We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American bakery in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Bakery

Mama's Bakery
Via della Chiesa 34r, 50125 Florence, Italy
055.219214
Improve this listing
Ranked #447 of 1,947 restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: American, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Florence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“American bakery in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

a cozy location to taste a good american coffee and genuine food. i discovered it with an american friend and often i go to read and relax.unfortunately closed early on saturday and sunday is closed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    47
    37
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food is good but I expected more variety. Cupcakes and brownies can be found elsewere in Florence! The sandwiches were well prepared and tasty, I liked the bagel bread.
The place is clean but it looked kind of "empty" and not very warming.
The staff makes its work but they seemed mostly shy.....a smile would have been appreciated. The only one who seemed to take care of clients was the owner.
This place could do more to be "distinctive".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy & USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Still Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every time I visit Mama's it makes me happy. The service is great and the treats are delicious. A little bit of America on a back street in Florence.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness I found this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been craving real American brewed coffee for the past few weeks while I've been studying here. And finally, it has come. I got a turkey sandwich with tomato and cheese on it, a coffee, all for around €6,00. Super cheap, super delicious, super friendly. However, you WILL run into a lot of Americans here. It gets a little annoying because you'll feel at home with the "typical American attitude" that the tourists bring in. If you show that you're interested in the Italian culture, they will be nice to you. However, if you show up and you're a snobby American, you can just get out...that goes in addition to adding cream and sugar to you coffee....just don't do it.

But the food, pastries, coffee, atmosphere, is wonderful :D

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice little taste of home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, inexpensive American coffee, and bagels. It was a little out of the way but it's Florence wandering and finding little markets is all part of the experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Bakery also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence

Been to Mama's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.