We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence...or better the countryside ?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Via degli Strozzi, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Budapest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Florence...or better the countryside ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Florence/Firenze and it was a big disappointment !
Palazzo Vecchietti is a very nice hotel, close to downtown, good concierge who took very well care of us !
Room was very good, cleaning as well, breakfast strange (1 big table for all guests), poor (for this price/level and on the last morning the lady could not make me an omelette (???)...
But Florence itself was not nice...
No car free area's, dirty, bad roads, unorganized, chaos...OK, historically it's a dream (probably), but as a city-trip...never again and I don't advice anybody ! Eventhough it's crisis in Italy, the service in Florence in general is bad, the people are not willing to work/help/sell (if not automatically)...
I was never a big fan of tourism in Italy, but now I am sure...they are the prototype of spoiled people because of tourism !
But if you go...try the countryside as well ! That was our best part of the trip !
Our concierge booked a private car and with them we did Siena (1 hr drive...amazingly nice...even their cathedral is much more nice then the one in Florence !!), San Gimignano with it's towers (very nice, clean, special little city) and Monteriggioni (50 km...even smaller) is much more fun to be then Florence ! This "medieval commune" is very small, but authentic, clean and very special !
Tip: lunch/dinner at Ristorante da Remo/Il piccolo castello...lovely place, good service and great food !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you again for choosing Palazzo Vecchietti for your stay in Florence.

we were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay in our establishment, and we would like to thank you for sharing this experience in TripAdvisor.

We indeed appreciate all your comments, in particular those about the concierge service and we consider your opinion helpful to grow up and continue our precious future work in the hospitality.
We are extremely sorry to learn what occurred during breakfast on your last day, we really apologize for the inconvenience and we would like to thank you for your consideration about our buffet standards; Our improvements and our future carrier really depends on valued review like yours.

As we already said we will take in high consideration your comments, we therefore take the opportunity to repay offering you high standard amenities during your next sojourn with us.
We are indeed looking forward to welcoming you again at Palazzo Vecchietti.

Yours faithfully,


Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
138
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed one week at this hotel and we were sorry to leave as the owner and staff make you feel like family. The building is rich in history, the rooms are nicely appointed and the small staff become helpful friends very quickly. That's possible because there are not many rooms and the lobby is usually peaceful. There is a nice breakfast room where you can meet other guests if you like, or you can take breakfast in you room...both are pleasant experiences. We stayed in one of the apartments an the kitchenette and two spacious bathrooms made it very comfortable for us.
On the way to the airport my family voted unanimously that would use no other hotel in Florence as this was our place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

it has been such a pleasure meeting you in Palazzo Vecchietti!
There are not so many words to express our appreciation about your experience with us, we are so pleased that you spent a nice time with us.
We try to improve our services and quality every day and our Staff is completely at Guest disposal for suggestions, recommendations and to offer them a special and unforgettable stay in Florence!
We really hope you will have the chance to come and stay again with us,

All the best
Warm regards

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our five day stay at this lovely little hotel in Florence was a fabulous start to our vacation! The rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable, and quite large by European standards. We found the location to be very convenient and within a short walking distance of all the major Florence sights. Although breakfast is available in the breakfast room, we chose to have it in our room every day. They are able to provide either a continental or a full American breakfast - whatever you request, they will endeavour to provide. The staff are very warm, friendly and helpful with regards to suggestions about restaurants, sights, making arrangements. Leonardo at the front desk was extremely helpful in tracking down a piece of luggage that was inadvertently left at the airport. We had a room facing the street (Machiavelli) - noise was not really a factor as the buskers at the piazza generally stopped around 10. Although we originally considered staying on the opposite side of the river, we were extremely happy with our choice. Most of the attractions are located on this side, and Altrarno is within easy walking distance for a day's exploration or dinner.
When we return to Florence, we will definitely use the Palazzo Vecchietti as our base!

Room Tip: This room has a nice little private terrace up a short flight of stairs from the sitting area. A gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff and the quality of our rooms. Of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,

Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in October for our anniversary. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. There were many choices for breakfast. We choose to eat every morning in the breakfast room, even though we could have had it delivered to our room. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, the Masaccio, but there was plenty of space for the 2 of us. It had a bedroom with a small sitting area, a kitchenette behind closed doors and a large bathroom with a seperate bathtub. Plus a walk-in closet, which was very nice. I would definately stay here if I am ever in Florence again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff and the quality of our rooms. Of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,

Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Prior to arriving, I wasn't sure what to expect of this property and why it was placed in the "specialty lodging" category on Tripadvisor. I was impressed with the positive comments and decided to split our week in Florence between the Palazzo Vecchietti and the Four Seasons.

Palazzo Vecchietti is a "specialty lodging" because it is not really a hotel; don't expect a doorman, spa, steam sauna, restaurant or a steady flow of visitors. Instead, it is much like an apartment stay with 24 hour concierge and front desk support. Charms of this establishment are: location, service, discretion and very comfortable lodging.

Size of our room is very large: comparable to a very large NYC one bedroom apartment; we also had the plus of a patio looking over the surrounding tile rooftops. The neutral tone of the living area and chrome fixtures in the bathroom gave the entire stay a comfortable, soothing feeling. There is a nice kitchen with compact refrigerator and electric stove top; however, no microwave oven. Plus is the Nespresso coffee machine.

Palazzo Vecchietti has its own brand of shampoo and bath foam, and they are very gentle and smells of citrus. Furthermore, tooth paste and tooth brush came nicely wrapped in his and hers cloth bags. The only down side is the lack of body lotion. Shower and tub are of the same unit, and with very strong water pressure. Bed linens are crisp and pressed, as the bath towels are thick and fluffy.

Palazzo Vecchietti is located within very easy walking distance of all major museums, shopping, and restaurants. Dolce and Gabbana is next door as well as Salvatore Ferrgamo and Tiffany, just a stroll away; Deutsche Bank is around the corner when your wallets need replenishing. I like the fact that service here is very discrete; the entrance is very simple and there is no crowds of tourists. In fact, I did not see anyone aside from the staff during my stay. Highlight was the team of Leonardo, Lucas and Valentina, who had seamlessly secured many tickets and appointments to the major museums.

As pointed out by others in the forum, noise can be a factor. I can hear the vibration of live music from nearby restaurants even with the windows closed. Street fights and ambulance siren are clearly audible with the windows cracked open. Also, the wall corners, counter tops are showing signs of wear and tear. Unless your room comes with breakfast, I would skip this option.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff is eager to serve and can arrange virtually anything, even at very short notice. This is the perfect place for discrete stay in Florence.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff; of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just returned from 3 days at the Palazzo Vecchietti in Florence not knowing what to expect before I went there I was amazed at the quality of the restoration of this historic building as well as the quality of the furnishings and the service. With only 12 rooms and 2 apartments it has the feel of a private house not a hotel and for a few days stay the fact that it does not have the facilities (pool, gym, restaurants etc) of a large 5 star hotel did not matter. The fantastic location means that most of the heritage and restaurants that you want to visit are within a few minutes walk. I would also like to thank Paolo and Luca the two managers we met who were both excellent hosts providing great friendly advice and help getting some medicine left at another hotel brought over to the Palazzo very efficiently.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for the time you spent to write your experience in our Hotel!
Palazzo Vecchietti is a small property located in the center of Florence, few steps away from main attractions and famous restaurants and trattorias.
As you had the chance to taste it, we just serve breakfast in the morning in our breakfast room located on the third floor or if you prefer you can order a room service.
Kitchenette, Nespresso Coffee machine and large rooms give to our Guest the impression to stay in a Florentine House but with all comforts and modern amenities.
We sincerely hope to have you again at Palazzo Vecchietti
Yours faithfully

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The moment we walked in and was warmly greeted by our host.
Such outstanding service and eager to
Please at all times and for whatever ask or need.
Wonderful with restuarant recomendations.
Our suite was superb with fully equiped kitchen and beautiful dressing room. Bathroom and products were great indeed.
Highly recommend if staying in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Address: Via degli Strozzi, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Vecchietti is an elegant and cosy design home in Florence. Now you can enjoy complete luxury and a real personalised service at Palazzo Vecchietti. Relaxing and warm atmosphere, where you may find all that you need. Inside this Luxury House guests are followed by a Butler, who becomes the host for itself or for landlords efficient Personal Assistant and a Director of the House. Step out of Palazzo Vecchietti and find yourself in one of Florence’s most exclusive shopping streets and just a short walk from the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vecchietti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;