We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Excellent Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tower Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location and Excellent Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We spent five nights with this hotel after coming here on a spur-of-the-moment decision. We had originally reserved an apartment in Florence which did not work out at all. This hotel completely changed our holiday for the better.

We had two rooms, one for our two children and one for my wife and myself. The rooms are as shown on there web site, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The rooms do vary in size from one to another but both were ample, especially considering the proximity to all the attractions in Florence. The location is great!

Even though we booked at the last minute, the price was in keeping with the comparable hotels in the area when making our original arrangements,... no last minute gouging. It included a very nice breakfast and an apperitivo (a complementary glass of proseco and hors d'oeuvres) every evening from 6:30 to 8:00.

The staff was excellent! We made several arrangements with the front desk for restaurant reservations and activities and they were more than obliging and really went beyond the call of duty.

We would certainly comeback to this hotel. It was a real find for us that took our stay in Florence from terrible to outstanding.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Paul F,
thank you veru much for your positive review. We are very glad you spent wonderful time with us above all after a terrible experience, but let me tell you that we also glad you will have a good memories about Florence as well.
Looking forward to welcoming back, we remain with our warm regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    108
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
104
512
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago. For disclaimer/reference point - this was our first trip to Italy and this hotel was our first stay.

To start, Francesca nicely confirmed our appointment by email and, upon our arrival, noted that our room was ready early (it was about 1400 hrs, check-in is usually at 1500 hrs), this was very much appreciated, although we would not have minded waiting a bit.

With regards to the room - the decor and presentation of the room was as if it was recently remodeled, extremely clean. The bed was exceedingly comfortable. The hotel staff clean the room in the morning and there is "turn-down" service at night. They are very thorough (I had a small pile of laundry which they actually folded). There is a bolted down safe in the room as advertised.

With regards to the front desk staff in general. They were exceedingly responsive and helpful. Whether it was giving a restaurant recommendation, calling for a reservation, describing some routes to the major sites, or helping us get a power cord adapter - truly everything you could and would want and expect from a top shelf hotel. They were also very pleasant, never dismissive.

Breakfast - breakfast was (as I'm sure is common across many Italian hotels), an assortment of pastries, some savory fare (cheeses, meats), and fresh fruit and some cakes. Overall, very very good, fresh. The staff there will make you "American coffee" or espresso or cappuccino upon request (they usually come to your table), and they are excellent, pleasant, and overall the breakfast was extremely good.

Spa services - as part of this hotel, they are quite up front in advertising their hotel services, the television when initially turned off defaults to a video loop depicting the services (you just hit power again to turn it off completely). I had an hour massage and my wife and a manicure/pedicure. My massage was outstanding, just the right amount of pressure, relaxing and was comparable to massages I've had in the US that cost upwards of $150/hr. My wife commented that both her manicure and pedicure were among the best she's ever received (she routinely gets these). She did note that there was no foot massage with the pedicure although she noted that the quality of the spa services were TOP notch. Of note, not sure how many individuals work in the spa, my masseuse spoke only a little English and the same for the pedicurist/manicurist - although I would like to note that for both of us, she was extremely pleasant and professional and we did not feel this detracted from the experience.

It should be noted that the hotel is close to some fairly active areas. If you leave the window open, you will hear a fair amount of noise at night. However, the window is well insulated and little can be heard if you close it.

The huge plus side with the location is that you are very near most of the main Florence attractions.

Overall, outstanding hotel staff, facilities, and spa services. We are definitely planning on staying there again when we visit Italy again. I can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Not sure, I imagine most rooms would be great as the hotel is so well-run from top to bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Allen D,
Firat of all thank you very much for your very positive review. Secondly, thanks for posting a very detailed review above all about the Spa services which is not much mentioned and the Spa manager, Mrs Jocelyne, will be very glad about this.
We really look forward to welcoming back very soon and thanks again for your wonderful review,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Amazzzzzing! We stayed there in July 2024 for three nights to celebrate my fiancé birthday .When we arrived the systems were down to book us in but it didn't effect us as
Elisa upgraded us free of charge .Elisa did say she was going to do something for his birthday but nothing was done.
The reception was very small .We were shown to our room which was like an apartment and had two bathrooms. The only thing I would say we got very hot at night time as the air con didn't work
as good as it did downstairs.
The rooms were spotlessly clean the rooms were checked a few times a day and always had clean bedding and towels....but make sure you bring face cloths as none supplied
The breakfast is very small and they serve continental. which is always fresh
The hotel is walking difference of entertainment bars and restaurants.
Would recommend to go on the open top bus tour as you can hop on and off wherever they stop as another bus is not far behind its about 20 euros each but beware as they say ticket is valid for 24 hrs its not its only valid from 10 am -10pm
As for travelling when we reached the Pisa airport we purchased a single train ticket that included a bus ticket for 10 euros each to go to Florence then we got a taxi to our hotel for 6 euros. So when booking this hotel don't do transfers as too expensive .Also if you are going to book train ticket would recommend to book return as there are no cheap taxi in Florence
Money wise make sure you bring enough money and change into euros before you go as there rate is awful ...example we got 1.20 for our pound to euro over there its 0.84 ! Or pay buy your 'e debit card

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear 66secrets,
Thank you for your positive review and of course sorry for the misunderstanding with Elisa. We are investigating about this as never happened before this last two reviews.
Thanks again and hope to welcome back soon,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for my 50th birthday. When we handed over our passports one of the receptionists commented that it was my birthday next day. A really nice touch would have been a complimentary bottle of Prosecco in our room but no. Not a big deal though. Mini bar prices were high - 5 Euros for a small bottle of water when you could buy a 1.5 litre bottle for about 1.50 at any bar or shop. The rooms aren't cheap so water should be complimentary at least. We did have a complimentary glass of Prosecco at the bar on the first night - seems from other comments we could have had that every night but we weren't told about it. The staff were nice and polite and didn't impose themselves on us. The bedroom was lovely. Breakfast was really good. Central position close to everywhere. Loved it and would definitely go back.

One tip if you want to visit the cathedral and climb the dome - you need to buy a ticket first. There isn't a ticket office inside the cathedral which we only found out after queuing for an hour to get in! Several people did the same thing the next day. The ticket office is in the same square, between shops on the left as you look at the front of the cathedral.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Juliette,
thank you very much for your review and above all glad you spent a lovely stay.
As for your birthday, we do excatly what you mentioned, that is we offer a bottle of our best Prosecco whishing happy birthday and if this have not been done with you we are really really sorry for this misunderstanding. For sure the receptionist forgot to send the infornation to the Bar.
Regarding the minibar, it is totally complimentary booking a Deluxe or Junior Suite.
We really hope to welcome back and so sorry for the misunderstanding,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our experience with Golden Tower hotel did not start well; we had serious trouble reaching the hotel due to the Florentine Sunday afternoon traffic jam and downtown maze. Hard to reach by car, would not do it if I knew all the trouble.
Yet, the hotel staff replied immediately and guided me accurately over the phone right to the nice little piazza in front of the hotel where a bell boy waited for us and took care of our luggage.
The nice atmosphere, the smiling and very polite staff, and relaxing air freshener and the hotel's marvelous medieval style made our mood right away.
Location wise it is just a short walk from everything you might want to see in Florence, but still away from all the busy roads and areas.
Breakfast is very good and room service (24h) has few yet tasty options.
Wifi is for free and works perfectly everywhere.
The most important asset of GT though is its staff: from the breakfast hall to the bell boys and the reception team to the restaurant people, everyone has a perfect command of English, is always polite and willing to go above expectations to help and make you feel welcome, special, pampered, and carefree.
They took care of the car and luggage nice and fast
They were giving accurate and helpful advice on everything - from where to eat to drawing routes on maps for us. They reserved us tickets for Uffizi and we avoided the lines.
But what we liked most is that they were practically playing with our little son (21m old) every time he was around giving him a great time, lots of smiles, and fun!
The waitress in the breakfast and one of the receptionists, Francesca, even helped us feeding him by joining our games so as to keep him occupied!
They had ready a wonderful baby cot with amazingly soft cotton-satin sheets and special towels for the baby and on our last day we found even a baby lullaby on our pillows!
GT hotel is on the upper cost level (still the mini bar prices could be a bit more friendlier) but thanks to its team, location, and boutique retro yet ultra clean and stylish decoration, its worth every cent!
Would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Konstanti,
Thank you for your positive review and of course we are more than happy that "you felt like home". This is for us the maximum recognition we may have from our Guests.
Regarding driving in Florence, it is not easy being a medieval town with the biggest pedestrian zone in Europe and we are inside this area.
Everything we do we do it spontaneously and could not be different than this if you want do this kind of job.
Thanks again and really hope to welcome back in the near future,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent 2 nights in the hotel as celebration of our silver wedding anniversary. Location was perfect, central location but also very quiet. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was high quality and happy hour with complimentary Prosecco was a lovely start to the evening. Room was very comfortable and a good size for a city centre hotel. We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Keith G,
we want to thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommed us to others, we could not hear better news than this. Yes, because all of us is very proud of our job and do it with very passion.
Hope to welcome back soon, we remain with our warm regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff go out of their way to be helpful. This is not for those who prefer big chains, it is a smaller intimate hotel. The rooms are a good size bearing in mind you are in a great location with attractions and restaurants very close. We used the spa facilities which were good, if you wanted water, I think you have to order it. Breakfast was good and the double espresso hitting the mark. Quite liked the complimentary glass of prosecco and nibbles that were available early evening - a nice way to start the evening. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear AXB1,
many many thanks for your positive review which is very detailed and are very glad you spent wonderful time with us and above all you that you would like to stay here again.
We look forward to welcoming back and remain with our warm regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.