We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tower Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Berks, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the heart of Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Whilst the hotel Is rated 5*, it didn't quite match the expectations of other 5* hotels we have stayed in simply because the room we booked was a deluxe room but seemed more a standard room due to its size. However it was used as a base for sightseeing etc and was very comfortable to go back to after a day touring the sites. The hotel itself is very central and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is excellent and always well stocked so whatever time you come down, there is always plenty and still fresh. The only thing we would ask the manager to consider is to change the hand towels to the towelling type and not the cotton material ones supplied. That said, we would certainly recommend it to our friends and family as the location is spot on and not far from the sites and local restaurants and bars. If we returned to Florence we would certainly book this hotel again hoping the manager has considered changing over to more modern towels and we would check that the room we book is the one we expect based on the price we paid for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear ittamar,
thank you very much for your positive review and for your suggestions which we will of course keep into consideration. Thanks also for emphasize our very high quality and fresh breakfast products.
As for the hand towels, to be very honest with you, it is the first time we get this kind of comment and we will take care about this issue even if ours are "linen blend" which are most valuable of the cottons ones.
Anyway, shoud you come back we will of course Ddo our best to make your stay pleasant.
Best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    108
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
108
517
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights at this absolutely fantastic hotel. Me and husband could not think of a bad word to say. The location was perfect. The staff were helpful and our room was a home away from home. It was my birthday during our stay and I was blown away by the unexpected acknowledgments given by the hotel staff. They really helped to make the day even more special. We stayed in the deluxe jacuzzi room which well appointed, clean and comfortable. When we return back to Florence in the future we will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Farrah867,
many thanks for your positive review. We are very happy to hear you spent wonderful time with us and for having contributed to make your stay memorable.
We wish you all the best and looking forward to seeing you in the future,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There are a number of things about this hotel that make it stand out from others we've stayed in. The first is definitely its location. It is within easy walk of the rail station and perfectly situated for wandering the beautiful Florence streets, and within 5-10 minutes of all the major attractions. It also has two of the best restaurants we've ever eaten at just around the corner (see other reviews!), and a number of bars if that's your thing.

The staff are polite, helpful and helped us with everything we asked of them (dinner reservation, champagne glasses in the room etc...).

The rooms are well appointed, spotless and faultless, including satellite TV with about 200 channels, not that we spent much time watching TV - so much to do in Florence.

The hot and cold breakfast was plentiful although we made the mistake of thinking our room rate included the 'priced' items on the breakfast menu - it didn't so we got charged - our fault though. If and when we return to Florence we will definitely stay here again. Fantastic hotel - do not hesitate to book....incidentally we had a room facing the street and found the music to be a 'little' loud but we could still sleep through it, and it ended at midnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Moosola,
we are very excited about your very detailed review and all of us thank you very much. It stimulates us to going on this way doing our best to meet the expectations of our guests.
We really hope to welcome back again and in the meantime we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I researched extensively on where to stay in Florence... This property, versus other similarly priced upscale boutique hotels... I am happy with this choice. Excellent location, Do NOT stay on a street front room, for i was in the back, and still heard kids singing late into the night... Great breakfast, awesome massage, great staff... Would not hesitate to stay here again. THX!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear RexKite,
many thanks for your review. It is nice to hear we have been choosen versus others and above all you have been happy with your chooice. We are very proud of this.
Hope to be still your choice for your next visit in Florence.
Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel. Our deluxe rooms were well appointed. Breakfast was plentiful, with hot and cold choices. Staff friendly and attentive, they picked up that it was my wife's birthday And the unexpected acknowledgement from the staff, made the day even more special. Excellent location, Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Bruce G,
many thanks for your your review and for recommend us to your friends. We are very proud of this.
Sometimes unexpected touches makes the difference.
Thanks again and hope you will come and visit us in the near future,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Golden Tower Hotel was the best hotel we stayed at on our 2 1/2 week Italian holiday. The room was beyond clean and was very comfortable. I enjoyed the large bathroom and fantastic shower (great hair dryer provided as well). The location was perfect; close to shopping and attractions. We took advantage of the spa. The steam room and sauna were great, but the "hot tub" was close to room temperature. A warm/hot spa would have really helped our sore muscles. The turn down service each evening was wonderful, and the little biscottis were a treat. I would stay at this hotel again. They seem to understand that the little details really go along way when you're far from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Live2travel222,
thank you very much for your positive review. We have appreciated it and you said a very interesting thing in which we believe : "......little details really go along way when you're far from home".
Thanks a lot, your words indicates that we have to going on this way.
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After staying in more 3-star type hotels throughout Italy, we thought we would splurge for a few days and stayed at the Golden Tower. What a fantastic experience, particularly in comparison to what we had just come from. The reception staff were attentive, professional and friendly. The rooms were luxurious and such a treat. The location was right in the heart of Florence and we had a wonderful time. The included breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear tanyawilson27,
many many thanks for your review. We are so glad you spent wonderful time with us. We appreciate it very much.
We hope to welcome back in the near future and in the meantime we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#6 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#8 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#21 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#32 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.