We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 459 hotels in Florence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've used that headline because when we're next planning a visit to Florence, Hotel l'Orologio will be top of the list. Having visited the city twice before and had less than satisfactory results in our choice of hotels, it was with a degree of temerity that I booked this one. Well, what a delight!
We arrived from Venice on the Freccia Argento express train (what a treat and only €45 each for the 2 hour journey travelling at speeds up to 270kph). The plan was to surprise my sister whose 60th birthday it was and whose husband had booked a surprise trip to Florence for her with dinner out on the day. Well, an added surprise was my wife and I waiting in the restaurant. So it was important we booked somewhere near the station so there was no chance we might bump into them accidentally.
It was raining when we arrived but the short walk was no problem. The entrance lobby was an indication of the style of this hotel and the receptionist an indication of their attitude towards guests; she was so charming and helpful.
I had specified a quiet room and so it proved to be. It was on the third floor. Room numbering is a little confusing in that, above each door is a four figure number accompanied by a name, e.g. The Sultan of Oman. It was only having wandered about a bit that we noticed the room numbers were on the small brass plates, at waist level, into which you have to insert your key card.
The room was excellent. Unusually for many Italian hotels, there was even a tea making tray. There was ample wardrobe space, a safe, flexible bedside reading lights, slippers, etc. The bathroom was fabulous, in spite of one of those magnifying mirrors over the basin. In a modern style by a large border-lit mirror, neither my wife nor I noticed it until my wife accidentally caught sight of herself and let out small cry of despair!
We could not have wished for anything better, it being the cheapest option at €120 for the night (incl. breakfast)
We returned to the hotel after dinner with my sister and son-in-lay for a nightcap in the stylish bar. However, we retired to an English gentlemen's club like area, all wood panelling and an open (gas wood-effect) fire and comfortable leather sofas. A fitting end to a lovely day.
The bed was reassuringly firm and oh so comfortable.
Then there was breakfast. My wife was ecstatic, well as ecstatic as one could be over breakfast. It was one of the best, if not the best, breakfast we have enjoyed anywhere. Located at the top of the hotel overlooking the large square below and much of Florence, the breakfast room featured the original room beams and huge panoramic windows punctuated by original stone columns. Breakfast itself was superb, the highlight of which was the delicate crispy bacon. I could go on but ....
A final word; my wife kept commenting on how clean everywhere and everything was. I tend not to notice as I don't wear my glasses all the time but it's praise indeed, coming from madame!
We left our case at the hotel before walking over to an art exhibition at the Strozzi. It was then back to the station for a return trip to Venice and this time, it was first class...it was part of the return ticket and still only €45!
Florence is beautiful and the best time for a visit is in the winter. In summer, it's rammed with tourists; hot, noisy and crowded. We shall return and Hotel l'Orologio will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    475
    137
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
120
356
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It was my second time in Florence and this time it was with my family of 10. Never heard of this hotel before but oh my..Fantastic hotel, 2 minute walk to the Santa Maria Novella train station. The hotel is across from the Santa Maria Novella church, right at the corner of the piazza. The signboard is a bit small and you might miss it first time (which was what happened to us!). Room was spotlessly clean and you feel like you are in a posh New York apartment bedroom. Staff spoke brilliant English and service was exceptional. Breakfast was good and the view from the restaurant was fantastic. It's designed as a boutique hotel, we spent a lot of time at the fireplace next to the lobby reading our Kindles! Wifi was fast and free (unlike most hotels). Everything felt so personal and done to a very high standard, will definitely be staying again. I think it has set a benchmark for all my future hotel stays. Exceptional. Well done Hotel L'Orologio!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Elegant ambiance, very close to the train station. Staff were very friendly and personable, personally assisted us for a couple of things we needed as a family of 10 travelling through Italy for the first time. WiFI was free as well, which is a great bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Due to last minute change of plans, we booked Hotel L'Orologio for 2 nights just a few days before arriving, based on TripAdvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed at all.

The hotel is elegant and we thought the price was very reasonable for the quality of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean as well as very quiet and the bed was the most comfortable bed and pillows in Italy. There was coffee service in the room and free WIFI that worked well. The bathroom was huge with a large shower. Bath products were high end.

The hotel has a clock theme which was carried out in an elegant fashion without being too cutesy or overdone. We stayed in room 305.

Breakfast was good and the dining room was clean, bright and cheerful.

The location is perfect, within a 5 minute walk from the train station. It was within walking distance of all of the major sites. We highly recommend Hotel L'Orologio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay here. Our room was a huge suite, with a walk in closet area, a living room, and a bedroom and bathroom. The common areas of the hotel are very nicely appointed and the bar is fun for a pre or post dinner drink. The breakfast at the hotel was wonderful, in a gorgeous room on the top floor of the property. I was only disappointed with the desk staff: when we asked for them to make us reservations for lunch or dinner, they wouldn't confirm whether or not it had been done. So twice we showed up to a restaurant that was closed, when we thought the hotel reserved us a table. Other times we would ask one person for help and then check back in, a different staff member wouldn't know the status of the request. In any event-- book your restaurant reservations online when possible, and save yourself the headache!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The rooms were lovely - lots of space and well appointed. Breakfast was included and very good - continental style with lots of choice. Easy to walk from the train station but it doesn't have very clear signage so not obvious when you get into the piazza. Try the raspberry Bellini in the bar. Best I've ever had. We'd go back to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July while we were in town for a friends wedding. I booked this hotel based on the reviews on here and was not disappointed. The hotel is located a quick five minute walk from the central train station, as well as the duomo. We walked everywhere with no troubles at all. The breakfast was delicious each morning with lots to choose from and the hotel is very clean and nicely decorated. I also have to mention that even though the hotel is very close to the train station, it felt very safe and we walked around all times of the day and night with no problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 459 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.