We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a good hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Golden Tower Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 461 hotels in Florence
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“What a good hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel. Our deluxe rooms were well appointed. Breakfast was plentiful, with hot and cold choices. Staff friendly and attentive, they picked up that it was my wife's birthday And the unexpected acknowledgement from the staff, made the day even more special. Excellent location, Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Bruce G,
many thanks for your your review and for recommend us to your friends. We are very proud of this.
Sometimes unexpected touches makes the difference.
Thanks again and hope you will come and visit us in the near future,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    91
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
77
414
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Golden Tower Hotel was the best hotel we stayed at on our 2 1/2 week Italian holiday. The room was beyond clean and was very comfortable. I enjoyed the large bathroom and fantastic shower (great hair dryer provided as well). The location was perfect; close to shopping and attractions. We took advantage of the spa. The steam room and sauna were great, but the "hot tub" was close to room temperature. A warm/hot spa would have really helped our sore muscles. The turn down service each evening was wonderful, and the little biscottis were a treat. I would stay at this hotel again. They seem to understand that the little details really go along way when you're far from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Live2travel222,
thank you very much for your positive review. We have appreciated it and you said a very interesting thing in which we believe : "......little details really go along way when you're far from home".
Thanks a lot, your words indicates that we have to going on this way.
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After staying in more 3-star type hotels throughout Italy, we thought we would splurge for a few days and stayed at the Golden Tower. What a fantastic experience, particularly in comparison to what we had just come from. The reception staff were attentive, professional and friendly. The rooms were luxurious and such a treat. The location was right in the heart of Florence and we had a wonderful time. The included breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear tanyawilson27,
many many thanks for your review. We are so glad you spent wonderful time with us. We appreciate it very much.
We hope to welcome back in the near future and in the meantime we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Friendly staff. Perfect location right in the heart of the old town. Lovely updated rooms and bathrooms. Quiet. Wonderful breakfast and happy hour. We've found a home away from home in Florence!! Every effort was made to help us make plans, secure a reservation at a restaurant, and make us feel welcomed in Florence. Just steps from the best shopping, the historic sites and best restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 302 was quiet and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Debbymiller,
thank you very much for your positive review. We are very happy and very proud of our job after reading review like yours.
Thanks again and looking forward to welcoming back, we remain with our
best regards
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite and were two female friends... This shocked the reception as a man was expected.. The hotel was so hard to find.. We drove from Austria to Florence and it was exhausting to find it. Specially by car.. We were helped with the car as they have valet parking and once we got to our destination we were very happy about the choice of location.. One is here really at the heart of Florence.. We were greeted as two females , brought to our room.. The room was very nice.. Cousy clean old style but also modern .. Low sealing .. Watch out in high heals.. We were offered champagne with some amazing strawberries. The fruits have been throughout impeccable.. The sleep was great ..our bedroom was on the inner part of the hotel.. So it was very peaceful..the reception was very slow and a bit annoyed to book restaurants.. The late night man at the reception was amazing... the moment one called him one regretted doing so.. just the breath in the line told us how little interest he had in a question answer game..seriously this was a bit ridiculous.. A the end we go what we asked for but in a very bored manner. Pizza at 3 am was really tasty.. The kitchen can't read the breakfast order, the breakfast was ok and had bits missing... The spa opening times are a bit funny.. You go and see Florence and uuups the spa is closed.. It opens late too.. Sadly we didn't manage to get anything :( as of the opening hours..

As a hotel property rooms cleanliness I'd give this place 5
As of staff .. It's a shame really.. I'd give the staff a poor note of 2

It needs a happy person who will welcome the few guests that are there.. Just one that can give more then 50%.

Loved the location .. Loved the hotel. Loved the club that is noisy.. We packed some great memories

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the inner tiny courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear unikatt77,
thank you for your review and for your suggestions even if it sounds a little bit strange the part about the staff. It is quite the same staff for almost 3 years and reading hundred of reviews it looks like another staff.
It seems that the night porter was the most "average" but he has a great responsability during the night and he MUST not allow to anyone without identity card to go upstairs even accompanied by our Guests. This for security reasons. This is the law.
Wishing you all the best, we remain,
yours sincerely,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

They upgraded our room upon arrival and the location was perfect. The staff was always accommodating. The spa is well appointed and have wonderful services. The location was convenient to the very best sections of Florence.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear jrdcgm,
many thanks for your positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to weclome back in the near future,
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

When we arrived this well located hotel was very welcoming. I had made a mistake thinking a "cot" was a bed (and not a crib) which wouldn't do for a 9 year old. The kind staff immediately rearranged things for us as best they could given the approaching holiday weekend and full hotel. We had to upgrade our room, which they only charged us for minimally, and had to change rooms for our last two nights - but they took care of everything moving our stuff and being gracious about what was my mistake. The staff also kindly arranged to have our son's i-pad shipped from Naples after he left it in the safe of another hotel.

The rooms were all lovely and peaceful done up in white and cream tones with exposed ancient beams. It's a refreshing change from some of the heavily decorated (although also wonderful) & kind of stuffy other hotels nearby. We all felt we could really relax here. I did not use the spa but it looked lovely.

The breakfast was nice and food plentiful. They had a nice happy hour in addition to a full bar where you could either sit in the bar room or in the cozy lobby with a gas fireplace ( which added a bit of extra warmth on an unusually cold week in March). ( I think the bar is open all day but there's prosecco at a certain time of day maybe for free - not sure?)

The location is great and a convenient walk to everything. I look forward to staying here again. I think the high point of this hotel is the relaxed atmosphere and kind staff which makes it a wonderful place to end a busy day of sightseeing, museum going or shopping. It certainly isn't cheap but is less expensive than some of the big name 5 star hotels nearby and you get the spa!

Room Tip: If you're a really tall individual you'll have to watch your head in the duplex rooms. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear mcallisterjones,
Thank you very much for your positive review and for to be so enthusiastic about Golden Tower Your review really show the way we do our job.
We have appreciated it very much and look forward to welcoming back very soon,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.