We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Via degli Strozzi, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in October for our anniversary. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. There were many choices for breakfast. We choose to eat every morning in the breakfast room, even though we could have had it delivered to our room. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, the Masaccio, but there was plenty of space for the 2 of us. It had a bedroom with a small sitting area, a kitchenette behind closed doors and a large bathroom with a seperate bathtub. Plus a walk-in closet, which was very nice. I would definately stay here if I am ever in Florence again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff and the quality of our rooms. Of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,

Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
137
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Prior to arriving, I wasn't sure what to expect of this property and why it was placed in the "specialty lodging" category on Tripadvisor. I was impressed with the positive comments and decided to split our week in Florence between the Palazzo Vecchietti and the Four Seasons.

Palazzo Vecchietti is a "specialty lodging" because it is not really a hotel; don't expect a doorman, spa, steam sauna, restaurant or a steady flow of visitors. Instead, it is much like an apartment stay with 24 hour concierge and front desk support. Charms of this establishment are: location, service, discretion and very comfortable lodging.

Size of our room is very large: comparable to a very large NYC one bedroom apartment; we also had the plus of a patio looking over the surrounding tile rooftops. The neutral tone of the living area and chrome fixtures in the bathroom gave the entire stay a comfortable, soothing feeling. There is a nice kitchen with compact refrigerator and electric stove top; however, no microwave oven. Plus is the Nespresso coffee machine.

Palazzo Vecchietti has its own brand of shampoo and bath foam, and they are very gentle and smells of citrus. Furthermore, tooth paste and tooth brush came nicely wrapped in his and hers cloth bags. The only down side is the lack of body lotion. Shower and tub are of the same unit, and with very strong water pressure. Bed linens are crisp and pressed, as the bath towels are thick and fluffy.

Palazzo Vecchietti is located within very easy walking distance of all major museums, shopping, and restaurants. Dolce and Gabbana is next door as well as Salvatore Ferrgamo and Tiffany, just a stroll away; Deutsche Bank is around the corner when your wallets need replenishing. I like the fact that service here is very discrete; the entrance is very simple and there is no crowds of tourists. In fact, I did not see anyone aside from the staff during my stay. Highlight was the team of Leonardo, Lucas and Valentina, who had seamlessly secured many tickets and appointments to the major museums.

As pointed out by others in the forum, noise can be a factor. I can hear the vibration of live music from nearby restaurants even with the windows closed. Street fights and ambulance siren are clearly audible with the windows cracked open. Also, the wall corners, counter tops are showing signs of wear and tear. Unless your room comes with breakfast, I would skip this option.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The staff is eager to serve and can arrange virtually anything, even at very short notice. This is the perfect place for discrete stay in Florence.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff; of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just returned from 3 days at the Palazzo Vecchietti in Florence not knowing what to expect before I went there I was amazed at the quality of the restoration of this historic building as well as the quality of the furnishings and the service. With only 12 rooms and 2 apartments it has the feel of a private house not a hotel and for a few days stay the fact that it does not have the facilities (pool, gym, restaurants etc) of a large 5 star hotel did not matter. The fantastic location means that most of the heritage and restaurants that you want to visit are within a few minutes walk. I would also like to thank Paolo and Luca the two managers we met who were both excellent hosts providing great friendly advice and help getting some medicine left at another hotel brought over to the Palazzo very efficiently.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for the time you spent to write your experience in our Hotel!
Palazzo Vecchietti is a small property located in the center of Florence, few steps away from main attractions and famous restaurants and trattorias.
As you had the chance to taste it, we just serve breakfast in the morning in our breakfast room located on the third floor or if you prefer you can order a room service.
Kitchenette, Nespresso Coffee machine and large rooms give to our Guest the impression to stay in a Florentine House but with all comforts and modern amenities.
We sincerely hope to have you again at Palazzo Vecchietti
Yours faithfully

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The moment we walked in and was warmly greeted by our host.
Such outstanding service and eager to
Please at all times and for whatever ask or need.
Wonderful with restuarant recomendations.
Our suite was superb with fully equiped kitchen and beautiful dressing room. Bathroom and products were great indeed.
Highly recommend if staying in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoVecchietti, Direttore generale at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My partner and I spent two great nights at Palazzo Vecchietti, and we had an absolutely wonderful time at this unique and charming hotel in downtown Florence.

First off, the location is absolutely amazing. It is right next to the Piazza delle Reppublica, and very central to all the sites in Florence. Pretty much everything is within walking distance, which of course I would encourage considering the charm of the streets of Florence.

We entered the lobby, and we were treated like invited guests by the concierge. I feel that over the course of our stay, the staff definitely went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and accommodated. We actually had left one of our passport in our previous hotel a hundred miles away, and the concierge dealt with all the language issues and communication with the hotel to get our passport sent overnight to us in Florence. That was a great assistance, and certainly not a service that would be so seamlessly provided by just any hotel.

The room, as you can see in the pictures I enclosed, was actually absolutely gorgeous and extremely well-apportioned. Because of our status within the Preferred Hotels group, we were upgraded to the suite (I don't know how many levels of an upgrade that is from standard, to be honest). There was a huge walk-in closet, as well as the kitchenette. A lot of times with hotels where there's a kitchenette, it's kind of obvious and takes up a lot of space, but the kitchenette at Palazzo Vecchietti was put away in a closet, so you don't have to look at a dirty sink while you slept. There was a shower room as well as a bathtub in the main bathroom. The shower was a rainfall shower, which I could only describe as luxurious.

In addition, I definitely feel that there is an exclusivity factor with staying at the Palazzo Vecchietti. You would think that since the hotel takes up most of a city block that there would be huge signs for the Palazzo, but it's actually quite the opposite. There is a discreet entrance leading down somewhat of a cave to get to the lobby. It's almost as if you disappear into the Florentine walls and you're at an amazing home-away-from-home.

Ultimately, I would definitely recommend staying at the Palazzo free unmemorable stay in Florence. Of course the price is high, but you can stay in a lot of hotels where the prices are very high but you don't get the quality and location that Palazzo Vecchietti provides. This is not hotel at which you don't know why you're paying a high price and you're mad about it after-the-fact.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just spent two nights in Florence last week at this lovely hotel. It is truly like staying in your own private palazzo. The staff was very gracious and always asking what they could do to make your stay more enjoyable. The rooms themselves are like self contained apartments. From the large bathroom, to the multiple closets(including walk in) to the kitchenette. The room was extremely comfortable as was the bed. You can not beat the location, as it is within 5-10 mins walking distance to any of the attractions of Florence. I can honestly say during my two week trip, the Palazzo along with the Goldener Hirsch in Salzburg stood out head and shoulders above the rest and that is due to the wonderful level of service this place offers. I commend them on their hotel and the service level of their staff.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

They do breakfast. There's no restaurant, but hey! You're in THE MIDDLE of Florence, best location in town. You slip in through the discrete entrance and around the passage, through the corner, you're in a lovely glass roofed 3 storey courtyard with sumptious bedrooms and full on comfort. We know our 5 star fellows.
The street side is noisier than the courtyard side, we've stayed in both and like the hustle bustle as well as the peace.
I love this place. It''s small enough for the staff to be completely attentive, utterly plugged in to Florence and helpful.
STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are, well, street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Address: Via degli Strozzi, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 203 Specialty lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Vecchietti is an elegant and cosy design home in Florence. Now you can enjoy complete luxury and a real personalised service at Palazzo Vecchietti. Relaxing and warm atmosphere, where you may find all that you need. Inside this Luxury House guests are followed by a Butler, who becomes the host for itself or for landlords efficient Personal Assistant and a Director of the House. Step out of Palazzo Vecchietti and find yourself in one of Florence’s most exclusive shopping streets and just a short walk from the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vecchietti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.