We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious hotel in the heart of Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tower Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A luxurious hotel in the heart of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! It is a peaceful island in the middle of the historic area. The hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Florence's fashion district and an easy stroll to the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, and the Duomo. We stayed in one of the tower rooms which had an interesting layout. The breakfast buffet was marvelous.
The staff were very helpful with any request.
I heartily recommend the Golden Tower Hotel.

Room Tip: Be prepared to be pampered. From prosecco and fresh strawberries to a courteous staff that will go o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear MrsJ1602,
many thanks for your positive review and we are more than happy you had a fabulous stay with us.
We hope to welcome back very soon,
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    98
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
90
461
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and in a great location. The room was clean and decent size for 2 including size of bed. The bathroom was good except the rain shower didnt have high pressure but was usable. The staff were extremely friendly and always wanted to help. Breakfast was buffet style including eggs, bacon, cereal, fruit, bread, juice, and etc. For the price I expected a better breakfast (eggs bland) and nicer bathroom with high water presure. The bar interior of the hotel needs an update in my opinion. The location was really great tho.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Ithank you for your positive review and for your suggestions.
As for the shower pressure, I hope you mentioned to the reception staff in order to check.
As for the breakfast, even if we have a very lot of articles, due to the limited buffet space, we cannot show everything. Anyway, thank you for suggestions.
Looking forward to welcoming back, we wish you all the best and remain,
with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hartford cheshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Golden tower for 5 nights on our honeymoon! Yes we did it!!
The hotel is located within walking distance of everything you will need whilst in Florence. The air con is second to none and we really appreciated the cool room after a hot day walking around the historic town.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble - a special thank you to the lovely man on reception - so sorry i forgot your name :-(
The bar staff are vey quick and helpful, the breakfast is better than a Brit would expect and hot and fresh too.
Use the Golden spa - its so worth a visit.
We have stayed in many good hotels in Italy including the best that Venice had to offer - none came up to the standard of this one!!
Thank you for having us and for the glass of sparkles :-)

Room Tip: we stayed in 502 great room with crazy round window lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Liz H,
many thanks for your wonderful review. We are so happy to read that you spent a fabouolos time with us.
We really look forward to welcoming back,
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I will get my only complaint out of the way-and it's not the hotel's fault. Driving in old Florence is not meant for tourists. Our car's navigation system tried to get us to turn the wrong way onto one- way streets. It seems that the municipality changes the direction of traffic every few months just to keep people on their toes. I suggest guests driving to the Golden Tower call the hotel as soon as they cross the Arno River and have the helpful staff guide them in. The staff parked our car in the valet garage (somewhere in the area) and we did not retrieve it until we were leaving Florence.
The hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of Florence's fashion district and an easy stroll to the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, and the Duomo. We stayed in one of the tower rooms which had an interesting layout. The minibar was free and the plentiful buffet breakfast was included as well.
The staff were very helpful with any request. We did not use the spa and would have liked to have had a gym in the hotel.
I heartily recommend the Golden Tower Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Elvis Mem,
we thank you very much for positive review and the important thing is that you enjoyed the stay with us.
As for driving here, it could seem difficult as Florence is a medieval town and we constanlty update the information on our official website despite the navigators that mot of the times are not updated.
Looking forward to welcoming back, we remain with our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Golden Tower was a great place to start off our honeymoon. We arrived here via train from Luca in the end of August. We took a short taxi ride to the hotel from the train station but it was 15 euro....if bags are light, just walk it. The rooms are not ready until 3 so after arriving at 12 they recommended a good lunch spot around the corner. The hotel is centrally located so it was not hard to kill time while we waited. Once we did get to the room they sent us a complimentary bottle of Proseco, which was really nice. The rooms were stunning. Any views they lacked were made up for with the luxurious bathrooms, beddings, the list goes on. The room was extremely clean and so was the bathroom - I've never seen maid service that cleaned up so well. They even straightened out our own things. Staff was very kind and spoke english well however, one guy in particular did not seem keen on helping us book a tour and when we booked ourselves we were charged 3 euro for the call. This can all be avoided by booking things online though in advance. I don't want to diminish the rest of the staff who were VERY kind and amiable making maps for us and directing us wherever we wanted to go. The breakfast was outstanding...in a beautiful room with anything you could wish for. The bar was pretty empty at night and the drinks were slightly overpriced, but this is what you should expect in the city center. Overall I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this hotel if you're looking for a relaxing place in the heart of Florence. 3 minute walk to duomo, seconds from ponte vecchio and river, 5 minutes over the river to Medici Palace and minutes from Uffizi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear rujimhenry,
many thanks for your positive review and are very happy you spent wonderful time with us and proud to be your nicest hotel in your trip.
Looking forward to welcoming back,
we remain with all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location could not be better you are centrally located close to the Dome and all the major sites . The hotel has a very warm feeling .The front desk are very accommodating and helpful . At the end of a hard day of sightseeing we enjoyed the spa . My daughter was extremely happy because the Sky tv had a full array of kids channels . We will definitely be back . The only thing missing is a fitness center .

Room Tip: Rather than booking online it may be worth calling the hotel directly for a better deal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear azeemmiami,
many thanks for your positive review and for your suggestions. We are really thinking to create a fitness room.......probably next year???
Hope to welcome back and remain eith all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Needed luxury for the last night of a one week trip to Italy.

Room: upgraded to a junior suite - stylish and very comfortable. Request a bath if you need one - not sure how many have them.

Location: in high fashion area and very close to the Duomo.

Spa: try the hammam deluxe. It was very relaxing and Gabriella has good technique.

Food: recommendation from the reception was great - try La Bussola for seafood/fish, pizza and good wine selection. Try Buca Mario for steak and pasta.

Atmosphere: very friendly, courteous, professional.

Access: we used the valet parking option. The one way roads around the area were new to us so a staff member joined us a couple of blocks away and directed us to the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear MervynNomad,
thank you very much for your positive review and for your suggestions.
We hope to welcome back soon and in the meantime we remain,
yourse sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.