We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the heart of Florence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Accademia

Save Saved
You added Relais Accademia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Relais Accademia
ricasoli 29, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 498 Florence B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real gem in the heart of Florence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here in early April and were very pleased with our choice. Despite being right in the middle of all the action, the room was very quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the larger suite with the attached terrace, which was great for relaxing after a day of sight-seeing. The room was spacious, clean, bright and well-appointed, in an ecclectic/traditional style. The bathroom was a reasonable size and very clean and functional.

The host, Federico, was friendly and helpful and even arranged for a taxi to the airport early the morning of our departure. Federico was not available when we arrived, so we were welcomed by his charming and gracious parents.

This is not a typical hotel - it is a small, five room property - but it offers everything you need for a visit to this great city. It is located only minutes from both the Duomo and Galleria Accademia, and there are lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Breakfast is around the corner at the OK Bar and is basic but very good.

We highly recommend the Relais Accademia and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The slightly higher cost of the larger room with the terrace is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This tiny hotel in the very heart of Florence offers excellent value for money. Your sightseeing tour beggins right after the door. The owner is very hospitable and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This B&B offers a great location at a reasonable price. It’s literally just down the street from the Duomo which looms large as soon as you set foot out side the front door. It only takes ten minutes to stroll from the accommodation, past the Duomo, down to and through the Piazza Della Signoria, past the Uffizi to the Ponte Vecchio. It’s only a few minutes further to the Boboli Gardens on the opposite bank of the Arno river. It takes 10-15 minutes to walk from the train station to the B&B which is helpful as trying to drive around Florence is horrific so it’s better to walk than get a taxi.

The accommodation is on the first floor of the building. There is no lift but the stairs are easily manageable with luggage. The owner, Federico, is not on site that often so if you stay here make sure you email him with details of what time you expect to arrive so that he can arrange to be there. He was friendly and helpful with me and we had no problems at all but you don’t want to arrive to find there’s no one to let you in.

We'd booked the Garden 2 room but were actually given the Suite Terrazza, which is normally more expensive, for the same price. It was fairly sparsely furnished but had a large double bed, wardrobe, bedside cabinets, table and chairs. The bathroom with shower was also an acceptable size if lacking on complimentary toiletries. The decoration was typically Italian – basic but in decent order and everything was clean and tidy so no complaints. Our room did also offer access to our own patio area with a couple of chairs and the area was surrounded by a canopy of fragrant jasmine which was a pleasant place to relax. Watch out for the mosquitoes though and make sure you turn on the insect repelling device in the room as well – we weren’t aware of this and suffered repeated bites on the first night as a result.

Breakfast is taken at the OK Bar (that’s the name, not an opinion) just around the corner. You’ll get a choice or croissant, tea or coffee and juice free of charge and you can pay for anything above and beyond this.

As our room was vacant after our departure we were allowed to use it for the rest of our last day free of charge which was particularly helpful as it meant we were able to get showered and changed at our leisure before departure. Overall the accommodation was decent enough and met our needs as well as being perfectly situated for sight-seeing. There’s nothing I would criticise and ideally I’d give this 4.5 out of 5, just losing half a point as it perhaps lacked some little flourishes that would make it perfect.

Some general hints for Florence. If you want photographs that are not full of crowds head out in the early morning while everyone else is still in bed. At 6am in June you’ll find the streets empty of all but the occasional market stall holder heading off to work and you’ll get nice images without hordes of fellow tourists blocking your shots. You’ll need a wide angle lens if you want to even attempt to get a shot of the Duomo in one go.

It’s free to go inside the Duomo cathedral and queues can be long but in all honesty it’s not all that special. If you really want to go inside try to go early and save yourself an hour in the queue. The entrance to climb the dome or Giotto’s Campinile are separate and open earlier than those for the cathedral proper. It’s over 400 steps to get up each and can be hard work, particularly in the heat of the day so again, try to go early to beat the beat and the crowds.

We were lazy and ate at one restaurant close to the Duomo as it was convenient, Ristorante Battiostero I think. Mistake! Dreadful food that arrived far too soon to have been cooked fresh at inflated prices. These places are there for the tourists and they know their customers will change from one day to the next so there’s no need to make an effort in order to entice you back. Try walking a few minutes in the opposite direction and find somewhere quieter where the locals eat instead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I was pleased with my stay in this hotel. The room was spacious, it was clean and Frederico was friendly and helpful. Location is great as very close to the main square and no too far from the station. Breakfast was nice at the OK Cafe down the road and service was quick but it could have been a little more generous to set you up for a day of sight seeing. Pastries were very fresh and tasty.

I would recommend this B&B for a visit but make sure Frederico turns on the mosquito repeller as we were eaten alive the first night, although we had spent some time out in the balcony garden.

We were awoken one night with the arrival of new guests. They werent particularly considerate given the time they were arriving and the fact that the sound travels a lot in the building but that was the only real issue and more down to the guests themselves than the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Relais Accademia was a wonderful intimate place to stay in the heart of Florence. The manager was gracious and very helpful. The hotel is centrally located, making it easy to see the sights of Florence or to catch a bus to Tuscanny. The room was nicely decorated and was very clean. The bathroom was great. It had recently been remodeled and the tile on the walls and on the floor was spectacular. The price was reasonable and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We visit Europe regularly and this accomodation is on the of the best we have had. It is quite, clean and well located. Federico is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast at the nearby cafe is very fresh and delicious. We will be recommending this B&B to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Room facing internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosmalen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had a great time here. The hotel is in the center of town, very close tot the dome. Our room (number 3) was big and clean and on the backside of the hotel, so very quiet. The biggest charme of the room was the terrace, wonderfull place to relax from sightseeing and shopping. The bathroom was rather small but clean.
The host was very friendly and very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Accademia

Address: ricasoli 29, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 498 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm and tranquility in the heart of Florence, Relais Accademia is located on the first floor of an eighteenth century palace, a former residence of nobles, Galleria Accademia and San Marco Museum are near, and the Cathedral is only 200 meters away.It has five newly renovated rooms with baths,lcd tv,air conditioning,self-adjustable heating and wi-fi internet connection.A separate kitchen is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais Accademia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Accademia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.