Florence for her with dinner out on the day. Well, an added surprise was my wife and I waiting in the restaurant. So it was important we booked somewhere near the station so there was no chance we might bump into them accidentally.
It was raining when we arrived but the short walk was no problem. The entrance lobby was an indication of the style of this hotel and the receptionist an indication of their attitude towards guests; she was so charming and helpful.
I had specified a quiet room and so it proved to be. It was on the third floor. Room numbering is a little confusing in that, above each door is a four figure number accompanied by a name, e.g. The Sultan of Oman. It was only having wandered about a bit that we noticed the room numbers were on the small brass plates, at waist level, into which you have to insert your key card.
The room was excellent. Unusually for many Italian hotels, there was even a tea making tray. There was ample wardrobe space, a safe, flexible bedside reading lights, slippers, etc. The bathroom was fabulous, in spite of one of those magnifying mirrors over the basin. In a modern style by a large border-lit mirror, neither my wife nor I noticed it until my wife accidentally caught sight of herself and let out small cry of despair!
We could not have wished for anything better, it being the cheapest option at €120 for the night (incl. breakfast)
We returned to the hotel after dinner with my sister and son-in-lay for a nightcap in the stylish bar. However, we retired to an English gentlemen's club like area, all wood panelling and an open (gas wood-effect) fire and comfortable leather sofas. A fitting end to a lovely day.
The bed was reassuringly firm and oh so comfortable.
Then there was breakfast. My wife was ecstatic, well as ecstatic as one could be over breakfast. It was one of the best, if not the best, breakfast we have enjoyed anywhere. Located at the top of the hotel overlooking the large square below and much of Florence, the breakfast room featured the original room beams and huge panoramic windows punctuated by original stone columns. Breakfast itself was superb, the highlight of which was the delicate crispy bacon. I could go on but ....
A final word; my wife kept commenting on how clean everywhere and everything was. I tend not to notice as I don't wear my glasses all the time but it's praise indeed, coming from madame!
We left our case at the hotel before walking over to an art exhibition at the Strozzi. It was then back to the station for a return trip to Venice and this time, it was first class...it was part of the return ticket and still only €45!
Florence is beautiful and the best time for a visit is in the winter. In summer, it's rammed with tourists; hot, noisy and crowded. We shall return and Hotel l'Orologio will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#34 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#15 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.