We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gelato in Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Gelateria Fiorentina

Antica Gelateria Fiorentina
Via Faenza, n. 2A, 50123 Florence, Italy
39 3880580399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 1,993 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Amazing ice cream, the best we had on our tour of Italy. Some interesting and tasty flavours. Would eat there happily for the rest of my life!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    53
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great gelato and a good price in central Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Yes, walk a few streets away from the main streets around the Duomo and get your gelato here! They won't rip you off and it is also really good tasting stuff. Why pay 3 euro when you can get one here for 1.50. We returned to this place several times. The street its on has lots of cheap eats too - well worth exploring and a short stroll from the central market and everything!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best chocolate gelato yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent gelato! One of the best i have had so far. Highly recommend both the chocolateand chocolate chip. I am sure we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“keeps you coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Happy to have gone through the trouble of finding this gelateria. Went there twice over 2-day period in Firenze. Ordered 2 cups each time.

Gelati was really good. You get to choose 3 flavours for a 2-euro cup. I probably tried at least 8 flavours. Everything was good (cioccolato, cafe, pistachio, fragola, ambrosia, dolce de latte, something with orange & saffron, cheesecake). You can also try the flavours before you decide on your order.

I generally have preference for chocolate / vanilla-based ice cream, but was blown away by fragola (strawberry) and ambrosia (yoghurt, cinnamon, honey). I had those flavours twice.

Stop by this place before heading to the open market for leather (which is very close).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beat place for gelato in Florence - dont overpay grossly at the Duomo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away a few blocks from Diomo, this was a happy discovery on a scorching day in Michelangelo's hometown. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Antica Gelateria Fiorentina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antica Gelateria Fiorentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Gelateria Fiorentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.