We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"comfortable modern hotel with great service”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"comfortable modern hotel with great service””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms are spacious, Gabriele v.helpful at the front desk. The hotel L'Orologio is very nicely located. minutes walk from the main attractions we wanted. Rooms beautifully decorated and the staff really nice and helpful. we were delighted with our room and the public rooms of the hotel. The rooms were spacious, extremely clean and well appointed. Breakfast was Delightful. We stayed at this hotel for a week on our honeymoon.

Room Tip: "Higher floors Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    157
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
140
417
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The rooms are spacious and modern. Samuele and Silvia were very helpful at the front desk (Silvia even managed to get the techician to move the router so my husband could get decent wifi in our room), but if you ask Gabriele for a restaurant recommendation and he suggests Buca Mario, don't fall for it - that place is a total tourist trap!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nord America.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel L'Orologio is very nicely located. In five minutes walk we reached the main attractions we wanted to visit. Breakfast was good and rich. Rooms beautifully decorated and the staff really nice and helpful. What I did not like was the small gym and that the free wi-fi was sometimes problematic in my room. Probably they could take care of that which is important for a traveller nowadays.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanahan, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hotel L'Orologio was, by far, the best hotel we stayed in during our 12 day trip through Italy. The rooms were spacious, extremely clean and well appointed. The front desk staff was extremely accommodating, checking us in early and even calling the train station and a travel agent to try to fix our problematic train tickets-- Stefania, in particular, was a great help! The thoughtful touches (slippers set out each evening), upscale atmosphere, and warmly welcoming staff made our stay absolutely lovely. Breakfast each morning included plentiful choices of meats, pastries, cheeses, and much more. We loved our cappuccinos each morning! When we return to Florence, we will definitely stay at the L'Orologio and I can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On a trip with friends and had just spent a week in a villa in Tuscany. Our last 3 nights were in Florence at this charming hotel. Great location, accomodating staff, upscale rooms and lovely bath, great little bar with reflecting pool and waterfall effect...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In short: Fabulous location, great reception, delicious smell, comfortable rooms, lovely decor, tasty breakfast, why would you want to stay anywhere else? We arrived at the hotel after midnight (issues with Navman in central Florence not recognising one way streets!!) and had a warm and efficient welcome to the hotel. The first thing I noticed was how nice the reception area smelt, they have scented candles burning which give the area a subtle but lovely spicy smell, which was refreshing. The room and bathroom were spacious and the beds comfortable. The location on Santa Maria Novella Piazza is fabulous, walking distance to everything. Duomo is an easy 5 minute walk behind the hotel with San Lorenzo market 5 minutes on from there. Uffitzi and Ponte Vecchio are about 10 minutes or so, it's all flat so very easy. The furtherest walk is Piazale Michaelangelo, which after you have scaled the stairs is about 30 minutes, but most definately worth doing (there are buses if you aren't up to it!). Reception have maps and are great at highlighting areas and directions (they were most useful in helping us with driving directions, due to the frustrating one-ways!). Breakfast was delicious and had the nicest view of SMN piazza. 2 things I will say are: if you are trying to find the hotel on foot, or car, especially in the dark, the hotel does not have big neon signs highlighting its existence, it has a little brass name plate, so once you get to SMN piazza head behind the Hotel Roma, you will find it there, sitting quietly. The other thing to note is there are a maze of one way streets in central Florence that are a nightmare to navigate, if you don't have to drive, just don't. If you are driving, be aware that there are camera's in the centra area which will fine any non local cars for driving there, this is not a problem if you are using hotel parking as they log onto the city web and revert the charge.
Basically this hotel is all good and definately worth staying in!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.