We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tower Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here on our honeymoon 21st to 23rd March. Staff very helpful. The spa area was superb and great when you book for exclusive use - champagne and strawberries laid on.
Bed very comfortable, room on 3rd floor facing street, Although on saturday night there was a booming soubnd system from a bar down the street, the sound proofing is so good you barely hear it.
Aircon very good and noiseless.
The only downside really is the bar area / relax area. Just a bit plasticky and bright and they really should remove the large tvs on the wall - it's not a sports bar. Could altogether be made more cosy.
But other than that highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your positive review and are very happy you enjoy the stay with us.
As for the music in the square, which is beyond our control, as already said in a previous review, we have contact the Autorithy in order to control.
We wish you all the best and remain with our Best Regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    99
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
90
461
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location for exploring Florence. Staff are friendly - especially in the breakfast room where they are very welcoming. We had a delux room - not in the tower. It was a fair size with a very large comfortable bed. The bathroom was big with bath and shower. The room is nice and clean. The spa is a welcome treat after walking round the city. We received some added extras, as it was our honeymoon, of a bottle of prosecco on arrival and a free mini bar which was very welcome! We were also given an Easter egg as it was Easter which was very good. The evening menu is more limited in choice but the orange duck is excellent and you mainly want to be eating in Florence anyway.

I agree with some other reviews that it is maybe 4 star not 5. I think if you are in a tower room it is 5 star. The pictures of these rooms looks very good. We were not in a tower room and while the room was very nice and comfortable it lacked character or the 'wow' factor of some other 5 star hotels. Would suggest booking tower room to get best of the hotel.

The staff at reception had some good local knowledge and recommended some good local restaurants. On one occasion the restaurant no longer existed or was not where indicated to us on the map. When we wanted to leave Florence for the day we were first told to drive but actually the train was the easiest and cheapest option. It would have been helpful to have been given all the options. There is a computer with free Internet access which is helpful for finding out any information about Florence or Tuscany. We weren't told at check in about the city tax which was disappointing.

Breakfast has a range of choices and is in a comfortable setting. Agree with other reviews that prices for items off the menu were very expensive but we never found any need to use this and found plenty to eat from the buffet choices. Enjoyed the option of strawberries and cake for breakfast!

The location is excellent for exploring Florence.

Room Tip: Book a room in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
we thank you for your positive review even if we realized that you were not fully satisfied and we are sorry for this. As for the room, we only have 27 rooms, classic, deluxe, tower deluxe, junior & suites and are very different each other even if all of them are fully furnished. Inside the tower we only have 4 rooms and is valid the rule that is better to book such in advance.
As for the city tax, it was introduced more than one year ago, this is why for us become normal not remind our guests.
We hope you will visit us again and maybe staying in another room you will give the 5th star.
All our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. We had a three night break in Florence and were beautifully looked after during our stay. The room was spacious and spotless as was the bathroom. Breakfast was copious and delicious and the staff friendly and helpful. They discovered it was my husband's birthday and gave us a bottle of champagne on ice to enjoy in our room - a real treat. We did not use the spa so cannot comment on this facility. The hotel is very centrally located, walking distance from the station and many of the wonderful museums and churches. We took a guided walking tour and pre-booked our visit to the Uffizi from a booth in the side of the 'Granary' - well worth the few extra euros. A local bus ride (either 12 or 13 from outside the station) to the view point above the city was great. Do visit the British Institute - a terrific organisation - who put on lectures and films.

Room Tip: Although our room was overlooking the street, it was beautifully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Judy W,
we thank you so muche for your wonderful review and are very happy you enjoy your stay with us. As you describe, we try our best to look after our guests in differnt ways.
We hope to welcome back and meanwhile we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A great hotel with very helpful staff, great central location.

Rooms were spacious and clean; breakfast was good, had a choice of scrambled eggs& bacon as well as cereal , fruit and yoghurt.

I would suggest anyone considering this hotel, should request a court yard room instead of street facing, as friends I was travelling with , had to move rooms, due to a bar on the square playing loud music at the weekend, dj was outside in a gazebo until the early hours.

I would definitely recommend this hotel , and if I was ever , back in Florence , would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
many many thanks for your positive review. We are really very happy you enjoy your stay and for recommend us to other guests.
As for the music, which is beyond our control, we have already informed the autorithy in order to control.
We also really hope to welcome back, get in touch with us,
all our best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a great hotel. It's located centrally in Florence, close to the Duomo, the Uffizi, the Ponte Vecchio and also within walking distance of the Santa Maria Novello railway station which is the main transfer from Pisa Airport. The staff were great - bright, helpful and friendly. The spa in the basement is good, though the jacuzzi could have been hotter. The buffet breakfast is excellent. It is a truly lovely hotel and perfect for a few days doing the galleries in Florence. We warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 402 is the only one with a balcony, but it faces backwards. If you want to look out over the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thank for your positive review and for recommend our hotel to others which is the best important thing for us, there is no better way of advertising than how the guest does.
Than you so much, we wish you all the best,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect, walking distance of all the attractions. The staff were really helpful and so friendly and accommodating. We had a classic room which we were more than happy with, comfortable bed & sumptuous bathroom. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and great that this is included in the price for a five star hotel.
We would recommend you pre book tickets for museums as the queues are v.long! We enjoyed the Boboli gardens, great views over the city. If the weather is good and you can handle the 463 steps then a must see is also the view from the top of the cathedral/dome.
We would most definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
we want to thank you for your positive review and very proud to have succeeded in our aim which is the satisfaction of our guests.
We really hope to welcoming back in the near future and in the meantime we remain with
our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with my husband in March. It's in a fantastic location, very central but also quiet. It's a boutique hotel rather than a large hotel which we liked.
The rooms are lovely and very clean, they even turn the bed down at night and put a biscuit on your pillow!
The staff are very helpful and friendly. We booked with Travel Republic and got a fantastic deal compared to the rack rate of the hotel and were also upgraded to a deal where we could eat and drink anything from the mini-bar which was great! We also had free access to the lovely spa in the hotel.
Breakfast was really nice, a wide choice of fresh food, juices and hot drinks.
It rained the whole time we were there so we really appreciated the hotel's umbrellas in reception!
We had a shock when we checked out though, we thought city tax was 1 euro per person per night but it's from 1 euro and it seems like hotels can charge what they like, so it's worth checking in advance how much they charge. We were charged 5 euros per person per night so a total of 40 euros on top of the price of the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your positive review, we are very happy you enjoy your stay with us. As for the city tax, even us, hotelier, think that it is too high and it is no equal to all cities in italy, that is each city apply a different amount.
Anway, we look forward to welcoming back and thank you again,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.