We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Orologio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel L'Orologio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On a trip with friends and had just spent a week in a villa in Tuscany. Our last 3 nights were in Florence at this charming hotel. Great location, accomodating staff, upscale rooms and lovely bath, great little bar with reflecting pool and waterfall effect...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    163
    24
    8
    2
See reviews for
146
430
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In short: Fabulous location, great reception, delicious smell, comfortable rooms, lovely decor, tasty breakfast, why would you want to stay anywhere else? We arrived at the hotel after midnight (issues with Navman in central Florence not recognising one way streets!!) and had a warm and efficient welcome to the hotel. The first thing I noticed was how nice the reception area smelt, they have scented candles burning which give the area a subtle but lovely spicy smell, which was refreshing. The room and bathroom were spacious and the beds comfortable. The location on Santa Maria Novella Piazza is fabulous, walking distance to everything. Duomo is an easy 5 minute walk behind the hotel with San Lorenzo market 5 minutes on from there. Uffitzi and Ponte Vecchio are about 10 minutes or so, it's all flat so very easy. The furtherest walk is Piazale Michaelangelo, which after you have scaled the stairs is about 30 minutes, but most definately worth doing (there are buses if you aren't up to it!). Reception have maps and are great at highlighting areas and directions (they were most useful in helping us with driving directions, due to the frustrating one-ways!). Breakfast was delicious and had the nicest view of SMN piazza. 2 things I will say are: if you are trying to find the hotel on foot, or car, especially in the dark, the hotel does not have big neon signs highlighting its existence, it has a little brass name plate, so once you get to SMN piazza head behind the Hotel Roma, you will find it there, sitting quietly. The other thing to note is there are a maze of one way streets in central Florence that are a nightmare to navigate, if you don't have to drive, just don't. If you are driving, be aware that there are camera's in the centra area which will fine any non local cars for driving there, this is not a problem if you are using hotel parking as they log onto the city web and revert the charge.
Basically this hotel is all good and definately worth staying in!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good:
* Charming historic hotel
* Beautiful rooms with historic details
* Free wifi (though this was sometimes flaky in the room)
* Good location, 5 minutes walk to station and 5 minutes to main attractions
* Parking agreement with a parking station for a fee
* Beautiful breakfast room overlooking piazza with good food

The bad:
* Difficult to find if driving
* Small gym with little equipment

Overall
I would definitely stay at this hotel when I return to Florence. It offers reasonable value, but the hotel has loads of charm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel L'Orologio is beautiful and located perfectly. Easy to walk to museums, restaurants, the river and train station. The staff was very helpful with directions and restaurants. The only negative is that our room was extremely dark! Our room faced a small street with a building next to it. We had no sunlight and the dark ceiling made it feel even darker.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with more of a view , not a building close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenafly, new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel L'Orologio was our last hotel amongst 6 during our 12 days in Italy. Strategically located near the heart of Florence yet quieter than the other touristy sections. Hotel is gorgeous with architectural details throughout. The decor reflects the beauty & wealth of the Renaissance with the hip & modern style and conveniences of the 21st century. Breakfast is extensive and delicious but the highlight was the stunning view of Santa Maria Novella. Finally, was delightfully surprised with an upgraded from a jr suite to a suite, making the hospitality & service of this hotel (aside from the beauty) my favorite! Truly a fantastic way to celebrate our birthdays and complete our incredible travel experience in Italy! Thank you Hotel L'Orologio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week and we were delighted with our room and the public rooms of the hotel.
The hotel is within walking distance from the Santa Maria Novella station even laden with lot's of baggage.
Our room which was a standard room was comfortable, not large, but not cramped. The bathroom was sufficiently spacious for 2 of us with marble bath surrounds and basin.
The hotel has many public rooms for relaxation on the ground floor and a lovely bar with wonderful staff.
The reception staff were helpful even before we arrived arranging for tickets for a concert for us folllowing an email request.
We considered that this was a good value for money stay.
One small concern was the breakfast in the morning; it was supposed to be from 7.00am, but when we arrived right on 7.00am one morning there was no coffee and no hot food. On ocasion the staff struggled to keep up with the demand for coffee and hot food.
There is a laundromat about 500-750 metres from the hotel away from the square. This laundormat had dryers that worked well.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are generous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend A boutique hotel in the real sense of he work. Great arty themes running through the hotel as a concept from top to bottom.

If I had criticisms they would be minor, but important. 1) the range at breakfast was not very good. 2) I like some of he reviewers listed suffered from the darkness in the room. Really need to sort out the lighting in some of the rooms hat may be ground floor or beside/near a building.

But overall very happy and felt I stayed in a unique place.

Room Tip: Unless you want to. Specify the fact that you like natural light in your room, else ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Orologio

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Orologio 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a careful renovation, HOTEL OROLOGIO**** is a Luxury Contemporary Hotel situated in the heart of one of the most important squares of the historical center of Florence, walking distance from the magnificent artistic attractions in Florence.Completely renovated, the hotel has 49 rooms of various types, some of which offer a wonderful view on the city's main attractions: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, the Medici Chapels and the Dome of the Cathedral of Santa Maria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.