We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location & wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Golden Tower Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 461 hotels in Florence
Leigh on Sea, Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location & wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect, walking distance of all the attractions. The staff were really helpful and so friendly and accommodating. We had a classic room which we were more than happy with, comfortable bed & sumptuous bathroom. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and great that this is included in the price for a five star hotel.
We would recommend you pre book tickets for museums as the queues are v.long! We enjoyed the Boboli gardens, great views over the city. If the weather is good and you can handle the 463 steps then a must see is also the view from the top of the cathedral/dome.
We would most definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guests,
we want to thank you for your positive review and very proud to have succeeded in our aim which is the satisfaction of our guests.
We really hope to welcoming back in the near future and in the meantime we remain with
our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    91
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
77
414
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with my husband in March. It's in a fantastic location, very central but also quiet. It's a boutique hotel rather than a large hotel which we liked.
The rooms are lovely and very clean, they even turn the bed down at night and put a biscuit on your pillow!
The staff are very helpful and friendly. We booked with Travel Republic and got a fantastic deal compared to the rack rate of the hotel and were also upgraded to a deal where we could eat and drink anything from the mini-bar which was great! We also had free access to the lovely spa in the hotel.
Breakfast was really nice, a wide choice of fresh food, juices and hot drinks.
It rained the whole time we were there so we really appreciated the hotel's umbrellas in reception!
We had a shock when we checked out though, we thought city tax was 1 euro per person per night but it's from 1 euro and it seems like hotels can charge what they like, so it's worth checking in advance how much they charge. We were charged 5 euros per person per night so a total of 40 euros on top of the price of the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your positive review, we are very happy you enjoy your stay with us. As for the city tax, even us, hotelier, think that it is too high and it is no equal to all cities in italy, that is each city apply a different amount.
Anway, we look forward to welcoming back and thank you again,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel, I would probably give it 4 stars not 5. The location was excellent and in easy walking distance of all major sites.

The room - we had a classic room. To be honest I was disappointed with the size, it was small, and we did not have enough space to put everything as there was one small dressing table and a tiny round table. Bed was comfy. The heat in the room was very difficult to regulate and we slept badly as a consequence. Apparently the air conditioning does not work in winter, and our room was exceedingly hot.Nice bathroom although again a lack of shelving was annoying, and also I was disappointed not to have a bath in the room. Nice toiletries.

The club outside the hotel was extremely noisy but luckily we couldn't hear it from our room.

Breakfast - nice, but a small hot selection, and extortionate prices to order omelettes etc. we didn't see anyone ordering from the menu. I would have expected more from a 5 star breakfast. When the restaurant was busy the waitress was rushed off her feet and coffee took too long to arrive, and one morning we had to leave without having a refill.

The location gives this the Rating of 4, otherwise I'd have given a 3 because of the lack of sleep due to the room being too hot,

Room Tip: Make sure you are at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Natk38,
Thank you for posting the review.
As for the room, as you said, you booked a Classic one, which is the cheapest with standard size, we have Deluxe rooms, Junior Suites, Suites, which are bigger than the Classic.
As for the heating, even when you complained with receptionist yesterday and he tried to give you all necessary information, we did not understand if you had cold or warm in the room because it seemed you had cold during the night , becasue you turned off tje heating. Soon after you asked for air conditioning.
Concerning the bathroom, still is not clear what do you mean bath in the room ??? All our bathroom are well decorated with marble carrara and are spacious and well furnished.
As for breakfast, which we provide complimentary despite other 5 star hotel does, have a lot of fresh and high quality products and sometimes happens that guests come all together to have it and waitress did their best to avoid the Guests have to wait. It happens everywhere.
We hope you will give us a second chance to change your opinion and meanwhile we remain with all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isola Del Giglio, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in this excellent hotel located in the center of Florence. It's a small boutique 5 start hotel which surpassed all of our expectations. The staff managed to accommodate us in two rooms contiguous to each other that could be separated from the hallway to become a large private suite, this was very convenient. It is located at walking distance from all the major spots in the city.

Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Joseblesa,
many thanks for your positive review. We are so happy you spent wonderful time with us.
What you describe is our Family Suite which is exactly like you said and it is used a lot from guests who travelling with children.
We really look forward to welcome back.
all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Starting with the positive, our room was immaculately clean, comfortable, well furnished and well equipped. Our deal included free use of the minibar, but the minibar contained only beer and soft drinks. I would have been prepared to pay more for the usual spirit content.

The staff were charming and helpful. The spa was inviting, although there was no member of staff in the spa itself to help with adjustments to heat and steam.

Our disappointment was with the breakfast. Whilst the selection of food is adequate, is poorly laid out. On our first breakfast (we stayed for two nights) the toaster was not working. There was a selection of bread alongside it which could not be toasted. On our second breakfast, there was no toaster and no bread selection. When I enquired I was told that the toaster was broken. I pointed out that it had been broken the day before, and was a little surprised that a five-star hotel had neither a spare nor had acquired a new one in the interim.

In a big hotel, scrambled eggs in a hot dish are consumed sufficiently quickly to retain their freshness. In this small hotel, the scrambled egg was dried out and in lumps.

The Hotel is very well placed for the centre of Florence. It would have been nice to have started busy walking days with the sort of breakfast that such a hotel should be able to provide.

Room Tip: We had a Tower Deluxe room, which was as described
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr William K,
thanks for posting a review . We are sorry for the electrical problem suddenly occured with the toast machine which was out of order only one mornig, not two.
As for the minibar which its content is free of charge , you obviously could ask for any other items you wished to drink ( wine, champagne, whisky) .
Regarding the Spa, the Sauna & Turkish bath are fully automatic while the absence of members was probably due to the fact there were engaged in doing treatments.
Concerning scramble eggs, in a big hotel use a package product whereas we use ONLY fresh eggs. This is a substantial difference in how they may appear.
We hope to welcome back and thanks again for your suggestions,
best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Wow great find. Perfecto location. Very nice rooms clean and a friendly staff. I will be staying here again. I got a great price on Priceline name your own price for a 5 star hotel. Couldn't beat this place for that price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear TommyL,
thank you very much for your review. We are glad you spent wonderful time with us.
Looking forward to welcoming back soon,
we remain with all our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful looking hotel in an amazing position in Florence . Staff were great , particularly Andrea who was an amazing host .
Room
Was ok , a little small . Black marks on the wall and a dodgy sink let it down slightly . For £230 a night , I expect a little more if I'm honest . Having stayed at other hotels in Florence , I'm not sure that I would return there . It's a nice hotel but I don't really think it provides value for money .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Direttore generale at Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Prada72,
thank you for your comment even if we realize something went wrong with your stay. Honestly we do not understand exactly what?? I have tried to investigate with the staff, but they did not remember any complaint in these last days about black marks on the wall and the sink.
If we had known during your stay we would have done something for sure.
We hope you will give us a second chance, meanwhile we remain, with
our best regards,
antonio pellegrino - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Tower Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tower Hotel & Spa

Address: Piazza Strozzi 11r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tower Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel settled in the heart of Florence at the side of the historic Palazzo Strozzi, suggests a new vision of luxury: a wonderful spa and a very joyful Health and Beauty center, Heavenly beds and the latest hospitality technology. Benefits of traditions plus the modern world solutions.The Golden Tower maintains luxury habits exploiting new service standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Golden Tower Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tower Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.