We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios to your Saves list
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Via Degli Strozzi, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Florence is a beautiful city filled with top class hotels; however, Palazzo Vecchietti goes the extra mile and creates a home away from home (albeit one where your every need is taken care of without having to lift a finger).

The hotel itself has a fantastic location just around the corner from the Duomo and we didn’t need to take a taxi once during our entire stay as everything was within easy walking distance. Then there’s the building the hotel is located in – a stunning piece of historical architecture that is almost a work of art in itself.

We stayed in the Michaelangelo room, which was beautiful. It was huge with a separate kitchen area (which could be closed off discretely), a large living and bedroom space and a great bathroom, it was more a studio then a hotel room – a major plus in a city where the rooms tend to be on the small side. It was also beautifully decorated and kept spotlessly clean at all times with round the clock housekeeping.

But this paled in comparison to the service, which was simply the best I have ever experienced (and I have stayed at some top 5 star hotels). The perfect example of this is when I mentioned in passing that I had been bitten by a mosquito (they aren’t uncommon in Florence and I react badly to them). It was literally an off the cuff comment but when we returned from dinner they had fogged the reception and had kindly put free mosquito plugs in our room – I never even had to ask and I wasn’t bitten again. It’s this kind of service, where you don’t even have to ask, that made our 4-day stay so perfect.

My only minor complaint? It can be noisy if your room is located to the front of the hotel as it’s round the corner from a square where people hang out late into the night. It didn’t bother me as I’m a heavy sleeper but if it may be a problem for you just ask for a room out the back – this will give you the quiet stay you’re looking for.

Room Tip: Order a room located at the back to avoid any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank You for the time spent to write about your experience in our Hotel.
The review of our Guests are very important for us in order to improve our quality standard and to understand if our job meet the satisfaction of our Clients.
Our staff try to do the best to satisfy our Guest's needs.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
148
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had one night in Florence on our honeymoon and stayed at this hotel. The location was fantastic and not matter times we were lost we always ended up closeby. The service was impeccable and I could have just stayed in the room all day and been very happy. The breakfast was my favorite of the whole trip. We were in Italy for 3 weeks and by far this is one of my favorite nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanPV, Direttore at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Mrs Rissa0713,

thank you very much for your preciuos comments for our Hotel.
We really hope you will have the chance to come again and stay with us maybe for a longer period!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope to welcoming you in the future
Best regards

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Palazzo Vecchietti is a newly renovated classic Florentine Palazzo. You have the latest luxuries, yet still have the intimacy of a small hotel. The location is perfect, within walking distance of all the major sights.

It's not quite a "hotel" experience; it's different and (in my opinion) better. You feel as if you're a guest at a (very) wealthy friend's home. The only thing missing is room service, but it's too small a hotel to make that work.

You buzz in at the front door, an unassuming entrance with a small tasteful sign. You'd walk right by it on the street if you weren't looking for it. Something is comforting about the security of a locked entrance, and at the same time a sense of exclusivity and being an "insider" because it's such an unassuming entrance. This ain't no "grand hotel." This is an insider's hotel, only for the folks "in the know."

You're welcomed with prosecco, and the manager on staff escorts you up to your room, which is extremely well appointed. They've got all the necessities; wifi, plenty of power ports, nice bathrooms, and very luxurious setting.

There is always a manager in the sitting room/lobby, greeting you as you come in, and seeing you off as you go out.

EVERY SINGLE restaurant recommendation was fantastic. Don't miss Gelateria Lorenzo just a block away.

It was a perfect Florentine small-hotel experience. Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
We consider Guest’s reviews very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
We really appreciate your understanding our intentions to make every Guest's stay unique and unforgettable!
Hoping to welcoming You and your family again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is by far a five-star plus plus hotel. From the minute you arrive you are made to feel at home. Francesca and Paolo were exceptional and everything they recommended was spot on. Thank you. The unobtrusive entrance tucked away in the heart of the city gives nothing away about the exceptional service and 5 star accomodation you find inside. The building has been beautifully and tastefully renovated, keeping it's old charm whilst having all the mod cons. We stayed there 10 days ago, where the temperatures were saoring and humidity was stifling, and due to its walking proximity to all the major attractions, it was a welcome relief to be able to come back to the comfort of a luxurious air- conditioned hotel and room. We stayed in the Machievelli deluxe room- huge, luxurios, divine soft bed and pillows, superb shower head!! and the little staircase leading to the balcomy was an added feature that we never used due to it being so hot but I could picture lovely chilled glasses of proseco being enjoyed watching the sunset had it not been so hot and humid. the room also had a fully stocked little kitchen which if we had stayed longer, we would have used to make light lunches as the market was about 6/7 minutes away. We only visited it on our last day and what a revelation it was. Beautifullly displayed food stall after food stall.Breakfast was DELICIOUS, especially the freshly baked goodies.This was by far our favourite hotel in our 3 week stay in Italy and we cannot wait to return back here in the future. This is a top notch hotel, with extremely personal attention and exceptionally attentive and warm staff. FANTASTICO.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
we really thank you so much for your time spent in writing your experience in Palazzo Vecchietti.
Our Guest’s reviews are very important for us as to improve our quality standard and it encourage us to satisfy Guest’s needs in the better way.
We’ve appreciated your comments about our Staff, the pleasant stay in Machiavelli room and the quality of our Breakfast in the morning. Of course our location it’s really a plus as we’re a few steps away from all the major attractions of Florence.
Hoping to welcoming You again in our Hotel, the Management and all the Staff remain,
Yours Faithfully.
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved Palazzo Vecchietti.

The staff were extremely warm and welcoming and our welcome prosecco was a lovely way to arrive at the cool, elegant hotel away from the heat and the bustle of Florence outside.

We were left a honeymoon gift of a bottle of prosecco and biscotti by the hotel which was really sweet and we enjoyed this in a room before heading out into Florence for dinner and more drinks later on. The room was fantastic - you could totally live in it for a week or more! The Nespresso machine with all of the different coffee options was a lovely treat and the mini-bar fridge was huge and well-stocked. If you were staying longer you could leave your washing up to be done in the dishwasher, etc. but we were only there for two nights (sadly!). The bathroom was great and I liked the doors separating the basin area from the toilet/shower. I loved the walk in wardrobe and the suitcase storage wardrobe. The bed was so comfortable - we slept SO well.

The decor of the hotel is old meets new and I love that. The books that were dotted around were stylish and interesting and I enjoyed having breakfast up in the large dining room with other guests. It felt like a home away from home.

The location could not be better. We were right next to Piazza della Republica and a stones throw from the Uffizi, the Duomo and all of the other amazing sights that Florence has to offer.

I will be staying here again (I am trying to think of an excuse to go back to Florence so soon after leaving) and I will be recommending this place to everyone I know. It's simply fabulous and deserves its number one spot!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanPV, Direttore at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear KC82London,

thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us!
We really appreciate your comments as they help us to improve our quality standards and service.
As you mentioned the location is really a plus as we are few steps away from all major attractions in Florence!
The building is from XV century but all our rooms are modern and stylish as you well described.
All our Staff try to our his best to give to our Guest a special and unforgettable stay in Florence and we really hope you will find an excuse to come back and stay with us in the future!
Hope to welcoming you and your husband again,

All the best
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Palazzo in July 2012. We could not have been happier. Florence, of course, was steaming, but the air conditioning at the Vecchietti was polar. The room was tasteful, large, the shower a revalation, and everything up to date and functional. The communal breakfast is wonderful, with great food and the opportunity to share experiences. The location is remarkable hidden in plain sight right in the heart of historic Florence. The staff was competent and caring. We will not need Trip Advisor for Florence hotels any longer. We will only go back to the Vecchietti. It is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanPV, Direttore at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Cohen Family,
it is such a nice pleasure to read about your stay, we really thank you for the time you spent in writing us!
Palazzo Vecchietti is a little gem located in a perfect area to discover Florence as cultural and shopping city!
We hope your comments will help our future guests in choosing Palazzo Vecchietti for their stay in Florence!
Hope to welcoming you again in the future
Warm regards

Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We came to Italy for our 3 week honneymoon and only stayed one night in Florence. On regret will be not staying more nights in thud hotel. The staff was fantastic, and the room was spacious enough to stay a week. We had the best sleep, shower and breakfast. We wondered the city with no map and always ended up near the hotel - a sign of the best location. Well worth the splurge.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanPV, Direttore at Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Mr OpTravels,

thank you for your nice comments about our property!
The location is a plus of our Hotel as we are located in the heart of Shopping Area and museums, churches and historical sites.
It was a pity that you stopped in Florence only for 1 night but it will be an excuse to come back for your anniversary!
Hope to welcoming you again in the future,
All the best
Alessandra Giusfredi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios

Address: Via Degli Strozzi, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Vecchietti is a prestigious luxury residence where attention is paid to every singular detail. Ideal for spending memorable days directly in the centre of the city of Florence, in the heart of Tuscany. Located in a charming historical building, This luxury "home" offers top class comforts, in order to make you feel relaxed in a unique and refined environment, giving you the sensation of being "at home" thanks to the professional hospitality that you will be granted. Peaceful and quiet, Palazzo Vecchietti will be the setting for an unforgettable holiday in Florence: here our Staff will assist you and will become a fundamental part in the organisation of your days of relaxation with us. Thanks to all the staff at Palazzo Vecchietti you will be able to experience the suggestive atmosphere of our hotel. 14 Individual spaces honouring some of the most important Italian artistic figures, of which 5 suites and 2 apartments, on various levels. A unique location rendered by this historical palace in which it is located. Restructured by Giambologna in 1578 and finished off by the splendid work of the architect Michele Bonan, who was in part responsible for the furnishings and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vecchietti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.