We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi to your Saves list
Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Borgo Pinti 5, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€140 (EUR)
Ranked #303 of 521 Florence B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a great little hotel, you feel as if you are going into a family home. The staff were friendly and tolerated my dodgy Italian, and the room was a bit small but had lots of character. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    51
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
41
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel seems to be more like a B&B. The owner (Tony) himself receives you and is really an excellent host. Although his English is not so good, he does his best to help you - and talking to him in Italian is just delightful, as he's very high spirited. The entrance looks weird, but the rooms are clean and nice (though some renovation would be welcome) and the breakfast room is cosy. There are lots of steep steps to get to the second floor, where the hotel is located, so not recommended for older people or people with some disabity (I myself have a bad knee, so it was hard). Fortunately, the owner was very kind and helped us with our heavy luggage up and then down. The air conditioner worked fine. The bathroom (I had an ensuite room) was the only low point: it was weird to shower in the middle of it and have it soaked later; it could use some renovation and the air exhaustion was really noisy. The location was just perfect and we could see all the sights on foot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Despite the need to climb many steps to get to it the room was spacious and light. A brightly coloured bed cover set the room off and lifted our spirits. The window opened into an internal courtyard so it was quiet and we could see the top of the dome of the Duomo. The bed was comfortable and allowed us a good night's sleep. The bathroom was a good size and everything worked well. The man at the reception was very helpful and everything we asked for was made available without any fuss. It is in a wonderful location so that we didn't waste time getting to the different places we had identified beforehand. As the weather wasn't always kind it also meant we could get to places, particularly eateries, without getting very wet. Although there is free WiFi it is not always easy to connect to but we managed. The breakfasts had a good choice and the coffee was lovely and hot which was not the case in other places. It has a charm of its own which made it feel more like a home than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here in July 2011. The two good things about the hotel is the location to the Duomo and the breakfast.
The bad things...Let's start with the advertising of Air Conditioning but not ever having it on. We asked four separate times to have the AC on. The first time they said it was off during the day and controlled by them only at night. When asked if ours could be turned on he said "I turn on for one hour". Next, morning we asked again about the AC. "Oh it comes on during the day to cool off and then off at night". Lies after lies about the AC. Traveling in 95 degree weather and sweating all day...it wouldn't make sense to only have the AC on during the day when none of your guests are in the rooms!

Secondly, the staff is only available during the day and depart around 10 o'clock at night. If you need anything they are not available. However, they do leave behind a very strong cigarette smell which leaked into our room during our stay.

Finally, not worth the money! And we should have asked for a refund and switched hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We were delighted with everything about the hotel, although it was a little noisy at night. The owners do seem to be aware of this, but it is worth trying to get a room away from the street. But the price, location and service mean this is still a good option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

i stayed one night at Locanda d Pazzi on a solo trip in Florence for 30 euros (thanks to a last-minute offer on Venere.com), and found it to be great value for money for an affordable, clean, and well-furnished place. There's no curfew, as access is via security code. It is a 15 mins walk along Via degli Alberghi (depending on your speed) from Duomo, but there is good shopping along the way. Near to the Locanda, there are a number of eating places and a pasticceria which seem to be quite popular with locals. If you are looking for wine, drop by the enoteca just across the road on Borgo Pinti, and have a chat with the friendly owner Andrea.

Do note that there are no lifts, so be prepared to haul your luggage up 2 flights of stairs. There's also no internet access.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Highly recommend this hotel, with good value for money. Extremely convenient location just down the street from Duomo and the shopping area. The room was very clean, and overall, the hotel was well-maintained.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi

Address: Borgo Pinti 5, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.