We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Find...the best Bagels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Bakery

Mama's Bakery
Via della Chiesa 34r, 50125 Florence, Italy
055.219214
Improve this listing
Ranked #477 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: American, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
naples, fl
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“What A Find...the best Bagels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were stumbling around looking for another restaurant as we had a taste for American food on a cold rainy Sunday morning. This looked like an American franchise...well lit, staff wearing uniforms, etc. Greeted by the baker's wife...she's Italian and he's from San Francisco. Well it was just what we wanted....great bagels with lox, etc. I had an egg and bacon sandwich...everyone loved the food. We went back three times for breakfast while we were there. It's not too far from Santo Spirito and if you are in the Oltrarno area be sure to stop in....clientele are locals and college students.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    45
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for Homesick Americans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's hard to find good american breakfast in Florence, and as an american travelling abroad for an extended period this was a nice place to go. They have decent bagels and more american sandwiches, but I found the proprietor unwelcoming and intimidating, and my friends who went independently felt the same. The food is a nice change of pace though, if you're looking for a taste of home. Pricey though!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“American bakery in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

a cozy location to taste a good american coffee and genuine food. i discovered it with an american friend and often i go to read and relax.unfortunately closed early on saturday and sunday is closed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food is good but I expected more variety. Cupcakes and brownies can be found elsewere in Florence! The sandwiches were well prepared and tasty, I liked the bagel bread.
The place is clean but it looked kind of "empty" and not very warming.
The staff makes its work but they seemed mostly shy.....a smile would have been appreciated. The only one who seemed to take care of clients was the owner.
This place could do more to be "distinctive".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy & USA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Still Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every time I visit Mama's it makes me happy. The service is great and the treats are delicious. A little bit of America on a back street in Florence.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Bakery also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Mama's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.